We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth the search” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Panjim

Viva Panjim
Ranked #5 of 309 Restaurants in Panjim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent a lot of time trying to find this place because we didn't have the exact address and it was so worth it! Everything was excellent and tasty and the prices were cheap. I wish I could eat there everyday.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Butakovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    251
    91
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food is good...but that's it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We searched for this restaurant for about 30 minutes, but the food was worth all the effort.

Situated in a small alley inside a small lane, all comprising of old preserved mansions. Well, the restaurant is located in the ground floor of one such building. The setting is charming, but inside can be very crammed.

Inside sitting area can have barely 4-5 tables, whereas outside only 3. We preferred outdoors, despite having flies and heat. The service is pathetic, considering I had to give them 2 reminders for a bottle of water & 3 more for taking our orders!

Coming to food, we ordered for cafreal chicken, xacuti and rice. Cafreal was tender and enough spicy; its quantity was a bit too much for two of us. But what my mother liked most was the xacuti, it was that good. Spicy and moistly cooked chicken pieces; with enough gravy for a plateful of rice.

Considering the speed of their service, we decided wisely to skip the dessert. But the bill surprised us with its modesty. :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charanti_inde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dogs and indians not allowed....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The british were stupid to put up such a sign.... The folks at Viva Panjim achieve much the same by just looking through you as if you are not there.... The waiter looks through you, the owner looks through you and even the lizard on the wall looks through you as if you are not there :)

The first time we went, we actually expected the waiter to ask us whether we wanted water. After 5 minutes we asked for it. 15 minutes later, after many implorations, they finally took the order. 30 minutes later, they finally delivered it.

The prawns and the kingfish steak was divine, and all was forgotten. So much so that we returned the next day. After 30 minutes of noone even looking our way, we had no other option but to get up and go to niyaaz, where they treated us to great food, and spoilt us silly.... :)

I will never be able to taste the wonderful concoctions of Viva Panjim in this lifetime, the food is definitely not worth the humiliation. Perhaps, in the next generation, if I am born in a fairer avatar west of the ural mountains, I may be lucky enough to enjoy the food :)

Till then, there is always Niyaaz....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pradeepck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Give this place a pass”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

It may have been good at one time and we may have visited at a bad time (although I see from recent reviews that others have been disappointed as well), but this restaurant doesn’t deserve the positive reviews it has here.

For starters, the tables outside were covered in flies. We opted to eat inside and the decor was traditional, dark but pleasant, if quite crowded.

I ordered the Pork Cabidal (a traditional Portuguese dish) and it was not very good. One half of it was lumps of pork fat instead of meat. And it wasn’t a very big dish to start with. It came all on its own, no rice or bread. The waiter didn’t offer any and I didn’t know what the dish was when I ordered it. Low marks to the waiter for salesmanship. My partner had her customary Dahl and she quite enjoyed it.

Given the exceptionally slow service, we skipped coffee and dessert and walked the short distance over to the Tea Café Goa for good service and a fantastic desert.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Very interesting little restaurant with helpful waiters and interesting menu. Food was good but not fantastic. Gets very busy and if you want a table outside you should book.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank howszat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Viva Panjim? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing