We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Early Bird Fishing Private Charters - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Group fishing trip

Hour late due to boat with motor-troubles, but he did continue boating with us for an extra hour to... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2014
Henk S
,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best Fishing in Roatan!

Loren and his crew at Early Bird Fishing are the ideal Fishing Experience!...thanks for a cool time... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2014
Erick P
,
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
13
5
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
5
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had only a half day to fish the flats and were put on a variety of species including a very nice bone fish and a big permit! Highly recommend and hope to try the blue water there some day too!

Thank pjmcdeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Loren was a very dedicated fishing guide who made my trip to Roatan a great vacation. I went out on two half day trips the first week of Feburary 2014 with early bird private fishing charters. On the first day Loren and Eldon his apprentice helped make fishing dreams come true. They helped me catch two 40 plus inch barracuda and a 56 inch wahoo.A couple of days latter went fishing again with Loren for permit and caught a real trophy of 18 pounds.If you go to ROATAN AND WANT TO FISH YOU SHOULD DEFIANTLY BOOK A TRIP WITH LOREN AND EARLY BIRD PRIVATE FISHING CHARTERS.

Thank coyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had an awesome time fishing with Loren on the Flats! Booked this fishing trip after my wife reviewed many different fishing options during our cruise (Jan 2014). Went out on a rainy day; however, the fishing was still good. Loren put us on the spot and landed 6 smaller fish and one larger permit.

Had a wicked time! Recommend this to anyone going to Roatan.

Thank HeatherK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I went on our first cruise this November - a Carnival cruise with a stop in Roatan. At the last minute my husband booked a fishing trip with Early Bird Charters. We had a lovely day out - the flats were beautiful! We only had two small snappers and a nice sized jack - my husband was hoping for a permit - but it was a great day out nonetheless. Perfect if you want to get away from the masses and the organized excursions of the cruise ship. We would love to go back and spend more time on the island and do some more fishing. Captain Loren took our charter himself - very knowledgeable and a fun guy! Would certainly recommend this company!

Thank MandyAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I arranged with Early Bird to go flats fishing on Roatan on Mar 20, 2013. Early Bird was easy to work with: they responded quickly and we arranged cost and meeting time and place all by email. I told them that this was my first experience with flats fishing and I did not care too much about what I caught; I just wanted try and catch something. I was met just outside of Mahogany Bay and was driven to the boat on the north side of the island. My guide Shawn had us out and away promptly. We spent most of the day seeking bonefish and permit and although we saw some I did not catch any. We were wading less than knee deep and I managed to put my fly six feet in front of a pair of bonefish but they spooked and ran off to Belize or somewhere else far away. We tried several times for permit but whenever we got close to casting range they moved a bit farther away. Frustrating but fun. I did catch one barracuda that was over 2 feet long and one small reef perch like fish. No complaints, Shawn worked hard to put me on fish and we stayed out longer than scheduled trying to connect. If you are going to go: bring a hat, sunscreen, good water shoes and patience. All in all I had a really good time and would try it again.

1  Thank auric08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews