We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The oldest hotel in the bay.
Nice service, but no dinner available.
The other hotels around offer pick up and drop off.
The staff are really kind and honest.
Take care of your bangalô. Lock you room :)
Nice swimming pool.
Free kayak and snorkel mask available.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brunkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubbalihaimoorea, Owner at Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We thank you very much and appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

I knew when we checked in not to expect the internet or a TV but the lack of hot water and water pressure in the shower was a shock. The room was dated but clean. As anywhere in a tropical island there are bugs so insect repellent is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
1  Thank lisayloo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubbalihaimoorea, Owner at Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for this information certainly not the normal it has our utmost attention. Sincerely Club Bali hai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

I would like to echo one of the recent reviews left by kforstot in July '17. We stayed at Club Bali Hai for 5 nights of our honeymoon and had the most incredible time! Yes, some of the rooms do look a little dated in parts and you do not get 24 hour concierge and restaurant service, but this, I think, is reflected in the fantastic price.

We stayed in one of the overwater bungalow rooms and really liked the well-stocked kitchenette, the amount of space and the awesome views over Cook's Bay from our deck. We had no WiFi access in our room, but this was explained when we checked in and the spacious reception area with lots of seating had good WiFi access. It was nice to spend evenings down there if we needed to get online. We arrived officially after Reception had closed, but the wonderful Hella was still there to check us in and give us some info about the hotel.

There is a shop and garage nearby, and a tour operator/vehicle hire outlet is pretty much opposite. We did the Quad Bike and Jet Ski tours with them, which were both awesome! Breakfast at Club Bali Hai was always lovely, with a good selection of choices, nice sized portions and fabulous, friendly staff. We had a small issue with some of our laundry, but this was quickly sorted out by Hella. We had some great chats with her about the island, she was fab and we'd really like to pass our thanks on to her specifically, even though all of the staff were lovely.

Also, I cannot tell you how happy I was to see the lovely library in Reception! I had three books to swap and had been struggling to find English novels in other hotels (understandably!). So this was a lovely unexpected surprise!

Moorea is so beautiful and our stay at Club Bali Hai really helped us to make the most of our visit. Thanks guys!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JennyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubbalihaimoorea, Owner at Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your very kind remarks, we agree that Hella and all her staff are wonderful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This resort has run down rooms, photos online look NOTHING like the rooms, no bath tubs/hot tub, no TV, no wifi (couldn't send a photo home was so slow and intermittent), no bar, restaurant only open for breakfast and lunch, located on the lagoon and NOT the crystal blue ocean you see in brochures. AC was either on full blast or had to be unplugged to turn off. Everyone at the resort chain smokes in the lobby, restaurant, at the pool, hallways and on their balconies. Over the water bungalows are not really over the water (just the porch) and they don't clean the rooms, or replace towels or sheets.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
6  Thank CommoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubbalihaimoorea, Owner at Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We will certainly investigate your stay with us & did we communicate to you that the rooms are cleaned daily, that the restaurant has a full bar license, that free wifi & local tv (including CNN) is available in the lobby?
We do not claim to have bathtubs or hot tubs, all units have showers with hot water. All of our photos are taken on site. We have no other reports of people smoking in the common areas. If you paid for an upgrade to stay in the overwater bungalow we would like to issue you a refund, kindly forward your address & information to cluboffice@clubbalihai.pf
Thanks again for sharing your comments,
Club Bali Hai staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile



Bear with me, this is going to be long!

My Family and I stayed at Club Bali Hai for 2 weeks in June. By the end of our stay we felt truly relaxed and happy. This place is a pretty incredible find for the price. Let me break it down:

We arrived early- super early- at 7.30 am. We were not due to check in until 2pm. The staff had our overwater bungalows ready to move in within the hour AND offered us free breakfast.

The location is pretty spectacular and very convenient. Cook's Bay is like a picture perfect postcard- lush, green, towering peaks surrounding the bay of deep blue and light blue waters. Needless to say our jaws dropped as we were served breakfast.

For our first week, we went without a car and took a couple of tours with Alberts- located just across the street. We walked a ton- around to the other side of the bay, to the pizza restaurant, to the supermarket (about .75 miles away for a really great one) and even a walk to Maharepa ( about 2 miles away). We ate in our bungalows quite often after picking up food from the supermarket. We snorkelled in the bay and borrowed the kayaks to explore the bay top to bottom.

The second week, we rented a little beater car from Albert's across the street and checked out the rest of the island. We would highly recommend this. Just make sure you can drive stick- but the cost was very reasonable. We took the car to Tema'e beach just about every day the second week. Side note- spotless, perfect beach with incredible snorkelling, but a strong current in the afternoon. We loved Lollipops ice cream ( lime is to die for) and La Macroulette for fresh macarons - hardly ever open but about a mile from Bali Hai and worth the trek.

Breakfast was included every morning. We had a choice of eggs with bacon, pancakes, fresh fruit ( all locally grown), omelette or lagoon fish, all of which were accompanied by coffee, juice and bread/ pastries. We can't say enough great things about the nice people who work here. It's a super laid back spot. But the people always had a smile and a laugh in their voices. We learned to slow down, hang out and enjoy the view every day.

We also used the laundry service- which was very efficient and reasonable. About $15 for a large load- returned by the time we got back in the afternoon.

All of this being said, this is not a luxury resort. I think everyone knows this going in.

The wifi is spotty to say the least. The rooms are definitely older and somebody is not at your beck and call every hour of the day. There are roosters. They don't really know how to "rooster". They crow at all hours. When the wind whips up in the bay, it can get pretty noisy. There are mosquitoes. We bought the coils from the local supermarket and they helped quite a bit. There are cats, 5 of them, who hang out. They are friendly and sweet. The quality of each bungalow seemed to vary considerably. We were in 37 and 38. 37 was better than 38. Nicer bathroom. The rooms were like cabins on the water. That's really the only way I can describe them. They were perfectly adequate for an incredible price in paradise.

Every morning, Jay, the owner, would come and join us for breakfast. This was one of our favorite parts of our day. He would regale us with his amazing stories of the island and the resort. He made us feel like one of the family and he had a lovely family too. We were so sad to leave, but incredibly happy to have spent two weeks in an electronics free, idyllic, lazy spot, with incredible starry nights and unbelievable hospitality.


Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
9  Thank kforstot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubbalihaimoorea, Owner at Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

How nice to hear from the friends of Club Bali Hai who came to visit from La Mesa. Many thanks for your description of our paradise & the electronic education. We all hope you will visit us again.
Thanks,
Jay, Bianca, Matahi, Virginia, Olga, Tanoa, Hella & your other friends from Club Bali Hai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.7 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
10.3 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
735 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
127 reviews
24.4 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
5.9 km away
Green Lodge
Green Lodge
#8 of 13 in Moorea
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel

Address: Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: ₹ 9,379 - ₹ 13,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated over-water bungalows at affordable rates on Moorea, Tahiti. All excursions depart from Club Bali Hai at the best prices. Breakfast and lunch daily at Club Bali Hai's world famous Blue Pineapple restaurant with weekly Tahitian dinner shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Hai
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel Maharepa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing