We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tarnished, an honest appraisal”
Review of Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Gardens
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Myself and my wife booked this hotel on the basis of the Tripadvisor reports we had read so first impressions were slightly disappointing as we were expecting better.

On entering our room my initial thought was it was gloomy, it looked tired. The bathroom had a false ceiling and tiles that looked like they came from a military installation and had dirty grouting. The shower was not lit and again was made out of the same tiles.

The shower had plenty of hot water however; our first shower had us soaking our feet in 2 inches of water as it would not drain. A call to reception and an explanation of the word 'drain' meant it was fixed the same day.

The main bedroom was ok, the bed was large and comfortable and the room was clean. We had a TV that played a number of English stations. We also had a fridge which had 2 bottles of water, coffee and tea making facilities were also included however we had to beg/borrow a carton of milk for it.

The AC was subdued and we both had no problem sleeping with it on even though we are light sleepers. Also the room has blackout curtains which we loved.

We had our own balcony; we would have liked to have a choice to buy drinks to take out on to the balcony. If you like to sit out at night, you may wish to take your own beer/wine /duty free.

The pool area was lovely with plenty of beds available. While we were there we saw no reserving with towels. The whole area is very relaxing.

The beach was nice with coarse sand, however the week we were there we could not use the jetty for snorkelling off as the wind caused a dangerous swell. This is a regular occurrence because of the location of the hotel, further round Sharm (Baron Palms, Melia) the sea is much calmer and snorkelling is safe off the Jetties.

This was a bitter disappointment as it was one of the reasons we chose Sharm to visit, however all was not lost as we found Zizu in the diving club who booked us onto the speedboat trip. This is for a maximum (and minimum) of 6 people and is one of the best trips. We were taken out by speedboat to a couple of excellent snorkelling sites including the reef near the old wreck. We then visited Tiran Island and to top off the day we found a pod of dolphins that played with the boat for ages.You have use of the facilities of all of the group hotels on site being the Sea Club and Sea Life, each with their own main buffet restaurant, bar and shops (The Sea Gardens do not have any shops). It was nice to walk round and discover different areas like the 'bazaar' theatre and Shisha cafe.

The staff in the whole resort were excellent, attentive and friendly. They served with a smile and were efficient.

The restaurants were clean and tastefully decorated. Our main complaint however and the reason we did not give this resort another star was the quality of the food we experienced. There were different theme nights in each restaurant so the food varied but it mainly felt like it had been mass produced with cheap ingredients to a price. There were exceptions fresh omelettes at breakfast, fresh fried fish were nice but overall the food was very average.

We ate at the Lebanese Ala Carte which was ok. The Ala carte restaurants Japanese and Fish are free for one visit each however you have to queue at a certain time to book each one and by the time we had queued for the Lebanese one on the first day of our visit, the other restaurants had been booked up until our last day so we could not go.

This is not a resort for hard partying rather a relaxed family atmosphere. They have entertainment in the bars but this usually finishes around 11.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday and came back very relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Sea Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 563 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Have just returned from 2 weeks at Sea Garden hotel with my husband and 18 month old daughter. Sea Garden is part of the Sea Group hotels, and as such you can use all of the facilities (even the main buffet restaurants) at Sea Life and Sea Club restaurant too, which was great. We were really impressed with just about everything in the hotel, the grounds were absolutely beautifully maintained, not a day went past when we didn't spot gardeners out pruning, the pool area was amazing too, absolutely brilliant especially the splash pool for younger children. The service across all 3 hotels was exceptional, they are a credit to the company. Galal, our waiter at Sea Garden restaurant, could not do enough for us. The Barracuda Island bar at Sea Club was our favourite hangout after dinner - situated in the middle of the lake at Sea Club - Mahmood the bartender was a fantastic cocktail maker! The beach was lovely, jetty out to the coral and it was really shallow so great for snorkelling etc.

The food in the buffet restaurants was ok, but not 5* quality in our opinion. They have 10 different 'theme' nights, Far East, American etc, which was a great idea, but there wasn't a huge noticeable difference in the food across these nights, and the quality was ok, but not great. Definitely recommend the Lebanese bookable restaurant - El Diwania - stunning food! And the Japanese restaurant Kyoto as well, both excellent quality (you can eat once per stay for free).

My husband and I were most disappointed with the 'mini bar' in our room - which turned out to be a fridge with 2 bottles of mineral water. When we questioned our rep, he explained that because the lobby bars in all 3 hotels are open 24 hours, that rooms are not stocked with alcohol/soft drinks. That's fine if you don't have young children in bed, but not so good for us.

The rooms were a little dated, but really spacious, and it was fantastic having a separate 'bedroom' for our daughter, so that we had use of the bedroom and balcony once she was asleep.

We went to the dolphin show and the glass bottom boat ride trips in Naama Bay - would recommend both but book through your rep not with the guys who hassle by the pool - as apparently they're not insured... Because we booked two trips, we got unlimited free taxi rides to Soho Square, a fantastic trendy part of Sharm, all marble floors and fountains and cool bars/restuarants/clubs, and in the shops there nobody hassles you! Definitely worth a visit one evening.

Overall we had a lovely time, and the staff were the most impressive thing about the resort.

Room Tip: Blocks 3 and 4 are closest to the bar and restaurant!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HJFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I went to this hotel on a friend recommendation, as well as on here, and it just shows how much I do not know my friend! If this is what people call a 5 star hotel then I dont know what sort of the butlins style 5 star hotels they have been to in the UK! Everyone was nice, but the whole place was just standard cheap holiday. No luxury or little extras that you expect in 5 star. I would not recommend, but all I would say it has got going for it is the friendly staff who work very hard.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank lucy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have just been reading the review of Glasgow and I am glad it's not just me that thinks this. Since last year everything does seem to have gone down hill. Last year everything was spot on, I cant believe it's the same hotel. The food and the cleanliness were the worst things. Why they cant check the beach toilets every hour I don't know. Never any paper or mess all over the floor. I had to ask the beach boys most days, and again he said sorry but didnt do anything to make it not happen again. The food in the restaurant was always just warm and there didn't seem to be the selection as last year. I know they must be trying to cut costs because of the lower rates this year, but still the repeats guests choose this hotel as we like what they do. Change everything and your quests will also change.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ella l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Can't fault this hotel, it's sooo relaxing friendly! The hotel is part of three hotels joined together so it's really big and the all inclusive option covers you for all three so you can eat and drink them all if you get bored in one. Sea garden has the best restaurant and the service is second to none. Rooms are really spacious and the pool is heated. The bar in Sea Life is the better of the bunch, (shout to Conan the barman) but the other bars are ok also. Mostly Russian and Ukrainian people staying here but my friend and made friends with most of them and had some memorable nights. I hardly left this complex at all as we had everything we needed so only visited naama bay once, ( should have stayed at the hotel!) The staff really make this hotel but i cant single any out because they were all fantastic and helpful beyond duty. If you want to relax then look no further!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view best
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TELLINGYAHOWITIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nabq Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
2.7 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.1 km away
Sea Life Resort
Sea Life Resort
#6 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,208 reviews
4.4 km away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
407 reviews
3.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gardens

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: ₹ 9,000 - ₹ 13,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gardens Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Garden Hotel
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Gardens Sharm El Sheikh/Nabq Bay, Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing