We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal in our trip”
Review of Maestral

Maestral
Ranked #21 of 207 Restaurants in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We chose Maestral because of its location closer to our apartment in Rovinj and were glad we did. We ordered mix grilled seafood plate, pizza, house wine, etc. and we liked them all. Before the trip, we asked our host in Rovinj to help make a reservation for a table next to the water and they kept our reservation even though we were almost an hour late. The service was very professional and the view we got in the evening was very beautiful and romantic. That was the best meal in our trip. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontfortOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

The grilled sea bream that I ordered was tasty. The problem started with my mother’s order. She decided on grilled octopus but after a while the very polite server informed us that they are out of octopus. We went ahead with grilled sardines. When the dish arrived, the four small fish on the plate did not look like sardines but we still kept it. The taste was quite strange. At first, we thought it might come from a lake or something because we have never tasted such fish and we come from Greece. The server informed us it was triglia and that it actually comes from the sea. Few hours later, my mother realized they must have been unfresh since it did not agree with her stomach at all.

Unacceptable to serve old fish and not according to our actual order.
We should have returned it but who would have thought that a popular tavern known for their seafood freshness would do such a thing? Be careful of such tricks. If it weren’t for the good sea bream, I would have rated this with 1*.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

You sit on the edge of the embankment, eyes glued to St. Euphemia church at the top of Rovinj’s Old Town, listening to the gentle waves splash on the rocks, while you drink and eat a great meal.

My wife, not a seafood eater, had their Chicken Caesar twice while I had their Fritto Misto (large) once and their mixed Fish Grill next time. Both were chock full of great seafood. Calamari, squid, shrimp, the large long clawed variety shrimp, grilled veggies, potato’s, and a grilled fish, either Branzino, Orada, or similar. All well done, tasty and with a local wine, slightly bubbly.

You cannot do much better for the prices which on each meal ranged from 260 to 275 Kuna.

We highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank TravelerMikePlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We only had drinks here but everything that came out of the kitchen smelled fantastic. It's a great place to at the very least have a drink and enjoy fantastic views of Rovinj

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank bgualario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Stopped a couple of times for a drink and to watch the sunset. Fab. Food being served also looked very good.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank KeithandSue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maestral also viewed

Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Maestral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing