We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Mamma Mia Osteria italiana
Ranked #33 of 205 Restaurants in Rovinj
Description: romantic restaurant on the port of Rovinj. high quality food at prices not too high. good selection of wines, craft beers and refined products. not suitable for problematic and complaining people
Restaurant details
Description: romantic restaurant on the port of Rovinj. high quality food at prices not too high. good selection of wines, craft beers and refined products. not suitable for problematic and complaining people
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Truly one of the best restaurants in Rovinj. Food was amazingly delicious, prepared with care and all ingredients were tasty and fresh. Service was great, atmosphere pleasant and intimate. Would recommend it for a night with family and friends as well as for a romantic dinner. Price is not too high at all considering the high quality of food and ambience.

Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frater invictus d, Proprietario at Mamma Mia Osteria italiana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

many thanks to you.
we look forward to your next visit to Rovinj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

A picture is worth a thousand words, this is gnocchi portion size. Last year this was one of the best restaurant in Rovinj, and now we are truly disappointed.

1  Thank anela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frater invictus d, Proprietario at Mamma Mia Osteria italiana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018


It's a real disappointment you do not have a photograph ...
everyone could see 250g of gnocchi ..

all portions are weighed.
the system does not allow us to make mistakes.


you are also a bad customer.
you complain about everything because Antonio does not work here anymore ...
This is your second review for the same lunch. I hope it's the last one.
I know exactly who you are.
You are not more welcome guest in this restaurant.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

I would recommend this place if you want a really bad experience with bad service and awfully expensive prices that definitely don't match what you get on the plate. You pay 92 kn (12 euro) for tagliatelle with vongole that are dry, and almost cold. We asked for several things several times (and that was fine in the beginning, we were full of patience with the waitress which seemed clumsy, but nice), after what we just started being frustrated due to having to ask for everything a couple of times (a simple glass of water, an ashtray, and last but not least - the most expensive parmesan I've had in my life).
The waitress asked us if we wanted parmesan, but somehow she forgot to mention you pay for it 2 euros, something that definitely IS NOT SEEN IN ISTRIAN RESTAURANTS, unless it's a high class hospitality restaurant whose prices justify the service. I live here, and I have a chef in my family, so I well know what is a good value for money when it comes to eating, but I'll admit - next time I'll take look if a restaurant charges parmesan, I've learned my lesson. Sipping all parmesan on the plate was an act of making sure you don't charge it to someone else, because obviously I didn't use all of it, and given what we experienced, I wouldn't be surprised with something like that. And after all, I paid for all of it, so as far as I'm concerned I could've put it in my wine if I wanted so.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Annamaria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frater invictus d, Proprietario at Mamma Mia Osteria italiana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018
Google Translation

Salve, le rispondo nella mia lingua, l'italiano.
Mi dispiace terribilmente di tutto questo malinteso, ma nel menu' c'e' tutto specificato, il prezzo del parmigiano come la pasta fresca.
per scelta fatta piu' di un anno fa, non utiliziamo piu' pasta secca, ma, solo fresca e fatta in casa e io sono italiano mi puo' credere sulla parola. per quanto riguarda la pasta con gli scampi, e non gamberetti come da lei accusato, le assicuro che c'erano dei pomodorini, della rucola e 4 scampi. forse un cucchiaio di salsa napoletana x arricchire il sugo visto che non siamo in stagione di pomodoro succoso.
Se un cliente mi chiede il parmigiano per una pasta con la salsiccia, non lo paga, perche' nel prezzo della pietanza e' gia' compreso e previsto. Se invece mi chiedete il parmigiano per le paste con il pesce sicuramente vi verra' aggiunto al conto perche' non e' previsto per i piatti di pesce.
La invito comunque visto che mi state massacrando l'attivita' con recensioni dello stesso tavolo, (contro il regolamento di tripadvisor) di scrivere una email, o di usare facebook per questo tipo di lamentele, in quanto, avete fatto 2 recensioni negative per spiegare lo stresso problema.
Se aveste chiesto di parlare col direttore o col cuoco per questo problema con la pasta secondo voi secca, vi avrei fatto piu' che volentieri vedere la pasta fresca fatta quel giorno.
grazie comunque della visita, vi invito anche a spese mie se volete a riprovare . non sono abituato a recensioni dove qualcuno uccide la mia cucina visto che e' con il cuore che io cucino tutti i piatti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Can not believe restaurants...you are such a huge disgrace to Rovinj and people in this lovely town that actually know few things about hospitality and food.

Seeing how you responded to my friend (we were together in the restaurant) I realized your poor manners, low confidence and how lame you generally are.
So let's start from the beggining...

1. coming in lunch time on Friday, seeing few tables already there, we were fully aware we will not receive our food very quickly. And that was fine!!!! We were talking about how waitress seems busy, that's why we understand...
2. do not know if you know this, but people while ordering tend to make certain changes and I really expect the waitress to concentrate on the order being made.
3. I personally was the one ordering tagliatelle with scampi and ruccola. I feel so bad not taking that picture, but it was one of the worst plates I have seen in my life and I've seen places. Tagliatelle made with tomato sauce, 3!!!!!(it was 3) shrimp and ruccola aside without any condiments or sauce on top. The plate is 108kn. It is ok, but please just a recommendation...write down in your menu that this is a pasta with tomato sauce, not tomato, ruccola and scampi.
4. It is incredibly funny or sad, I still haven't decided that you are saying that the costumer ordering parmiggano 2 times is the crazy one.
SHE DID IT BECAUSE THE WAITRESS FORGET IT!!!!!

We apologize that we accused you of charging something that was writing in the menu that costs 15 kunas, we are used to not paying someting like that. If you don't mind, we would love to see it in your menu.

5. Please, but pretty please stop thinking that you are some amazing restaurant and cuisine wizards cause you are not. I know bakeries with more imaginative menus and more attentive service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Josipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frater invictus d, Proprietario at Mamma Mia Osteria italiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018
Google Translation

grazie infinite per la vostra recensione. saremo lieti di non ricevervi piu' nel nostro locale. la maleducazione del cliente per il ...pago-voglio ... non e' gradita qui da noi.
Siamo un osteria, gente semplice senza troppe sofisticatezze e senza peli sulla lingua pere cio' vi propongo di provare qualcosa a vostro avviso migliore.
per una scelta fatta un paio di anni fa noi serviamo solo ed esclusivamente pasta fresca fatta in casa. mi spiace venire offeso e accusato di servire pasta secca, secondo me avete sbagliato locale.
vi auguro una buona vita e a non arrivederci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The food in this restaurant is delicious, fresh and tasty.
The atmosphere is amazing and the chef it’s very friendly and knows what he’s doing.
Recommended!!!!

Thank ManEriCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frater invictus d, Proprietario at Mamma Mia Osteria italiana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

thank you so much for your visit.
you too have been super customers ..
we look forward to your next trip to rovinj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Mia Osteria italiana also viewed

Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 
Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Mamma Mia Osteria italiana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing