We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
89
172
113
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
172
113
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view pool area old town staying half board communal areas every half hour plenty of loungers large pool live music lovely holiday evening meal boat trip three star animation team tourist train rep croatia
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Poor everything. If you wanna go back to the past like 40 or 50 years, pick this one. Has remained the same since stone-age. Yes, there IS no AC in rooms, no internet, nothing. Even the beds are not for couples, they are 2 single beds put next to each other. Just go on, pick a different hotel.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We stayed between 6th and 20th of June, half board basis. Stayed in room 117 with partial view of the sea and the main swimming pool. Lots of sun in the afternoon to the rooms facing this direction. Can get hot with no air conditioning, we found it difficult to sleep with the heat during the first couple of nights of our stay. A short walk or little train ride to the main town. stony beach about 200m away from the front of the hotel. Rooms and public areas kept very clean and tidy, staff polite and helpful. There is a room behind reception where you can rent a safety deposit box for your passport, money etc. we paid 17kuna per day for this peace of mind. The unheated outdoor pool is filled with salt water and according to a sign by the pool also chlorinated, the pool was 25 degrees celsius during our stay, much the same temperature as the sea. There were plenty of sun loungers to be had along with umbrellas and tables. Whether this would be the same situation in late July and August I wouldn't like to say.

The exterior of the hotel has a rough concrete finish known in the trade as knocked rib finish very 1970's but despite that it is more attractive inside. Where our room was there was what could only be described as a prison wing look, all that would be needed to finish the look would be some suicide netting hung between the concrete beams. A small planted area in the middle of this rea would distract the eye from the concrete beams and cell like look. However this is purely an aesthetic observation.

When you got in to the restaurant past the horde of mainly Germanic guests all poised at the restaurant door that reminded us of the January or Black Friday sales, Food was generally good but the evening meals, whilst some variations, were a bit repetitive, breakfasts were good, usual European fare cheeses and meats but there was always bacon, sausages and eggs along with cereal. We ate out despite staying half board as were on 3 excursions and wanted to try some other restaurants we had seen in town for a couple of other nights. The usual deal with having to buy drinks with the evening meal, even water! Prices for cocktails and draught beer slightly cheaper than the UK.

Overall the hotel was fine for what we wanted and would maybe stay there again when next in Croatia.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jol1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Just returned from a truly lovely holiday at the hotel pical in porec. Just 2 hours 15 mins and we were transported to porec, Croatia. After initial rain the weather was sunny and was hotter day by day. I would say the hotel pical had positives and negatives - staff excellent, food excellent, location excellent, beds excellent, hot showers excellent, lovely sea views. However there are negAtives -the carpets in the communal areas and rooms is so, so old it is unbelievable and the balconies are unsafe for children and appear not to get cleaned, the stairway area resembles an prison interior which is very depressing! Some work was being undertaken on the promenade immediately by the hotel which perhaps spoilt the view. That having said the bay and the little pretty town of porec was a delight. We would definitely recommend a visit to the unesco rated basilica and the boat trip fish picnic. The coastline is truly beautiful and you should take advantage of bike hire and organised trips. Also the sunsets are gorgeous. Supermarkets are cheap and you can have cheap lunches using the local bakery shops - I recommend the Burke a pastry meat or cheese - fantastic. Once agAin my overall impression is gorgeous country and gorgeous people- we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher the room a better sea view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017



Ro0m 327 basic, wonderful sea view, but.............
.
Bathroom: bath very high, problem for those with mobility problems -eg difficult to get into bath almost impossible to get out

Shower - needed repair - Reported to reception - 6 days to fix. fixed on our penultimate day of holiday!

MAJOR PROBLEMS during our visit

Hotel Pical 'Beach' - Building works on-going for 5/6 working days. Result : noise pollution in the area/plus Hotel Pical swimming pool area.
Health & Safety - be careful! especially at night. Take a torch.

When will it be completed: GOK

THE GOOD
Breakfast/Dinner - well presented, much choice. Breakfast - do not eat doughnuts if you want to stay slim - too good\!.
staff- great
POOL - great. - good size for serious swimmers or otherwise
ENTERTAINMENT - DAY TIME - Hotel Zagreb - see the schedule of animation team -
aquarobics @ 11.30etc

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT - In Pical on some nights, if not you can choose to go to other Valamar Hotels nearby Sometimes goodish - or hilariously bad

VISITING POREC -
for those with mobility probs. Tourist train - from Hotel Pical into Porec. every half hour. If you want to travel further go to Marina & on to tourist train to Zelena Luguna

If you want to swim safely - there is a little sandy beach near Pical - orgo to
Island Sveti Nicolai - cross from Porec Marina every 30 mins cost kuna 90 return . sandy beach etc. but do explore this island beautiful

We only did one organised trip out - Fish picnic . on boat San Mauro - great

Exploring Porec - please do not miss the Basilica - 3 hours minto do it justice. Enjoy the town of Porec

Stayed: May 2017
Thank CHRISSHIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Positiv is the food, its good, even if you are not allowed to take a single apple out of the dinning room which is rather annoying and i dont understand it at all. No wlan in the rooms, just a crappy line in the lobby- hey its 2017, wake up!!! The location is nice, close to the town. Outside a nice park and beach bars, they are nice but this pro. does not belong to the hotel! Downside is really the ratio between price and room quality. The hotel is old, very much used and needs more than just a new painting. In this price category you can get much better hotels! In total i will not stay here again a single night and I strongly recommend taking a 5-10 euro more expensive hotel nearby where you get a better stay and relax.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews