We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
45
94
38
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
94
38
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gardens leading overlooking the garden hula hula bar hvar town charming hotel minute walk on a half board basis breakfast spread pleasant stroll water shoes within easy walking distance a great sea view an update three star coastal path nice breakfast pebble beach
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We were very lucky and had a suite overlooking the Adriatic. Very helpful staff, spotlessly clean and an excellent breakfast. The grounds are beautiful and there is a "beach" area very close by. No sand, but plenty of sunbeds. A very pleasant stroll in to Hvar where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank steveg43_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was a little difficult to find and initially it seemed very far from town. Hint--make a sharp right to pull into the property once you see the sign. The road is very narrow and steep if you miss the driveway.

We paid extra (20 euro) to move to a balcony room with a view. Nice!

We were pleasantly surprised that it is a quick (~ 15 min) and easy walk into town--about the same as it takes to drive! You use the pedestrian path that the hotel can point out that omits the twists and turns of the road.

Breakfast was great with many wonderful choices.

The "hot tub" was not hot, but we didn't really have time for a soak anyway. Also, beware on weekends as Hvar city is a popular spot for weddings and concerts. The band music travels up to the hotel very clearly. Fine for the first bit, but too much at 2:00... Not the hotels fault, but something for you to consider when you book your dates...

Stayed: September 2017
Thank rowidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel, just by the beach and Hula Hula bar. Very clean and confortable. Nice breakfast and a staff ready to support you in any case. It actually seems chip for what it is. Indeed beyond my expectations. I recommend to anyone:)

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Tássia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We came to Hotel Croatia hoping for availability after our VRBO up the street was uninhabitable for our family of 5 plus my parents. The staff was so accommodating and we got 3 beautiful rooms with balconies - what a view! Upon returning to the US, we realized my son left his beloved stuffed bear behind. The hotel not only set it aside, but shipped it 6,000 miles back home. Amazing & friendly customer service. We can't thank them enough for making our stay on Hvar the highlight of our Croatian trip!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kassy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

There are two positives: the location in front of the beach and the gardens.

Everything else was bad. Do not believe the good reviews or the "tres chic" of the Routard guide. The hotel is outdated for its price.

We got two rooms, one room with the "ocean view" (and priced accordingly) meant seeing a bit of ocean through the trees (this should be sold as a garden view). The room was large and modern but the bed was terrible: it was squeaky and had cheap pillows and sheets. Also we were put in room 001 which meant having a toilet in front of the room that we could hear flushing everytime someone went.

Things did not improve when we had to move to a "garden view". The room belonged to a 2 star hotel. The bathroom was super outdated with a mini shower and old and a rusty sink. A TV from 10 years ago and two double beds joined instead of the double bed. Also, we are pretty sure that the hotel has never invested in buying new sheets. It is awful.

Every detail shows that the staff doesn't care about keeping a good hotel. Even the simple things as keeping the pictures that are hanging straight or a nice welcome in the reception are mishandled. The receptionist was almost impossible to find.

We also did not like the email asking us to review the hotel with a perfect score. It's good (and necessary) that they ask for feedback but that is just another sloppy thing to do.

Overall, the hotel has a lot of potential if the owners decide to improve it. Until then, avoid it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews