We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in Hvar”
Review of Hotel Croatia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Croatia
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Hotel is in a quiet place, with nice garden. Old building could receive renewal. Room and bathroom could be renewed as well. Everything is compensated by the environment and kindness of people serving specially at the restaurant. Delicious food, good wine list. Good location in front of a nice beach

Room Tip: With balcony, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

We were really excited about our stay at Hotel Croatia since it was a treat for us to stay in a hotel during our 2 week trip in Croatia. The location was awesome and the grounds were great. That was about it.

We requested a queen bed, and upon check in were informed they had a limited amount, so we waited the additional hour for the bed with the larger bed. Once we got to the room, the 'queen' bed was two twins put together with a pad over it. The sheets didn't even fit on the bed so when we were sleeping the sheets kept slipping off of us. On top of that, we weren't even given a comforter. Just a blue blanket that, again, was a twin size so kept falling off. I went down to the concierge and complained about the bed and the blankets. They said they had no queens on the premise, and this is how they 'make' queen beds. Would've been nice to know ahead of time. Additionally, they told us they would bring up different blankets. Never did.

We also had a huge problem with our drain in our shower. Complained about that too and nothing.

Was absolutely shocked when we checked out, and had nothing comped, and absolutely zero interest in making our stay more desiarable. I will never stay here again, and will caution anyone to do the same. Our 'treat' turned into the worst stay of our trip -- even over hostels!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

A bit of a mixed bag, started with a nippy receptionist, perhaps she was having a bad day. Accommodation had a page of rules more like "school camp", fixed aircon setting, but balanced by private balcony at rear of hotel, but noisy construction adjacent during the day. 10 minute walk to harbour round coastal path. Stay lightened by fellow guests, group of German "born again bikers".

Room Tip: Room to rear for best sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jaytee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Reading the reviews prior to arrival we were a little skeptical about the place; however, our upgraded suite was totally renovated and had a great view of the garden and the ocean. The room was very clean and the staff was very attentive. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace surrounded by trees and flowers. So peaceful to start your day in this setting. Down the road from the hotel is Hula Hula beach and a scenic board walk leading to the town center. The walk to center is about 15 minutes and it is so beautiful that no photo does justice to the place. Just down the stairs from the hotel there is a bay with small dock for water taxi in case one wants to go to one of the small islands that are minutes from Hvar. We will definitely stay again in this hotel when we revisit Hvar

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Orit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was a peaceful experience - lovely grounds and easy access to coastal path and an easy 10 min walk into Hvartown. Comfortable clean rooms and very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Not suitable really if you have a mobility problem that prevents you walking into town as the road is a long way round and taxis are expensive. We would enjoy staying there again. It is ideal for more mature travellers as it is a little past the noisier younger set hotels.

Room Tip: The end room nearest the road and adjoining hotel can be a little noisy with folk returning to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.1 km away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
261 reviews
0.6 km away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
0.3 km away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia

Address: Ulica Vlade Avelinija 7 | (Majerovica b.b.), Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: ₹ 5,703 - ₹ 26,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croatia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is located in the city of Hvar at the so-called island, only about ten minutes walk from the old city centre and city port. It is situated by the sea in the beautiful park of pine trees at one of the most beautiful locations of the city of Hvar. It is built in 1936 and reconstructed in 1997. With its architecture, hotel is ideally set in the vegetation of Majerovica bay, reached by a beautiful walking area by the sea. Hotel Croatia is the smallest one in the city of Hvar, it is an intimate and very comfortable place for holiday throughout the year. Hotel Croatia is family runned hotel.distancefrom beach is: 10mdistance of hotel from the sea is: 30mdistance of hotel from city center is: 1200mpebble beach, paved beach, rocky beachbuffet breakfast, lunch - choice of menus, dinner - choice of menushotel parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Hvar
Croatia Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing