We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
281
143
17
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
143
17
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town stringed instrument tea and biscuits rooms are small tiger leaping gorge central location an oasis of calm hear the music cobbled streets yogurt reception area taxi driver bar street ancient city visiting lijiang guest house electric blankets
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Similar to many hotels in old Lijiang but personnel so different, not the crowd of young people with no interest we experienced elsewhere. These people really care and respect their guests. Arranged car plus driver for us at driver rates, no mark up.
Nice breakfast which we were not charged for. Peaceful, Zen hotel very apt.
Hotel ratings not working below but 5 star.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hlavatyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I had a wonderful time at Zen Garden Wuyi Yard. The rooms were clean, the beds were soft and plenty of hot water for a shower. But the best things was the friendly and accommodating staff. The best advice is to contact the hotel and have them arrange a transport from the airport. Then someone from the hotel staff will meet you at the gate and lead you throw the maze of roads and alleyways to the hotel. It is not worth the hassle to attempt finding the hotel on your own pulling a suitcase.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Resort403528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

I stayed at the Zen Garden Hotel midway through a tour of China. With just 14 rooms, the staff team felt more like family - fantastic hosts, and so friendly and helpful.

Set around a courtyard, my room was on the second floor with a veranda outside overlooking the wonderful garden and fountain - and with views across the old town towards the mountains. Very quiet, very peaceful and very, very relaxing.

The location is fantastic, in the old town among the cobbled streets.

My room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. The was ample wardrobe space, but no refrigerator. Wifi was provided.

Breakfast was good.

This really was a highlight of my journey through China. If you're heading to Lijiang make sure you stay here.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Stay here if visiting Lijiang. Quiet but not far from the action. beautiful staff with outstanding breakfast. I want to back to Lijiang just to stay in the hotel. Rooms are large with lovely views of surrounding mountains.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Location of this hotel is an easy to stroll into the main tourist areas of Lijiang. the bar street/big stone bridge is nearby, and it's also a short walk away from Giant water wheel entrance. However, you have to take note that there would be a 10 mins walk into the hotel from the main road (vehicles aren't allowed in the old town), and the cobbled streets make it very difficult to roll your wheeled suitcases. I used a backpack so I found the walk okay, but I definitely would not envy making the journey in with a heavy suitcase. If you have a lot of luggage, i would suggest you try to find an accommodation near the roads instead

Do also note that
- if you sleep early, you may be able to hear the music from the bar street. It wasn't too loud but may be an annoyance for some
- the radiator (portable style) is a bit loud, but they do have electric blankets so the radiator may not be necessary
- the standard rooms are a bit tight. ... like, no space to open up your suitcase on the floor. go for bigger rooms if you need the comfort.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank tickytacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews