We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
Ranked #7 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at the Zen Garden Hotel in December 2011 for 4 nights. I don't think you could ask for a better location in the Old Town. It's a beautiful respite from the craziness outside that is Lijiang Old Town. The hotel is beautiful with a small central courtyard and fish pond. The staff were very friendly and helpful although their english could have been improved. The breakfast was very good (western food) and their cookies/cakes were excellent! We organised with the Zen Garden Hotel on arrival for them to pick us up from the train station and everything went without a hitch. The only negative thing I could say is that we booked a special room and the only thing that was special was the bed which was a beautiful, traditional chinese, wood bed. The room, while clean, was very small. We definitely didn't get our monies worth. On the plus side, we had an amazing view of the pagoda on the hill from our outside balcony. The pagoda was beautiful at night when lit up. We would recommend staying at this hotel though whether the special room is worth it, probably not.

Room Tip: Don't think getting a special room is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 207 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Location was great, very close to the main square in the old city; the owner is indeed very attentive, as signalled by other reviewers; the zen garden is indeed very nice, and a lady playing harp in the garden during breakfast was a plus. However, the room was very basic, small -once I had put my suitcase on the floor I could barely move in my room-, the bathroom was poor. I was probably influenced by the fact that I stayed the night before in Blossom Hill which was quite high on design -couldn't stay there because they were fully booked-.
I booked on the internet and think I probably overpaid -on the rest of my trip, I got most inns for a third of what I paid, although I paid something similar at Blossom Hill in Lijiang as well, so is it that prices in Lijiang are 3 times what you pay anywhere in Yunnan ?

I saw the Lion Hill other hotel, probably great for the view, but climbing the hill several times a day is probably a drawback.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyril_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 night during our China trip and had a wonderfull stay.
Excellent location in the middle of beautiful Lijiang.
Clean rooms and excellent service. We especially enjoyed talking to the owner (do no know his name unfortunately). He was a very kind and pleasant man, tending to your every needs.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

It's small, it's friendly, it's quiet and very relaxing. The positioning is perfect, close to everywhere you want to explore. The staff are great and can effortlessly organise whatever you want. My family and I had a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the Zen Garden for 2 nights when we arrived in Lijiang. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel is right in the middle of the old town but once you step through the door you enter a quiet haven. We had a great view of Lion Hill lit up at night from the chairs outside our room. We spent a night at Tiger Leaping Gorge and coming back to the Zen Garden was like coming home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
6.4 km away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 955 in Lijiang
311 reviews
6.0 km away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
4.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#2 of 955 in Lijiang
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
5.6 km away
Le Hoo Hotel
Le Hoo Hotel
#10 of 955 in Lijiang
58 reviews
6.2 km away
Banyan Tree Lijiang
Banyan Tree Lijiang
#3 of 955 in Lijiang
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)

Address: No.36 Xingren Alley, Wuyi Road, Dayan Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lijiang
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lijiang
#5 Family Hotel in Lijiang
Price Range: ₹ 2,813 - ₹ 3,467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZENGARDENHOTELS LIJIANG Wuyi YardZengardenhotels Wuyi Yard in Lijiang China offers you two very beautiful Naxi-Style courtyard hotels, carefully originally designed as traditional timber construction and natural stone wall and pavements. All the rooms have a little balcony with seats which are orientated to the open green yard where you can enjoy the sunshine.The Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard is very well situated in the center of the Old Town of Lijiang, next to the Si Fang square and the stone bridge. It is a little hidden gem with a wonderful view over the roofs of the Old Town Dayan to the Wang Gu Lou Pagoda on the Lion Hill. Especially in the night you have a very scenic view over the illuminated Old Town from the 2. level of Wuyi Yard.Entering the gate into the peaceful and relaxing teahouse of Zengardenhotels Wuyi Yard you are surrounded by lovely orchids, bonsai trees, Koi-fish-pond and cozy sunshine places. You can listen to the music from ancient Chinese Gujin instruments and sense the Chinese traditional atmosphere and culture while the bubble sound of the fishpond calm down the hectic rush of normal life. A very tasteful aesthetic atmosphere has been created from a collector of art and crafts who leads you into the fine art of ancient China with its skillful design works. Therefore the reception and the teahouse in Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard are very well decorated with high class Chinese antiques furniture, vases, paintings and fine art wood carvings from the Ming and Qing Dynasty. You can drink the best blends of the famous and healthy PU-ER Tea while you can enjoy the privacy of the relaxing Zen Garden reading some books from the library or improve your calligraphy skills the owner can teach you how to use the brushes. Listening to the Chinese music you are also invited to burn some incense on our little private Buddhism altar. Everyone is welcome to enjoy the individual high class private atmosphere of our teahouse. If you like to book the complete house for your private company’s event we like to arrange all the things you need. The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard is a private owned Boutique Hotel with in total 16 rooms on two levels. We provide 14 x Standard Rooms and 2 x Special Rooms. • 14 x Deluxe Standard Double Rooms 20m2, with Twin beds 2.00 x1.0m luxury mattress (can be combined to one big bed), are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.• 2 x Special Rooms 22m2, with Antique Chinese Wedding bed 2.00 x1.60m are comfortable and well equipped with modern toilet and separated shower, hair-dryer pp. sideboard with flat screen TV 24”, telephone international open line, ADSL Lan-cable, W-Lan.The Zengardenhotel Wuyi Yard offers a public business corner with two Desktop PC’s for surfing the web, free of charge. If you bring your own laptop or wifi mobile you can use our W-Lan for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zen Garden Lijiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing