We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
298
50
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
50
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hwee ling drawn maps garden yard boutique hotel vegetable plots old town hot dish local communities tao tao little touches chit chat lashi lake shuhe town tiger leaping gorge family suite home away from home felt like home
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very much impressed by the friendly and passionate staff, especially the team work the afternoon shift - they are all helpful, polite and cheerful! Love them so much!!

Nice hotel room - stylish and modern, comfortable, spotless and fully-equipped. Quiet surrounding but very close to Shuhe Ancient Town and many restaurants - great location.

The trip was to celebrate my husband's birthday so they kindly upgraded our room and prepared a delicious birthday cake for us. Very much appreciated!!

Sincerely recommend Bivou to everyone!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank paulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Really love this establishment - 5 star service at moderate price. They arranged the airport transport, painstakingly coordinated the local tours with extraordinary patience, provide wholesome healthy meals, accommodation was really very unique and well maintained. Service by all staff was simply out-of-the-world! Great job and highly recommend this place !

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank paulinel956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear paulinel956

Thank you so much for this kind and lovely review and for recommending us! It is nice to be seen as being good value, with top-notch service and uniquely designed rooms but keeping it all at an affordable price so our guests can freely and fully experience all that this place has to offer. Thank you especially for mentioning the Bivou team and what they have managed to help you with on your trip. Yes, we are very fortunate that these energetic young people are always excited that they have a chance to make use of their local knowledge and skills to help our guests, whether in arranging transport, itineraries or anything else needed for a perfect holiday.

We are also happy to know that you had a chance to enjoy the food at The Bivou Cafe. To us, the most delicious food, whether Chinese or Western, are made using fresh locally-sourced ingredients, properly and carefully prepared using traditional techniques to retain their natural flavors and nutrition. We are glad you found the meals wholesome as we intended them to be.

Lastly, it was a true delight to host you and your husband and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Characterful, good service, lovely place to stay in a quiet part of Lijiang,.
Good to see the Han Chinese really enjoying themselves in beautiful Yunnan. Very comfortable,
Good room Good food and so helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ByronEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear ByronEdinburgh

Thank you for your great review and it was lovely having you around with us! We do indeed appreciate our great location - away from the hubbub of the more popular Dayan (the "Old City" of Lijiang) but still at the very heart of the even more ancient suburban town of Shuhe (itself within the UNESCO World Heritage designated zone). To us, it is the perfect balance of tranquility, authenticity and convenience, perched on the edge of a real living communal farm and the village spring, the source of the town’s water but no more than 15-45 mins drive from most attractions.

We are also delighted that you like our rooms. As you might have noticed, unlike a typical 5-star hotel room, rooms at The Bivou were lovingly built upon original vernacular architecture some 400 years old but the living spaces were restored and modernized to meet the needs of modern-day travelers so you can enjoy a comfortable and memorable rest within a building that still retains its original character.

Yes, Shuhe in Lijiang is a great place to observe and ponder upon Han-style tourism, in a non-judgmental way. Just like Western tourists, Lijiang is visited by millions of Chinese tourists who come every year to take their wedding pictures and to enjoy the fresh air, great local produce and to soak in the amazing atmosphere, away from rampant commercialism.

Thank you for giving us a chance to host you and we hope that we will have a chance to host you again should you come by this part of the world in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We stayed here for a week and it was perfect. Staff was friendly, accessible, kind and helpful. Cozy hotel was lovely with beautiful walks all around it. Staff gave us advice and helped us set up excursions that fit the needs of our family. They even sent a translator with us to make sure we were comfortable. The Chinese and Western food that was offered in the restaurant was reasonably priced and very good. Location was a good spot to go on many different adventures. If I ever go back to Lijiang, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erinschmiedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear erinschmiedl

Thank you for your one-week stay with us and trusting us to set up your trips for your family! We are boosted by this kind and lovely review! You have given us not just the wonderful pleasure of hosting you and your family, but also this incredibly encouraging feedback that reminds us yet again why we did The Bivou in the first place. When we chanced upon this beautiful location many years ago, we envisioned for our guests precisely the kind of experiences that you encountered on your stay at our hotel, with lovely walks around for serendipitous moments, and yet being a convenient base for launching off to so many different adventures, whether cultural, nature. gastronomic or even shopping!

Thank you for mentioning our team. Yes, to us, every encounter is a special and unique one, and the very best and most relevant help and advice are what we hope we can offer to each and every one of our guests.

We do wish you all the best and may you always feel the joy of The Bivou as you relive your trip to Lijiang. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Lijiang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Loved our two night stay here - everything was just perfect .
Quiet boutique hotel tucked away down a quiet street
Lovely room, dining room and super friendly staff
Even had a massage which was amazing !

Room Tip: Courtyard room was super .
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianaemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBivou, General Manager at The Bivou, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear dianaemmett,

We are so happy to know that you had a perfect two days' stay with us and thank you so much for your nice review!

We do indeed appreciate our location - away from the hustle of Lijiang but still at the very heart of the even more ancient town of Shuhe. To us, it is definitely the perfect balance of quaintness, authenticity and convenience. Just minutes away is all the action, shopping, dining and amenities if you need them, but walking down our lovely side alley, you come to an oasis by the farm where you can literally bask in the sun and hear birds chirping while reading a nice book on the terrace.

We are glad that our rooms have given you two comfortable nights of rest. We are also glad that you have experienced the indoor massage service provided by our local partner with whom we have been working for over the last 5 years, providing professional spa services at a fraction of what is available at 5-star facilities.

Thank you again for your your kind words about our hotel. We hope that you will come back to The Bivou in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews