We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
257
54
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
54
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiger leaping gorge beautiful garden old town private balcony shower curtain driver taxi english outskirts heating
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This lovely guesthouse is on the outskirts of Shuhe Old Town in Lijiang. It is much nicer and quieter than the central Old Town of Lijiang, and very close to the countryside. The service was really excellent (the staff helped us with many small things) and the accomodation very comfortable. Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Julesmarc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

One of the best accommodations of our 3 weeks China trip!

- Sara the manager is very helpfull and kind, and her English is good!
- Beautiful garden, very quiet and nice to sit and relax
- Rooms are good, large bathroom!
- we did not mind at all that we were a bit further from lijiang old town, take bus 5 near the Bruce Chalet or a taxi for only a few euro, it takes 20-30 min
- low price for what you get
- last but not least, amazing breakfast! :-)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 May 2017

You are a man of credit .Thank you very much .And next time you can choose the other hotel of mine in Lijiang old town .It's different style ,haha ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

A boutique like hotel. The rooms all surround a lovely courtyard full of greenery, ponds and running water. The rooms were very well done, considerably better than some "good" hotels we've stayed at. The place is very relaxing and generally a nice place to stay.

The staff were super helpful. In an area where next to no-one speaks English, Sara, the manager, made a big difference. Her English isn't fluent but she made a big effort and helped us sort out our itinerary every day. She helped arrange drivers whenever we wanted to go somewhere, sorted out airport transfers, lent us bikes, gave us a lift into town and kept us supplied with beer :). They can also arrange full tours to all the regional attractions if you want them (e.g. Tiger Leaping Gorge, Jade Snow Dragon Mountain).

The hotel is very close to Shuhe old town (~10 mins walk), which is basically the same as Lijang Old Town only a little more relaxed and free to get in. You can walk there to get food, drink or a taxi into Lijang (~30RMB and ~20 mins). If you're looking for super convenience for Lijang then maybe this is a little out the way for you, but we found it great. Generally we spent each day (or few days) off on full excursions so weren't really bothered by the location.

They also have a cool dog - although he's a bit frisky :)

Only one negative. We booked a standard double which was good value for money IMO (~400 RMB). The twins are way cheaper and, according to a couple who were there at the same time, probably pretty much the same just with single beds (~200 RMB). We got upgraded for free for some extra days to the delux double. It wasn't that much different to the standard double but was around ~800 RMB. It was slightly bigger and had a private balcony. However, if you're on a budget then probably no point upgrading.

Would definitely stay there again!

N.B. They also have a hotel in Shuhe Old Town (not sure of the name) and one in Lijang Old Town as well.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Horms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 May 2017

Thank you for the recognition of our chalet. You and your husband both are very nice people. And I will work hard to study English .When you come to Lijiang next time ,we will be better one .Welcome to our chalet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The setup and surroundings was nice but the rooms have seen better days. The floors were dusty, carpets in the verandah needs changing. There was a hole in the wooden tub. Gutters of the roof were falling down. Overall, although the staff were helpful and nice, the place needs upgrading.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank geezelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

With only 10 minutes walk from Shuhe town the Bruce Chalet is a perfect basis for exploring Lijiang. The rooms are located around a little garden which makes the place feel like an oasis in busy Lijiang. The interior of the rooms is beautifully designed and they are very clean. Some simple dishes can be ordered for lunch or dinner at very reasonable price. Breakfast can be ordered as well and is served in a cozy winter garden. Linda was very helpful and could provide me with guidance on what to do in and around Lijiang and on my following traveling planning and she helped me organize as well. It was great that upon my arrival she provided me at once with map of Shuhe. Her English is very good. Overall it is the one of the best places I stayed in China.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Janka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews