We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect jumping spot for an Alabama trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect jumping spot for an Alabama trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

This hotel is really nice. It is clean, everything worked, and the staff was friendly. The sign from the road is small (so pay attention) but it was worth the u-turn we had to make. US-280, the road it is on, is very busy but we barely heard the traffic noise from our room even though that is the direction our room faced. Breakfast was mediocre but they kept the food stocked through the busy time and the coffee and cinnamon rolls were hot. The indoor pool emits a chlorine smell, but it is tolerable walking to the rooms. All in all, this is the first Holiday Inn I have stayed at, and I was pleasantly surprised and satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbyburros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
29
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

very nice hotel. word to the wise....get a street sign! it will increase your traffic tremendously. if i did not locate this hotel on priceline i would have NEVER found it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wsrctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We only stayed one night at this location. It was very hard to find and get to, located behind restaurants and other hotels.

Upon check-in, we were immediately impressed with the front desk clerk, Lucette (?). She was friendly, funny and very helpful. We used points to book and only had the option of one of 2 rooms. Neither were great but we chose the first floor room because it was larger. The walls in the room were extremely dirty, as was the carpet. There was no computer desk for using the laptop. Wi-fi was free but required a password that the second desk clerk had a very hard time locating. The wi-fi is very, very slow. Also, the bathroom floor had spots around the base of the toilet that appeared to be dried urine.

The food selection was better than most HI's we have stayed at recently; at least this one had grits/oatmeal packets, but there was no breakfast meat available at all. The dining area was clean, had an AWESOME big screen TV and the food was kept stocked. The breakfast lady was NOT friendly at all and began to put the food away about 8-10 minutes BEFORE the 10 a.m. cutoff time, which we found annoying. I had to chase her down to grab a cinnamon roll.

I would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiescarlett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Traveling to Florida and booked by phone. We asked for something off I-65, and they directed us here. It was not off I-65, but off I-250(?). A bit out of the way, but awesome property! These new Holiday Inn Express properties are great! Free breakfast good with many choices.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoandRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potosi, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We planned our trip to Florida with the stopover at this Hotel and were very pleased with the room and especially the staff. The buffet breakfast was very good and the young lady keeping everything supplied and clean, was absolutely superb. The only problem was the strong chemical smell at the indoor pool area -- maybe poor ventilation. Overall, our short stay was pleasing and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
2.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Address: 156 Resource Center Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35242-8095
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,708 - ₹ 10,732
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham Inverness 280 Experience southern hospitality at our charming hotel in Birmingham, Alabama, located on Hwy 280 right off Interstate 459. This Birmingham hotel is situated near several Alabama attractions including the famous Barber Motorsports, Porsche Sports Driving School and Talladega Super Speedway, which houses a 143,000 seat raceway and is adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum. Families can appreciate this Birmingham hotel's easy access to several popular family-friendly Birmingham attractions including Legion Field, the Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame, Vulcan Park and Alabama Adventure Theme Park. For a look back into history, guests can visit the Civil Rights sites that mark the South s struggle to embrace diversity. Monumental sites consist of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, Kelly Ingram Part, and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Unlike other Birmingham hotels, the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel provides business travelers with several quality business services, which include on-site meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. High-speed, wireless Internet access is also available. During your Birmingham vacation, enjoy our choice hotel amenities such as an indoor pool & whirlpool, free Internet access and a complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Birmingham hotel deals and rates and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing