We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 129
US$ 123
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 170
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 140
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 113
US$ 101
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
US$ 101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
54
28
15
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
28
15
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszebra roomother guestsformal dining roomguest refrigeratorfive pointsdolls housered mountainsitting roomanother gueststayed here for two nightsfresh fruitour room was spacioussouthern hospitalityshower curtaindanielssheliamansion
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Cobb Lane B&B is a beautiful and historic structure; just what we were looking for during our stay in Birmingham. The house is lovingly and intricately restored with period artwork, photos, furnishings, and charming details in each room. Ours was the Southern Magnolia, on the top floor facing the street, and connected to a sitting room filled with Victorian-era collectibles which further enhance the setting.

Our room was spacious and inviting (though a bit warm during the night) and the bed comfortable. The entire house was surprisingly quiet despite being built in the 19th century. Our host, Sheila, gave us a tour when we checked in and made us feel welcome right away. The breakfast and staff the following morning were wonderful, and meeting some of the other travelers at the table was memorable and pleasant.

I highly recommend Cobb Lane B&B, particularly for travelers wanting the very opposite of a standard chain hotel. We felt naturally obliged to embrace the inn and its time period, notably when seeing the TV in our room placed out of sight and mind in the closet, and far less entertaining than the beautiful room itself. It was a subtle (and needed) suggestion for guests to momentarily disconnect from the now, and instead be present with the gorgeous house and its distant past.

We look forward to staying again next time we are in Birmingham.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

COBB LANE BB -- SOUTHERN MAGNOLIA SUITE. What a wonderful review! It doesn't get any better than this when a guest understands the purpose of the Inn and its history while in the midst of their present. Their patronage helps keep the Mansion for posterity and future generations to enjoy. It is part of the Five Points Historic District which is also the City's Culinary District. We keep maps and photos of the nearby historic buildings for those who love to walk around and pretend it is 1898 again, like we do. Thank you for your thoughtful and caring review. Please come again soon and over time, try out all of the rooms. Each is individually decorated with a different theme. Thank you! Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is a wonderful place to stay. Staff is friendly and attentive. I could not be there for breakfast, but they made me a breakfast to go and left it for me in the morning. Rooms and atmosphere are fabulous. Thank you to Shelia for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BED AND BREAKFAST -- HERA'S LOFT ROOM. This gentleman was delightful to have as our guest. He stayed in our "modernist" décor room at Hassinger Mansion which features a white leather platform queen size bed in sunken area of bedroom, a sitting area with white leather couch, faux animal furs and fabrics, private bath, and private balcony with table and chairs overlooking the downtown. Often guests staying in that room remark at breakfast that they thought they were only guest in the house and are surprised to see all the others enjoying breakfast. This is because it is quietest and most private room. Please come again Patrick! Thank you for taking time to write a review. Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night. All in all house was ok. Owner Sheila was rude, impolite. I know because you get there and have to call her. You leave vm and she calls you back eventually. Then she tells you the code for door, where the key to your room is, etc. My wife needed to use restroom. She said she would have to wait until we got in room. I later saw a restroom within 20' of where we were standing. I'm sure it was for a guest room but just awful. Rude. Impolite. Bossy. Condescending. Never met her. She was off site. I'm not going to take any more time on this.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank wedekib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST -- ZEBRA ROOM. This review and reply are about managing expectations. Bed and Breakfasts are different from hotels where you usually walk straight in the door where there is a hotel receptionist, typically 3 persons/positions round the clock. BBs are generally kept locked in Cities since there aren't 3 position receptionists round the clock. The BB Owner/Manager responds to guests at the front door either by intercom or cell phone. We use cell phones. Door bells are usually disconnected since an arriving guest, no matter what the time of day, would ring and bother other guests who might be sleeping. This guest arrived a little early, we were still cleaning up, and we responded to their arrival and showed them their room. It was learned the lady wished to use the bathroom and she was shown where it was in her room. Their reservation was made by another family member and perhaps this may have been their first BB. We recommend that in the future, they make their own reservations and pick their favorite accommodation. We wish them well and did not intend our conversation to appear rude in any way. Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed in our accommodations. The B&B is very lovely on the outside. The parlor and dining area were decorated with period antiques and also lovely. However, our room (the Zebra Room) was in the basement with no inside access to the rest of the house. This was not clear on the website. Checking in was not easy. There was a sign on the front door with instructions to call the owner. The call rolled to voice mail and we were left standing on the front porch waiting for a returned call. Luckily it was 3:00 in the afternoon and it was only 10 minutes or so. The fact that it was raining heavily during check-in and the next morning going to breakfast didn't help the fact that we had to go outside to access the rest of the house. We also didn't understand that there were two locations of this B&B, our daughter ended up at the other location blocks away. To sum up our experience, it was a lack of personal interaction that made our first impressions negative regarding this facility. The woman serving breakfast was very nice and our room was clean. We did love the location of this B&B. The 5 Points district of Birmingham is full of nice restaurants and bars. Well worth visiting.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST -- ZEBRA ROOM. This is the 2nd review, but with a different title, to another one submitted by this same guest. This is a matter of managing expectations, as we wrote in our other response. Regarding Zebra's location within the Victorian Mansion and its traits, our web-site in "Rooms and Rates" tab says Zebra Room is entered at the lower level, has a private porch with wicker furniture, has a more modern décor, and is located under the kitchen. There us a photo of its exterior door going to the outside (not an internal hall within the Mansion) which is its entry. A family member made this couple's reservation and the relative stayed at our nearby Hassinger Daniels Mansion BB. We recommend that in the future, this couple will probably will be happier if they make their own reservations. We wish them well. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I was on business trip. I arrived at the airport at 11 PM. This "kind-of" hotel doesn´t not have any people in late night. So I arrived and the lady didn't answer her phone and she does not leave any message. DON'T choose this kind of amateur things, choose another hotel to avoid this terrible night in the middle of the rain. Thanks Lady!

Room Tip: Old house, terrible service, avoid this kind of experiences seems to be a museum where you sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Our web-site states guests are received daily between 3-9 PM daily, only at other times by special arrangement. In this instance, it appears a travel agent accepted a reservation request but did not check with our inventory. The visitor thought they had a reservation when they did not. Apparently they arrived when everyone was asleep and all rooms filled. We were sold out for several days in a row. The City was hosting the National Debate Finalists competition for high school and middle school students. The bright young future of the Nation were in our midst along with their encouraging coaches and families. We would encourage this visitor, to make sure they have a reservation before arriving at a property. Even if they are holding a written reservation they need to check that it went through and the property is available. Some on-line reservation systems (not ours) does not check vacancies as they should when accepting a reservation which is a very disturbing experience for a visitor. We are sorry this happened to this guest of our City. Sheila Chaffin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews