We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
56
29
15
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
29
15
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zebra room other guests five points formal dining room guest refrigerator victorian era dolls house red mountain sitting room another guest stayed here for two nights fresh fruit southern hospitality our room was spacious daniels shelia mansion
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed in our accommodations. The B&B is very lovely on the outside. The parlor and dining area were decorated with period antiques and also lovely. However, our room (the Zebra Room) was in the basement with no inside access to the rest of the house. This was not clear on the website. Checking in was not easy. There was a sign on the front door with instructions to call the owner. The call rolled to voice mail and we were left standing on the front porch waiting for a returned call. Luckily it was 3:00 in the afternoon and it was only 10 minutes or so. The fact that it was raining heavily during check-in and the next morning going to breakfast didn't help the fact that we had to go outside to access the rest of the house. We also didn't understand that there were two locations of this B&B, our daughter ended up at the other location blocks away. To sum up our experience, it was a lack of personal interaction that made our first impressions negative regarding this facility. The woman serving breakfast was very nice and our room was clean. We did love the location of this B&B. The 5 Points district of Birmingham is full of nice restaurants and bars. Well worth visiting.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST -- ZEBRA ROOM. This is the 2nd review, but with a different title, to another one submitted by this same guest. This is a matter of managing expectations, as we wrote in our other response. Regarding Zebra's location within the Victorian Mansion and its traits, our web-site in "Rooms and Rates" tab says Zebra Room is entered at the lower level, has a private porch with wicker furniture, has a more modern décor, and is located under the kitchen. There us a photo of its exterior door going to the outside (not an internal hall within the Mansion) which is its entry. A family member made this couple's reservation and the relative stayed at our nearby Hassinger Daniels Mansion BB. We recommend that in the future, this couple will probably will be happier if they make their own reservations. We wish them well. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I was on business trip. I arrived at the airport at 11 PM. This "kind-of" hotel doesn´t not have any people in late night. So I arrived and the lady didn't answer her phone and she does not leave any message. DON'T choose this kind of amateur things, choose another hotel to avoid this terrible night in the middle of the rain. Thanks Lady!

Room Tip: Old house, terrible service, avoid this kind of experiences seems to be a museum where you sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Our web-site states guests are received daily between 3-9 PM daily, only at other times by special arrangement. In this instance, it appears a travel agent accepted a reservation request but did not check with our inventory. The visitor thought they had a reservation when they did not. Apparently they arrived when everyone was asleep and all rooms filled. We were sold out for several days in a row. The City was hosting the National Debate Finalists competition for high school and middle school students. The bright young future of the Nation were in our midst along with their encouraging coaches and families. We would encourage this visitor, to make sure they have a reservation before arriving at a property. Even if they are holding a written reservation they need to check that it went through and the property is available. Some on-line reservation systems (not ours) does not check vacancies as they should when accepting a reservation which is a very disturbing experience for a visitor. We are sorry this happened to this guest of our City. Sheila Chaffin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

My husband (!!) and I stayed here two nights, April 11th and 12th. We were in town to see Phantom of the Opera and thought we'd give a B&B a try. It was beautiful. We got there and saw a note on the door saying to call Shelia for entrance, I called once and got no answer so I was a little worried about getting in. But the second time I called she answered and said she was out shopping. She gave me the code to the keypad to get in but she told me wrong so we ended up getting locked out and she said she wasn't sure how long it would take to reset. Luckily another guest came to the door and Shelia gave them permission to let us in; she told us where to find our keys and we headed to our room. We stayed in the zebra room which had its own porch and entrance, which we loved. The room was very nice and romantic, but the bed was not the most comfortable. We were also right below the kitchen, so you did not sleep in at all, once they got up and started breakfast you heard everything. The breakfast however, tasted great. The second morning we didn't come upstairs in time but Miss Shelia kept food set aside for us and it was heated up and served when we got up there. Parking was a huge issue, there is not many spaces and you sometimes might not get one, which was a huge worry because there is a business on one side and a police station on the other so there isn't anywhere else to park. Also my husband had emailed with Shelia before hand and requested roses in our room at check in, but we never got them so when we asked her she said the email must of went to her spam folder. He was disappointed, as he was trying to surprise me. But all in all we enjoyed it and would come again.

Room Tip: We booked the zebra room, had a private entrance. Def recommend.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

COBB LANE BB -- ZEBRA ROOM. We congratulate our Honeymooners on their new start in life. We are glad they enjoyed many things of their visit and concluded "all in all we enjoyed it and would come again". We did correspond with the husband about price of roses, he did not affirmatively say "yes" at the time of the exchange but did so afterward. Unfortunately, our computer interpreted it as spam and we did not see it in time. We apologized for that hick-up and roses were not charged. Regarding parking, the Inn has 7 guest rooms and 7 parking spaces, 1 per room per the City Zoning Ordinance. There are also street spaces out front with no meters. Thank you for coming, and most importantly, blessings on your household together. Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Wife and I snuck away for a day trip and wanted to try some place out of the ordinary hotel. Well, we found it. This place has an abundance of old-school charm. Between the fine china we are the full course breakfast off of, to the wonderful memorabilia of the times way back as they were in Birmingham, you can't go wrong. Each little room is decorated differently, so you could visit time and time again and have a different stay each time.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank coachelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the details that are offered in a Bed and Breakfast stay. You'll find each one you visit throughout the US and the World usually helps interpret history and life style of the region they are in. Our 1898 Victorian Mansion on the National Historic Registry takes pride in being the home of the President of the Iron Company during Birmingham's competitive edge race with Pittsburgh. Those who controlled Iron, Steel, Coal, Lumber and the Rail Road were the industrial giants of the South East United States. There are interesting details about the City and its people to explore while in our Region. Thank you for coming. Please come again when you are again in our area. Best Regards, Sheila Chaffin Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We arrived evening of 12th Feb at the wrong property, there are two, and our instructions took us to the wrong house which was locked. In due course a young lady arrived by car (the door bell obviously calls the other house) to guide us to the correct address. She was very helpful and friendly and to large extent made up for the initial frustration.
The building is, depending on your viewpoint, quirky and amusing or irritating. I found all the Victoriana bric-a-brac got in the way of simple functionality. But the following morning, attending breakfast at 8am promptly as directed, we were, being vegetarians, disappointed by the meager fare once the sausage was removed and breakfast coffee served in tiny fancy Victorian tea cups instead of a decent breakfast mug all very 'twee' but not a satisfying start to the day. This was then compounded by the bill, which is very expensive for what we had. If you are reading this proprietor, you really do owe it to your guests to make some improvements or cut the price to better reflect the package. As I said , a triumph of style over function. UK visitors will be familiar with John Cleese and 'Faulty Towers'

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit and felt it overpriced. With regard to comments about Victorian furnishings and fine china, we are proud of what we present of the Victorian Era which is rare in hospitality. It sounds like you would prefer modern décor and regular dishes of a regular hotel. Our rates are slightly below market in our City Center near a major Carnegie Mellon research University, the largest employer of the State, the Financial Center, and 5 Hospitals. Guests seek out our 2 Inns nightly because of its Victorian charm and fair pricing. We are the only 2 Bed and Breakfasts in the City and 7 County area. It is our policy that our guests be 100% pleased with their stay or else they may request a refund. Please identify yourself and we will be happy to extend this offer to you. Best Regards, Sheila Chaffin Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews