We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
56
29
15
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
29
15
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zebra room other guests five points formal dining room guest refrigerator victorian era dolls house red mountain sitting room another guest stayed here for two nights fresh fruit southern hospitality our room was spacious daniels shelia mansion
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Wife and I snuck away for a day trip and wanted to try some place out of the ordinary hotel. Well, we found it. This place has an abundance of old-school charm. Between the fine china we are the full course breakfast off of, to the wonderful memorabilia of the times way back as they were in Birmingham, you can't go wrong. Each little room is decorated differently, so you could visit time and time again and have a different stay each time.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank coachelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the details that are offered in a Bed and Breakfast stay. You'll find each one you visit throughout the US and the World usually helps interpret history and life style of the region they are in. Our 1898 Victorian Mansion on the National Historic Registry takes pride in being the home of the President of the Iron Company during Birmingham's competitive edge race with Pittsburgh. Those who controlled Iron, Steel, Coal, Lumber and the Rail Road were the industrial giants of the South East United States. There are interesting details about the City and its people to explore while in our Region. Thank you for coming. Please come again when you are again in our area. Best Regards, Sheila Chaffin Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We arrived evening of 12th Feb at the wrong property, there are two, and our instructions took us to the wrong house which was locked. In due course a young lady arrived by car (the door bell obviously calls the other house) to guide us to the correct address. She was very helpful and friendly and to large extent made up for the initial frustration.
The building is, depending on your viewpoint, quirky and amusing or irritating. I found all the Victoriana bric-a-brac got in the way of simple functionality. But the following morning, attending breakfast at 8am promptly as directed, we were, being vegetarians, disappointed by the meager fare once the sausage was removed and breakfast coffee served in tiny fancy Victorian tea cups instead of a decent breakfast mug all very 'twee' but not a satisfying start to the day. This was then compounded by the bill, which is very expensive for what we had. If you are reading this proprietor, you really do owe it to your guests to make some improvements or cut the price to better reflect the package. As I said , a triumph of style over function. UK visitors will be familiar with John Cleese and 'Faulty Towers'

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit and felt it overpriced. With regard to comments about Victorian furnishings and fine china, we are proud of what we present of the Victorian Era which is rare in hospitality. It sounds like you would prefer modern décor and regular dishes of a regular hotel. Our rates are slightly below market in our City Center near a major Carnegie Mellon research University, the largest employer of the State, the Financial Center, and 5 Hospitals. Guests seek out our 2 Inns nightly because of its Victorian charm and fair pricing. We are the only 2 Bed and Breakfasts in the City and 7 County area. It is our policy that our guests be 100% pleased with their stay or else they may request a refund. Please identify yourself and we will be happy to extend this offer to you. Best Regards, Sheila Chaffin Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Visiting my Mom, this looked like an interesting choice vs a traditional traveler's motel. It is a very attractive and quaint home on a byway off 20th Street in Five Points - just at the base of Red Mountain below Vulcan's statue. Greeted at the door by owner/operator with warmth and charm. Lovely old school decor throughout. Nice porch for outdoor lounging. My room on the first floor was impeccable, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is included ( eggs, bacon, fruit, croissants - all yummy) and it was fun to sit with a dozen other travelers and hear of their journeys. Parking a breeze on property. A very nice change of pace and I will definitely visit again

Room Tip: I loved the Camellia room as a single traveler,
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allerton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB -- VICTORIAN CHAMBER ROOM. We enjoyed this guest very much. It is an interesting experience to stop our rapid pace of modern living and enjoy a large old fashion wrap around Victorian porch. You can people watch, read a book, listen to music, have a private uninterrupted conversation or perhaps sip wine while watching the sunset. Breakfasts are usually filled with travel tips from experienced savy travelers, narrations of new experiences enjoyed in Birmingham, or descriptions of where guests are heading next. Often other guests know about that next destination and offer helpful suggestions. We enjoy meeting and learning from our guests each day. Please come again when you come to visit your family. Thank you for coming! Sheila Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Let's start with the positives; a lovely house in a good location close to Vulcan park with lots of places to eat in walking distance. There is on street parking plus some spaces to the rear of the property. There is a police station opposite the B&B. The room was clean. However, our experience was perhaps the worst we have experienced at any hotel or B&B anywhere in the world and, had we now already paid for our stay, we would have looked for alternative accommodation. We arrived around an hour earlier than the stated checking in time and were prepared for the room to perhaps not be ready. This would not have been a problem as we could have gone for a walk. When we arrived at the front door there was a notice with a number to call the proprietor. We tried to call the number from our UK cell phone but it would not connect so we knocked on the door. The housekeeper answered and we explained the situation. The housekeeper was in fact the only positive part of our experience; she was helpful and friendly. She very kindly called the proprietor on our behalf and things then went downhill very quickly. My husband spoke first to the proprietor and a strange game of find the room key in the front room of the main house followed with him being spoken to like he was a naughty child. When it came to breakfast arrangements and the fact that I am vegetarian, he handed the phone to me and I got the same incredibly rude treatment. During my brief conversation with her, she once remarked "that was not the question". She also asked me what I eat for breakfast at home. I was on holiday and part of that experience is to eat the local cuisine. This also begs the question whether this place is geared up for vegetarian travellers. The treatment I received as a paying customer upset me and there was no way that I was going to endure breakfast here as I could not face any further such treatment. After an evening in a very cold room (even with the heat dish on full), we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with good service in a local restaurant. This will probably be our only trip to Birmingham, AL so it's a shame that the experience at the B&B was not better.

Room Tip: One in the main house.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandyPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

This is the 2nd review with same content frhhom this same guest couple. They arrived early and wanted occupancy, didn't abide by our entry policies. Our housekeeper saw them at the front door and does not greet guests. They did not have a US cell phone but an international one. She loaned them phone to call me. I was shopping for groceries. I agreed they could enter and toured them by phone as best I could. In the dining room they said they were vegetarian and gluten and lactose intolerant. They asked what we were having for breakfast, and it wasn't what they could eat. I asked what would they like and we would prepare it. No answer given. I asked what do they usually eat at home and we'll try to do that. Again no answer given. I replied we'll then prepare what we would usually prepare for that menu request. No answer. We arranged early entry to their room and said we'll see you later today or at breakfast. We prepared the vegetarian-no gluten-no lactose recipes we have made in the past. The other 14 guests enjoyed their breakfast and these guests did not show up to eat theirs or to socialize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We stayed here as a stopover going to and returning from New Orleans. The first stay we did not see the owner or any staff until the following morning. The second stay we never saw the owner. The young woman who served breakfast both mornings was not friendly. She almost seemed afraid of the guests. Amenities that we have come to expect at other B&B's were missing. The place needed to be dusted. The bath mat on our first visit was dirty. Our room had no extra towels or tissues or soap. The toilet paper was very thin. The sheets and blanket on the bed were short. No coffee or tea was available until breakfast at 8am. Customer service and general house cleaning were definitely lacking. So, why would someone want to stay here? There is free, off street parking. It is convenient to the hospital and the college. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. The house is lovely. Frankly, I was surprised at all of the positive reviews. Maybe the innkeeper was dealing with an issue not communicated to us?

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minerva55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I was unable to join you at breakfast and other times you mentioned due to a situation that developed. Another substituted. Please call me at 205-918-9090 so that I may give you a free return night stay so you can experience the magic that others have experienced. Staying in a National Historic Registered property that is now a Bed and Breakfast allows its restoration to be funded rather than the Mansion be destroyed, as occurred to most other Mansions in the neighborhood and across the country. We appreciate you and our guests very much. THANK YOU. Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews