We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hostel, poor customer service/hospitality”

Cather of The Light Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cather of The Light Youth Hostel
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I only stayed here one night for a stop over so my review is based on this.

This hostel worked and was not bad, bad as usual with most Chinese hostels and Chinese tourists, they do not understand customer service/hospitality.

The main thing that I do not understand about a hostel calling itself an international hostel, is how often in China these places only speak Mandarin, and this place is a perfect example of this. Only Mandarin is spoken here with a few words of English.

The thing that gives this hostel 2 stars instead of 3, which I would give a place I stayed just for a stopover, aside from the only Mandarin speaking, is the guests. While the type of guests can't be controlled, working on having the guests keep it down after a certain time of night is needed. I had guests come in my dorm at 12 at night, when I was trying to get to sleep. They turned on the lights and were very loud. I had to press them many times that it is late, I ave to be up early, thus I want to sleep. Most hostels outside of China or the good Chinese ones have a policy of keeping it down or going to the common room after 10 or 11 at night. After getting the main guests to keep it quiet, 2 guys took a shower and were incredibly loud there too. Granted throughout all this, I had ear plugs and a facemask.

Internet was also very bad. I constantly had trouble with any website and yes, I do have a vpn, thus I'm aware of the issues having to do with that. This is the other reason for 2 stars.

The rooms were fairly clean and offer lockers. I was happy with this

Also, the location is not great. It didn't seem to bad though at the hostel. There was a pool table and they offered food, but I can't comment on this since I just wanted a place to sleep and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlylekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2015

Overall we had a great stay at Catcher of the Light hostel. Firstly let me say that the hostel is in a very confusing location! The address and map on hostelworld (and the sign on the building!) are incorrect. The hostel is located on the same street as the map but far further down the street on the opposite side. The address is actually number 72 Fushang road, not number 73. Number 73 is actually a restaurant that is about 150 meters from the location. From number 73, you need to continue walking along Fushang road (away from the station), past the traffic lights, until you reach an alley with a sign for the hostel on the right hand side. I have attached a picture of the alley. In any case, we called the hostel and one of the staff kindly came to pick us up from where we were.

We stayed at the Hostel for two nights either side of our overnight trip to Huangshan. The staff at the hostel were very friendly and were eager to provide useful information and maps of the mountain. The room was spacious end it is a great common area with a bar, pool table and two cute cats. We were able to leave our luggage in the lock up room while we were on the mountain (free of charge). The location is also excellent and conveniently located from the train station (once we were able to find it!!). Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc_Liege177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 1 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
49.6 km away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 486 in Huangshan
273 reviews
49.5 km away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 486 in Huangshan
377 reviews
0.0 km away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#160 of 486 in Huangshan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
0.9 km away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#2 of 486 in Huangshan
62 reviews
49.7 km away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#77 of 486 in Huangshan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cather of The Light Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cather of The Light Youth Hostel

Address: No.73 Fushang Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan 242700, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Huangshan
Price Range: ₹ 848 - ₹ 1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time doesn't matter, we will always be on the road as long there is light. HuangShan Catcher of Light Youth Hostel is located in No.73 Fushang Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan City, near the Huangshan Shoukang Hospital. The hostel is located in a small courtyard in Huangshan City with an elegant and quiet environment. The hostel is 1000 meters from the railway station, about 15 minutes walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Cather of The Light Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing