We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 113
US$ 74
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 40
US$ 36
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 148
US$ 68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Xiangming Hotel(Huangshan)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Xihai Hotel(Huangshan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aisen Hotel(Huangshan)
Trip.com
View Deal
Aiwen Hostel(Huangshan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
54
31
9
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
31
9
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Cheap hostel and perfect location in the old town. However, some of the staff were very rude. We met two different girls in the reception desk that spoke good English but they were totally unwilling to help us. We felt that we bothered them each time we asked a question (one of them would'nt look up from her phone while talking to us). We gave up after a day and figured out everything by our own. This is the reason behind our 3/5 grade. The night-receptionist and the chef couldn't speak English but they were much nicer and more helpful!
It was very cold (november) in the common areas but we had a good night sleep since the AC worked perfectly. You can't expect much for the price we payed.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Nice quite night's sleep (though the hostel felt empty). Wifi worked better than at most hostels in China. Our room had a mouldy smell and some floor boards under the carpet-tiles were breaking through. The place needs a renovation. We were happy to find that the hostel accepts credit cards.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeremyBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Hostel is located in the centre of old street in the city, very convenient for a stopover if you are preparing to go to huangshan on the next day. You can check out in the morning and leave you luggage with the counter, they are very friendly and helpful. Hostel rooms are standard but showering facilities are very clean and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deldara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Ancient Town Youth Hostel was really comfortable, with an outdoor under cover smoking area and a "games area" on the 3rd floor, and a fabulous funky little bar on the ground floor! Smooth tunes and smooth Rum made us all feel VERY comfortable. Roasted peanuts were a nice bar snack surprise! The food here was also really good for a western comfort food break.
Enough about the bar...the Hostel is conveniently located just off Old Street amongst the overpriced markets. There are also multiple restaurants to choose from in the area and buses up the mountain and to Hangcun are easy to catch from here.
Two of my travel buddies were busting for a massage after hiking all over China and were recommended a fabulous "famous" therapist. Believe me, these two know a good massage, and this one did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireneec716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

As central to atmospheric albeit touristy Old Street as you'll get. Chilled out common area on 3rd floor, indoors and out; ping-pong, pool tables there too; dorms comfy enough, balconies. Staff are lovely. After climbing the Mountain, missed last bus back from Tangkou (4.30pm not 5.30), they just released the night I'd booked and carried it forward to the following night. A bland but cheap YHI in Tangkou, so no great shakes. They can save you a bit on entrance fees, but book the night before.

However, here's a caveat. After staying a few nights more I asked pertinent questions re the many sights in the area (e.g. Hangcun, Bamboo Forest - both of Crouching Tiger fame) and the practicalities of getting there and back. One can forgive a few lapses in correct info, and I passed on accurate times of last bus back, that the bus doesn't allow you to combine sites etc, so that future folk are not misled. However, this did not appear to have been taken on board. Next morning another guest was given the same old guff last bus time back from Tangkou. Not just unhelpful: not good enough, and someone else is going to end up unnecessarily stranded. I noted a whole catalogue of misdirection and misinformation. I hate to be overharsh, as the staff come across as nice people, but dealing with customers often seems come second, an interruption, to counting the money and endlessly logging the records in a large accounts book. I felt I was tiptoeing into an auditor's office rather than a hostel reception. This impression is offputting and needs to be addressed. So: rant over. Everything else was hunky-dory.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadeeyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews