We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
78
79
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
79
19
7
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

Very nice! Close to the beach, only three blocks away.
Clean, comfortable and has a nice swimming pool. A good get away for a romantic week end. I'd also recommended if you wanna take your kids.
The room service is ok. The prices on the menu are a little bit higher for what you get.

Date of stay: December 2014
Thank PedroC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

Overall this hotel is very nice and I would recommend it to my friends. We went with my extended family and kids to spend the holidays at the beach. It is located a couple blocks from a beautiful beach with convenient food kiosks all along it. The hotel provides a great breakfast and has a full kitchen for snacks, lunch and dinner. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool and a little indoor pool that is actually very nice for the nights - my kids enjoyed it a lot. The staff was also very polite and helpful.

Date of stay: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILENADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

I was there with my 2 kids, one is 4 y.o. And the little one is 4 m.o. The hotel looks nice and is well maintained, at least outside. There is always some on watering the plants or cleaning the floor. Maybe I was extremely unlucky, but the room they assigned to me and my kids had some points for improvement, like: the shower was constantly leaking, as well as the tap in the sink. This is a waste of water and is also annoying. One of the cleaners called their handyman and he was only shanking his head like nothing could be done. The balcony of my room (they advertise all the rooms have balcony) faces a wall... The tv got broken and could not be fixed.
In addition to that, I think that they miss some procedures in many cases. They say that they can warm the bottles for babies, but this can only happen if I would bring the bottles to the reception... It's horrible, because I could not leave the kids in their pijamas in the room and go down to get the bottles warm! Sometimes one or another employee would offer to take the bottles in my room and warm them, but always warning me that this was not their job. Actually, I had several examples like this, of they saying they would make me an exception, which is awful since you are always dependsnt of their good will, or not! The hotel is extremely noisy in the evenings up to the night and it's far away from any kind of shops and supermarkets.
Talking about good points: it's not do far from the beach, the breakfast is great with many options and all fresh, the swimming pools are nice and the food is good also in the pool bar.

Room tip: They are noisy everywhere, so don't worry about getting a room in the first floor and paying more for it. And for sure say that you don't want room 20, it's awful.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Simone0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I spent four days, three nights, at the Hotel Costa Balena in Guaruja in April 2013. It was a great experience! The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful in orienting us around Guaruja and serving our needs in the Hotel. Despite a language barrier (I only speak English and Spanish) it went superb. The hotel is homey, quiet, clean, modern, and has a great stretch of beach a short walk away. The rooms are spacious and with great air conditioning, television (with limited cable), and a great bathroom. They directed us to a beach club near there for food and beach amenities. The daily breakfast was a feast, with great variety and taste. Although it was not easy for us to get there from Sao Paulo (some friends took us and picked us up) - almost two hours - it was WELL WORTH the drive. I would go back to Guaruja if I had the opportunity I definitely would return to Hotel Costa Balena.

Room tip: We had a second floor room, and it was nice. Although we faced the street, there was little noise.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PayoPayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room tip: Os quartos com varandas são sensacionais!!!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews