We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teton Teepee Lodge(Alta)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Targhee Resort(Alta)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Driggs(Driggs)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 166
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teton West Motel(Driggs)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 177
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teton Springs Lodge and Spa(Victor)(Great Value!)
US$ 359
US$ 323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 3,445
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$ 508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhof Lodge(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$ 408
US$ 369
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
5
9
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
9
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnicer accommodationsboot dryerbunk bedsgrand targheeski hillsioux lodgehdmiloftdriggssnorkelsmicrowavefloorslopesidetv
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We stayed in a 4th floor loft and it was incredibly relaxing. Just a few steps from the hill (plus 3 flights of stairs) and you could stretch out in a large living area with a dinning table that 4 could comfortably sit around, make sandwiches from the fridge, take your boots off (boot dryer included) and prepare for returning to the glorious slopes that are Grand Targhee.
The two bunk beds in the alcove are a little cramped but very comfortable. The queen in the loft has a lot of room and great views.

Room Tip: The Lofts are very large by hotel standards and if you want a simple lunch or breakfast in your room, you have plenty of space.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stay at the Sioux Lodge for location. You can ski right up to the unit, pop off your skis, put them in the handy outdoor storage closet and you're home. Very convenient if you prefer to eat your own lunch rather than lunch at one of the restaurants on the property.

We've stayed at the Sioux Lodge several times over the years. Usually we stay in one of the loft units, but on this most recent visit we stayed in the larger units that sleeps 10. "Larger" may be a bit of a misstatement in that the unit does not necessarily have greater square footage, but it does have more beds. The rooms are rustic in decor and basic in furnishing. Clearly the idea is that the units are just a place to lay your head after a hard day of skiing, hiking or biking.

On our latest stay we booked for 4 nights the week between Christmas and New Years and obviously paid a premium. For just under $3k we got the unit--and that's it. In prior years when we booked non-peak, there was better value and amenities thrown into the deal, like discounted lift tickets, kids eat free with a paying adult, etc. None of that this time, although we were told the time of booking in October that our two 10 year olds would ski free. I should have known better and gotten that in writing, since we ended up having to buy them full-price tickets once here.

As far as the unit itself is concerned, there are a few things to note.
1) There is no thermostat for the bedrooms. The unit is heated by electric baseboard heaters that make loud popping sounds whenever they kick on, especially in the bedrooms. The individual controls for each heater did not work in our unit. The heaters are effective and on several nights we were too warm. When we arrived we noticed a draft in the bedroom and noticed that the window was open--apparently that is how you regulate temperature.
2) Cooking is not permitted in the units. You specifically acknowledge that prohibition when you check in; however, this latest unit was not only furnished with a coffeemaker, toaster and convection microwave, but cooking utensils, a two-burner hot plate and pots and pans. A stop at Broulims in Driggs before heading up the mountain is a must for cold cereal, bagels and powerbars.
3) You're not at Targhee to watch TV, but if you want to catch the local weather or national news, there is a TV with standard-definition over the air and cable channels. The TV has no HDMI ports.
4) WiFi service is stable.
5) The room is furnished with a great glove/boot dryer.
6) In the loft units there is a full bed in the loft, two twin bunk beds and a sofa. In our sleeps-10 unit, there are 2 rooms in the basement, one with 4 bunk beds and one with a full. The two rooms each have a single very small window that serves to regulate temperature--but are also apparently the secondary means of egress for those sleeping areas. On the main level there is a full murphy bed and a full sofa sleeper.
7) The linens on the beds are provided and are soft and comfortable.
8) The bathrooms are basic. The loft units have one full bath; the sleeps-10 unit has one full and one half bath. Standard shampoo and body lotion are provided and housekeeping does a great job keeping the room and towels refreshed.
9) The hot tub and heated saltwater pool are a 100 meter walk from the units. There are towels and changing rooms at the pool. Don't forget your room key to access them.
10) There is a "fitness cabin" located next to the pool, reportedly with a small selection of the usual fitness equipment. Despite regular hours being posted in the room information pamphlet and on the door of the fitness cabin itself, we were not able to access the fitness center.

When we ski Targhee we will probably come back and stay at Sioux--but not likely during the peak periods. If you can find a deal on the rooms, take it. The Sioux Lodge rooms are convenient, but expensive.

Room Tip: ground-floor rooms (2xx) are ground-level and easiest to access with ski boots.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

It may be a bit out of the way, but the view of the Tetons can not be surpassed. The resort itself has a decent restaurant but the accommodations are just average. However, if you are going to be involved with the great outdoors, you can't find a better place to plan your Teton adventure in the summer.

Room Tip: Sioux Lodge is actually a small condo.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 16retiredandlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Unfortunately I would not rate the Sioux Lodge very high. The studio apt 266 had no cups, plates, silverware for even a bowl of cereal in the morning. A microwave, refrigerator and one cup coffee maker were in the room. For $259 a night we found it to be very expensive, noisy, and have had better amenities in a hotel room. Skiing was great but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: No Verizon service in studio 266
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This review is from a "vacationing" mom's perspective
Lots of reviews have described the great snow at Targhee and the accommodations at Sioux Lodge which is just a short walk to the lifts and base lodge. The outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi are a real bonus and a great way to end the day. The staff at the resort are accommodating and friendly. We recommend the Sioux Lodge suites since they have a small bunkbed in an alcove along with a mini fridge and microwave along with a coffeemaker. This is handy for our family because we like to get back to the room for lunchtime to relax and dry out. After four visits of flying in from the East Coast, I have learned some "tricks" to make our Targhee stay more pleasant and convenient and thought I would share them for those in similar situations.
1. On our way from the airport, we stop at a discount store to pick up china mugs, silverware , paper plates and bowls, paper towels and napkins, an ice cube tray, aluminum foil and a paring knife.
2. Driggs is the closest town (20 min) before you climb to the resort. Since the resort has only a tiny bare bones grocery store, we stop at Broulim's supermarket which is right on Main Street and get perishables like milk, cheese ,fruit, sandwich fixings (don't forget the mayo and lettuce) and staples like cereal, microwave popcorn and snacks. They have a nice deli and cooked food department. This is also a good opportunity to stock up on your beverage supplies.Help support the local economy!
3. Dining: There are only two places to have dinner on the mountain. We usually have burgers, chili, salad etc at the Trap Bar .The Branding Iron is a more traditional diningroom with a nice fireplace and views of the mountain. They have great steaks, and their fish platters are wonderfully prepared. When we go down to Driggs for dinner, we like Seoul , a Korean restaurant on Main Street. Very tasty dishes and attentive service. Earlier trip advisor reviews will describe the best dishes. Our favorites are the bulgogi and jap chae dishes; enough to share and take home. It is a child friendly place. And this sounds so "unvacationlike" to mention ....Seoul is next to a very tidy laundromat , the Extra Sock, so you can multi task while you're having dinner.
4. If you decide you want a break from skiing , I highly recommend a day trip to the Natl. Elk Refuge sleigh ride in Jackson Hole. Their website gives lots of info. Worth the trip as long as it's not snowing hard.



Stayed: February 2016
Thank Beckysmom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews