We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome for three years in a row” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockin' M Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockin' M Ranch
Creedmoor, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome for three years in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have come back every summer for three years. The cabins are clean, comfortable and homey. The hosts cannot be nicer. We arrived with some logistical problems, and Rob and Jamie worked them out for us. We could not have had a better stay. We were there for a week, and will be back next summer. For the price, it is the best value we have found. As for the guest with the mosquito problem, you are next to a river, in Wyoming, in the summer, and mosquitos are just part of the ecosystem. We had no problem beyond what we see in other summer resort areas. Come to Rockin' M and have a great family vacation!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We'll, it started off okay until the mosecitos took over. The cabins were beautiful and clean, the ranch seemed nice enough. Cant say the same about the owners, who were not present the first day to greet their guest. We met the wrangler who was just as nice as they come. The ranch was surrounded by swamp like ground, the salt river was pretty. I wish we were warned about the bugs. We had to stay in our cabin at night and couldn't even walk the grounds without a can of "Off Spray" on us, to keep the mosecitos away from us. The owners didn't come to check on us until the night we were leaving. This was not a "Dude Ranch" by far, more like Swamp Land. Poor customer service for their guest. Pick somewhere else to stay. Couch bed was horribly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockinmranch, Owner at Rockin' M Ranch, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank You for your honesty and positive comments you made in regards to the cabins beauty, cleanliness, and your satisfaction with "wrangler" Joe and the Horse Ride. I wish you had given us a chance to make your stay more comfortable regarding the sofa sleeper. We answer our phones at all hours of the day and night and would have been more than happy to have brought you a mattress topper for the bed. When I stopped by later to offer the topper you refused to take it. As for giving us a 1 star rating on our service, I believe you may have been a bit confused to the type of facility that you were staying at. You referred to us as a dude ranch, which is typically full service (all- inclusive) operation providing you with recreation and entertainment. We are not a dude ranch but a cabin rental business that happens to offer many extra activities onsite including fishing, horseback rides, lake trips, etc. (for an additional charge) that a dude ranch may offer, but for a fraction of the price of a typical dude ranch. My wife and I try to give as much free advice to guests of the ranch in regards to activities, places to hike, eat and recreate. We are Sorry if the service was not up to your expectations. We typically try to meet and greet all of our guests in person when possible. Jamie's (my wife) father of 63 just lost his battle with colon cancer in early July, therefore we had to have our employee and Horse Wrangler "Joe" help with the greeting of our guests while we were dealing with funeral arrangements and visiting family. Joe checked in with you the day you arrived, took you on a horse ride the next day, and I then personally check with you the next day, you then checked out the following morning. As for the mosquitos, yes they were a bit worse this July than in a normal year. We had a near record water year of which we have not seen since 1997. Typically the mosquitos come out the hour before dark, but this year there were a few more around in the mid-day than normal. Bugspray is a good idea to keep around while participating in any activity in Western Wyoming. We hope to not have that bad of a mosquito year for another 15 years if we are lucky. We value everyones opinion and hope that my response gave some clarity and understaing to this review. We look forward to your stay!
Thanks for you interest,
Rob and Jamie Meikle (owners Rockin' M Ranch and Cabin Rentals)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We booked a snowmobile tour through Rocking M Ranch - the service was amazing - great owners - treated us very well - we are looking to plan our summer trip and stay there at the Rocking M this summer - we cannot wait.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christijenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed here for 1 week during our trip to Wyoming during December 2010..we selected this place from our online searches..
We stayed in couples cabins and the cabin was beautiful, main thing it was clean.better than any upscale hotel chains we have stayed in..
The decor was very nice..and cosy
this place probably is busier during summer than winter..which didnt bother us..

Suggestions:
- Maybe a small TV in the bedroom would be great in couples cabin..
- Wireless internet could be improved..sounds like streaming media was pretty much blocked..we couldnt stream more than 2 mins of media..

Overall a great place to stay, we are thinking of visiting Wyoming in summer to see the difference between summer and winter..maybe stay here...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RahaVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed here a few days just a week ago and had a great time. The log couples cabin, built by the owners, was very nice and comfy...except the sofa which will be upgraded soon according to Rob. He's also a fishing, hunting, trail ride and snowmobile guide. I went fishing with Rob and he taught me the rudiments of fly fishing on the Salt River which runs through the ranch. I caught cutthroat and white fish pretty steady all day and lost a whopper trout that was foul hooked. I was a bit early for the Brown Trout run which must be mass fun. Hope to fly in for that next year. The access to the Grand Tetons and Jackson is about 40 minutes and follows the Snake River. The morning drives were spectacular as we hit an unusual warm, sunny stretch of incredible fall weather. You can't go wrong, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
21.0 km away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.0 km away
Flying Saddle Resort
Flying Saddle Resort
#1 of 3 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
35.6 km away
Snake River Park KOA and Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockin' M Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockin' M Ranch

Property: Rockin' M Ranch
Address: PO Box 3576, Alpine, WY 83128-0576
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alpine
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockin' M is seven beautiful deluxe cabins located on the banks of the Salt River. We are located 4 miles south from Alpine, Wyoming and 39 miles South West from Jackson Hole Wyoming. All cabins have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces, gas grill, covered front deck, flat sreen T.V.S with direct T.V. And wifi. There are two centrally located hot tubs and many outdoor activities available onsite including fly fishing, horseback rides, and float trips. Other amaenities are horseshoe pits and a fire pit. Rockin' M is not just a place to stay but a genuine western wyoming experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing