We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect !”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Terrace
Kitchen
Living Room
Terrace
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Terrace
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Entrance
Terrace
Grounds
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Aïcha-Aga...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect ! ”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed in this paradise house for 10 days in April 2016! Romantic, poetic it's simply the best way to understand Rio de Janeiro in all her beauties and complexities! The owner will help you with the best tips! She speaks a perfect English and lives in Rio for more than 15 years. The house is very comfortable and well decorated with one of the best view of your life : cristo redentor! The bus is 1 min walk from home and will bring you to the center of Rio in 20 minutes. Don't miss this opportunity it's unique!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Live like a local on Rio's stunning throne”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Once you get through the gate, there is no way of not falling in love with the place. A romantic stairway leads you with the music of exotic birds in your ears through jungle leafs to the appartment. You're on Rio's throne here : under the left arm of the Corcovado, the city is buzzing under your feet and right before your eyes the stunning view over green mountains ! The owner, Marjon is your angel up here in the peacefull hills : she makes you feel living like a local and she knows Rio like no other : she helped me out, whatever I wanted to know. This was my first time in Rio and I could not have imagened a better introduction. If you want to live and feel this amazing city, go and meet Marjon. I will definetly return, it's the only thing I can think of, now I am back home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a package : Marjons hospitality and living like a Carioca (a local) !
Liked least: Eh really dunno
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
1 review
“Peaceful mountain retreat with easy access to all of Rio”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We spent a week in this beautiful spot watching monkeys in the trees next to our balcony, with Cristo Redentor presiding over the scene. It was a great choice for us because although we wanted to experience many different facets of Rio during the day, we knew we wanted to return to a quiet place in the evenings--something that felt a bit more remote than the hotels near the beach, for example. And despite the apartment's remove from busy parts of Rio, it was really easy to get all over the city from Marjon's place by bus or by taxi. It was also a pleasure getting to know Marjon herself--not only did she help us a great deal with logistical (and tourist) advice and suggestions, we very much enjoyed talking to her about Rio, Brazil, other countries around the world, and life in general. We also loved visiting Marjon's canine and feline roommates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aratinga...
Ilha Grande
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Haven of Peace and Privacy”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

"Top of the World" is a really, incredibly special place.
I came here looking for much needed rest and recuperation after a small stay in hospital.
It was the perfect choice, with calmness, lots of greenery and a spectacular view of our beloved "Christo" looking down on me every day :-) It's not a place for families or for people wanting to step out the door at night and be in the midst of Rio's nightlife. If you really want to know about the Colonial history in Rio, then I recommend "Top of the World" unreservedly.
Oh, by the way, if you don't like dogs or cats, think again, as "Top of the World" is a sanctuary for many of Rio's abandoned pets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you so much! Always welcome back to my garden with 7 cats and 2 dogs :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritHott...
2 reviews
“Great house (stylish, cosy and a magificent view) and great host!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Marjon gave us a warm welcome with a´cerveja estupidamente gelada´ late at night! At night the view was alreay magnificent (enlightened Corcovado), with daylight the view was also more than spectacular. Rio at your feet. Marjon has a great taste for decoration: the appartment is beautifully furnished, cosy and the ligthning is very tastefull. The most beautifull app we´ve stayed in up till know!

Marjon knows all the ins and out´s of Rio and she is more than willing to share this knowlegde. Several busses stop in front of the door and will connect you also to the metro network. For those who want to dive into Rio, and who love to enjoy some tranquility as well during a city trip in this amazing town, the appartment of Marjon is the place to be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifull cosiness with great view and great host!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing