We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“quirky place with lovely views”
other travellers have booked this property
open kitchen in the jungle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
open kitchen in the jungle
The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
open kitchen in the jungle
The Master Bedroom
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Second bedroom.
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Terrace
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Grounds
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gary H
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quirky place with lovely views”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hold on to your hats as you join the locals on a bus ride over the cobblestones and up the mountain to get to marjons place. There awaits a quirky place with lovely views especially of the Christ statue. A narrow spiral staircase takes you up to a lovely bedroom with even better views. We had expected a near proximity to a bohemian style village with craft shops and cafes but we did not find any. Marjon made us feel most welcome.

Liked best: the view was lovely
Liked least: my 74 year old husband was concerned using the spiral staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Haha. I had to look 'quirky' up in the dictionary. It means: original, eccentric. Yes, that it is! The Bohemian village is 3 busstops away!
Anyone you doesn't like exitement of the bus, can also go to and from the house with the languid (and chaep) Rio taxi's :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yumantic
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views within the largest urban forest in the world!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I were very warmly greeted by the owner Marjon who even stocked our fridge with a few things upon arrival. Marjon is incredibly lively, open and fun. She explained to us how we can get around as well as the best sites and restos. Arty House in Santa Teresa is outstanding because it is located in Tijuca National Park, the largest urban forest in the world! In the early morning if you get up with some coffee you can see monkeys eating berries on the trees just outside the balcony as well as humming birds and toucans. The drawback is that it may be a bit far from some of the action. We ended up using Uber to get around 99% of the time which made travel incredibly easy and used the bus that passes every 3 mins or so just a few times. The apartment and views are better than the photos with the statue of Christ the Redeemer. We had a great time relaxing in the hammocks, drinking wine and listening to music.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss_Pant...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury Respite in the Santa Theresa Jungle”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed in some pretty spectacular locations around the world, but this apartment, takes the cake. I was on holiday with my best friend, first time to Rio...we originally thought we wanted to be down near Ipanema Beach, near the action...and I am so glad we did not! Marjon's estate is literally a paradise. From the moment you step through the secure gated wall...down the garden steps and then you're breath gets knocked out of you by the unreal view of the Santa Theresa hills below, and Cristo Redentor above on the mountain. The apartment is stunning, the furnishings are custom, the kittens and dogs are mellow and like to say hello...and Marjon is a spectacularly brilliant woman with a fascinating life story...she's a kindred spirit and I am so pleased to get to know her! She's a busy woman and mostly keeps to herself, but if you need her help or advice she is very prompt! I felt I could self-sustain at this apartment. Santa Theresa gets a bad rapt from the old days, now it's a fairly affluent neighborhood. The location felt super safe, was super quiet, the apartment is right off 3 major bus lines, which are easy to take (cash) Taxis can be called, and the village is minutes away with incredible restaurants and charming nightlife. We hung around Santa Theresa and the apartment as much as we did inside Rio's hotspots.This place is respite. I've already booked my next stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliJoanne...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views from high in the hills. Super friendly host.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Marjon is a really welcoming and friendly host.
The house is in Santa Teresa, which I loved for its quiet, it's vegetation, monkeys and its high views. It's a little taxi ride though.
The top bedroom is incredible... Light, airy, romantic and with awesome views. Room two is more functional but works fine.
Lovely open kitchen with hammocks and lovely balcony off the top bedroom.
Highly recommended.
:-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy P
1 review
“Amazing views and great location.”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great place with amazing view's in the perfect area for enjoying the eclectic side of night life in Rio or easy transport to other areas for more commen tourist attractions. Welcomed with a traditional Rio drink with time to discuss 'how to get around' our host was extremely helpful and when things went astray with transport it was graciously sorted out with her help. Fantastic stay, great place, highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing