We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
76
35
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
35
7
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel (it is a hotel not a pousada) is great.
Just a block away from were you can take the bus to the city center, a few blocks from the "bobdy" (tram) and 3 blocks from lots of different bars and restaurants.
Be aware that it is in a hill so to go around you will be hiking up or down.
The room was huge and perfectly arranged with a mini bar and mini kitchen (no stove there), all very clean.
The best part of the hotel are the common areas... Charming!!! You will want to stay there instead to go to the busy city center. It has a great kitchen, there are drinks and pizza to buy, hammocks, etc.
we loved our stay there and regret that it was a short one.
Will be back

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GabyDv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Beautiful historic house that reflects Santa Teresa: bohemian and full of art. Well located on a lit up street a short walk from everything, a large common space with hammocks to relax in, sculptures everywhere, a kitchen for common use. The staff was friendly and helpful, gave us some good tips to enjoy rio night life (basically avoid the tourist traps recommended by lonely planet and just enjoy roaming the streets of Santa Teresa and lapa where there are always things going on). One downside: we booked the cheapest room and it was a bit dirty when we arrived, perhaps just because it's and old building so walls crumble a bit (!), plus the bathrooms could do with an upgrade- they don't reflect how much love and energy has gone into the living room and feel more like a hostel. Still would definitely recommend, very atmospheric.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahmarsh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

True story: We found and booked this Pousada at the last minute, after growing tired of the very upscale accommodations at the Rio Sheraton. We wanted to feel once again like we were in a more unique to Brazil type of place and were very happy to stay at Casa Aurea. The place is a former colonial home and you could still feel the homey-ness in the decor and layout. The hosts were very welcoming even with our last minute arrival, we loved the hammocks outside our window. The breakfast was tasty, the staff very helpful, the surrounding neighbor perfect for walking and exploring. My son stayed on a few more nights after I had to depart and I wish we were both still there!!

Room tip: Courtyard facing rooms have windows that open to view of hammocks and garden.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelanieChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Manager at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

We loved having you over! Thanks for sharing your experience. We'll be waitting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Hello all,

I really enjoyed the ambiance and the service. Great place, great people and great ambiance. the location in St Theresa is of the beaten track, full of character. So much better then boring standard hotels.

Hans

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hansbolscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thank for review Hans and thanks for all the tips and appreciations you gave us while you where here.
We are happy that you had a good time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Very very nice, clean and intresting place to stay, great location in Santa teresa.
The rooms are clean and very nice. the stuff is great and very helpfull.
15 min in Taxi from the main attraction of the city.
stuff speakes

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nitsan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thanks for your review Nitsan and congratulations for the lovely family you have, you filled with love our Pousada.
you are always welcome, beijos para todos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews