We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place in Santa Teresa, Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Ranked #50 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Excellent location: at the same time quiet and close to good restaurants and not far from Centro, metro..... Charming place with a relaxed atmosphere. The garden and the common room is joined together with nice places to relax and have a chat with other guests or the very helpful hosts. You may also enjoy the free coffee and access to the kitchen. We will surely return to this place one day.
Niels and Torill

Room Tip: Take a room with a view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Niels M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel (it is a hotel not a pousada) is great.
Just a block away from were you can take the bus to the city center, a few blocks from the "bobdy" (tram) and 3 blocks from lots of different bars and restaurants.
Be aware that it is in a hill so to go around you will be hiking up or down.
The room was huge and perfectly arranged with a mini bar and mini kitchen (no stove there), all very clean.
The best part of the hotel are the common areas... Charming!!! You will want to stay there instead to go to the busy city center. It has a great kitchen, there are drinks and pizza to buy, hammocks, etc.
we loved our stay there and regret that it was a short one.
Will be back

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank GabyDv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Beautiful historic house that reflects Santa Teresa: bohemian and full of art. Well located on a lit up street a short walk from everything, a large common space with hammocks to relax in, sculptures everywhere, a kitchen for common use. The staff was friendly and helpful, gave us some good tips to enjoy rio night life (basically avoid the tourist traps recommended by lonely planet and just enjoy roaming the streets of Santa Teresa and lapa where there are always things going on). One downside: we booked the cheapest room and it was a bit dirty when we arrived, perhaps just because it's and old building so walls crumble a bit (!), plus the bathrooms could do with an upgrade- they don't reflect how much love and energy has gone into the living room and feel more like a hostel. Still would definitely recommend, very atmospheric.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahmarsh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

True story: We found and booked this Pousada at the last minute, after growing tired of the very upscale accommodations at the Rio Sheraton. We wanted to feel once again like we were in a more unique to Brazil type of place and were very happy to stay at Casa Aurea. The place is a former colonial home and you could still feel the homey-ness in the decor and layout. The hosts were very welcoming even with our last minute arrival, we loved the hammocks outside our window. The breakfast was tasty, the staff very helpful, the surrounding neighbor perfect for walking and exploring. My son stayed on a few more nights after I had to depart and I wish we were both still there!!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms have windows that open to view of hammocks and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelanieChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Manager at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

We loved having you over! Thanks for sharing your experience. We'll be waitting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Hello all,

I really enjoyed the ambiance and the service. Great place, great people and great ambiance. the location in St Theresa is of the beaten track, full of character. So much better then boring standard hotels.

Hans

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hansbolscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thank for review Hans and thanks for all the tips and appreciations you gave us while you where here.
We are happy that you had a good time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#88 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
491 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,764 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,630 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,370 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#89 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique

Address: Rua Aurea N 80 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-210, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: ₹ 4,547 - ₹ 9,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Casa Aurea is a great retreat from the heavily populated tourist areas. the pousada upon the hills of Santa Teresa where the winding cobblestone streets and an old-fashion tram Bonde, gives the neighborhood a historical charm.The very special thing about this guesthouse is connecting people, making friends.The Casa Aurea Inn has 13 rooms with a variety of accommodations ranging from dormitory style to private rooms with washrooms. There are plenty of communal areas which add sociability to the place.Complete Breakfast with tropical fruits includedSuites with refrigeratorFree Use of BBQ Grill & Pizza OvenEnglish, German, Portuguese, Spanish and French spokenExternal guest kitchenLaundryTelephone (via Skype) and broadband internet access available 24/24Wireless internet connectionClose to transport links, taxi rank, supermarkets, health centre, police station, and restaurants24-hours street security guardTourist Information Info DeskTour guides availableAirport PickupBook ExchangeAs well there is a guest kitchen too in case you want to dine in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aurea Pousada-Guesthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing