We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was still there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Ranked #49 of 347 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2015

True story: We found and booked this Pousada at the last minute, after growing tired of the very upscale accommodations at the Rio Sheraton. We wanted to feel once again like we were in a more unique to Brazil type of place and were very happy to stay at Casa Aurea. The place is a former colonial home and you could still feel the homey-ness in the decor and layout. The hosts were very welcoming even with our last minute arrival, we loved the hammocks outside our window. The breakfast was tasty, the staff very helpful, the surrounding neighbor perfect for walking and exploring. My son stayed on a few more nights after I had to depart and I wish we were both still there!!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms have windows that open to view of hammocks and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MelanieChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Manager at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

We loved having you over! Thanks for sharing your experience. We'll be waitting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2015

Hello all,

I really enjoyed the ambiance and the service. Great place, great people and great ambiance. the location in St Theresa is of the beaten track, full of character. So much better then boring standard hotels.

Hans

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hansbolscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thank for review Hans and thanks for all the tips and appreciations you gave us while you where here.
We are happy that you had a good time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Very very nice, clean and intresting place to stay, great location in Santa teresa.
The rooms are clean and very nice. the stuff is great and very helpfull.
15 min in Taxi from the main attraction of the city.
stuff speakes

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nitsan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thanks for your review Nitsan and congratulations for the lovely family you have, you filled with love our Pousada.
you are always welcome, beijos para todos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

I highly recommend staying here. The service is great and it feels like home. The rooms are comfortable and very homey. My girlfriend and I stayed for almost three weeks. Everyone treated us like family. We also got to know the area very well. The pousada is in a great location. Santa Teresa is a BEAUTIFUL neighborhood with great food, bars, art and lots of hills! There is a great strip of shopping around the corner for small pieces of local art. Not too far away are all the beaches and more touristic areas.

This is the most comfortable and hospitable place I've stayed at. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and neither should you!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thanks Metar!

It was AMAZING to share the best carnival of the world with amazing people like you.
Volta sempre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Absolutely a fantastic experience staying here during my recent stay in Rio. The staff was more than willing to help me with any questions during my stay. The place felt very natural and really made me feel apart of the culture in Rio. I definitely recommend it here, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Gerente at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Hi Calon,

We always say that the best of our Pousada is the environment. We have been here for 10 years and we are still in love with our patio, our garden and our view of the best neighborhood of Santa Teresa.
Thanks for your review, you are always welcome :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#87 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,389 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#216 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
165 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,450 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,690 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#90 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique

Address: Rua Aurea N 80 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-210, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 347 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: ₹ 4,459 - ₹ 8,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Casa Aurea is a great retreat from the heavily populated tourist areas. the pousada upon the hills of Santa Teresa where the winding cobblestone streets and an old-fashion tram Bonde, gives the neighborhood a historical charm.The very special thing about this guesthouse is connecting people, making friends.The Casa Aurea Inn has 13 rooms with a variety of accommodations ranging from dormitory style to private rooms with washrooms. There are plenty of communal areas which add sociability to the place.Complete Breakfast with tropical fruits includedSuites with refrigeratorFree Use of BBQ Grill & Pizza OvenEnglish, German, Portuguese, Spanish and French spokenExternal guest kitchenLaundryTelephone (via Skype) and broadband internet access available 24/24Wireless internet connectionClose to transport links, taxi rank, supermarkets, health centre, police station, and restaurants24-hours street security guardTourist Information Info DeskTour guides availableAirport PickupBook ExchangeAs well there is a guest kitchen too in case you want to dine in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Aurea Pousada-Guesthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing