We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet bit of Rio paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Your view! The house is dominated by the views of the South Atlantic Ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view! The house is dominated by the views of the South Atlantic Ocean
The stunning views over the South Atlantic from the top terrace Partially covered, the top terrace has 360 views, a barbecue kitchen and bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Your view! The house is dominated by the views of the South Atlantic Ocean
The stunning views over the South Atlantic from the top terrace
Partially covered, the top terrace has 360 views, a barbecue kitchen and bathroom
The kitchen on the top terrace has a barbecue oven, fridge, sink and all utensils.
The house faces South and has lovely sunrises and sunsets
The house seen from the rear gardens
The view from your house!!  Looking west from both terraces
360 degree views of ocean, river and mountains
The rear of the property - showing walled gardens and swimming pool
The swimming pool is 3.5mx7m and 1m-2m deep - a lovely change from the beach
The pool bar - fridge, sink and barbecue oven - a full BBQ or just a cold beer in the pool!
Bedroom 1 - the master bedroom, ocean fronting with balcony, AC and ceiling fan.
Bedroom 2, is a charming double bedroom next to the pool. It has AC, ceiling fan and en suite.
Bedroom 2 has a new double bed with good quality mattress
Looking out from Bedroom 2 towards the garden and pool
The en suite bathroom in the pool bedroom
The middle terrace - on the cool side of the house
Sunset. The house enjoys beautiful light- sunrise, sunset and the clouds drifting over the mountains
The large ocean facing lounge can accommodate two real single beds if you need
The view from the large lounge  with its own ocean terrace
The lounge has a 100 volume reading library and an 80 dvd library, seating for 10, dining for 8
Our DVD library
Our new solid wood dining set, comfortably seats 6, possibly 8
Bedroom 3 - a comfortable double bed, AC, ceiling fan and views over the mountains
The North view from the kitchen
The view from the main bathroom, first floor
Main bathroom, first floor, large glass shower cubicle with ocean views, original 70s tiles
Enjoy the amazing stars here - particularly from the top terrace
The property is unusual to have walled gardens right on the ocean - now with gate onto beach
The garden has direct access to the beach, you can use our beach furniture
Breakfast laid out on the covered garden terrace
Almost a private beach. The beach is very quiet with a couple of beach bars, perfect for long walks!
The beach is an amazing coarse white sand -its really like lying on a bed of jewels!
The sea in front of the house is rough and refreshing!!  Safe swimming is 250m to the right
One of the wild visitors to the house! Also seen from the house - humpbacks, orcas, mantas, turtles.
Honeymoons or beach weddings. This house is perfect for that private, yet beautiful occasion
Owls, hummingbirds, penguins an many others come to visit! Cormorants, herons, kingfishers behind.
Rio, 'Cidade Maravilhosa' is only one (or 1.5) hours away by taxi or public transport
Our dogs, Stormie and Naomi love to be taken on beach walks!
Our two cats, Reggie and Ronnie - they live outside but are very friendly
The house backs on to a river, nice walks to the left and right of the house, return on the beach
Our beach is just as beautiful on a stormy day!
The sea in front of the house is dangerous for swimming but the bay 300m to the right is safer.
There are 3 or 4 nice beach bars to the right of the house towards the mountain
The food in the beach bars is simple and pretty good. Opening hours seem to be weather dependent!
Secure high walls surround the property. Parking within.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you!! We want you to love this house as we do
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Luke M
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet bit of Rio paradise”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

So my girldfiend and I just stayed at this property for 4 days on our way to Rio de janerio, the location was fantastic around an hours bus from Rio bus terminal 30 minutes in the taxi. However it is far enough aways from the bussy hustle and bustle of Rio to realy relax and chill out in privacy.

The house itself has a fantastic location right on the beach, and is only one of a couple of other building there, meaning you prety much have the beach to yourself.

Surrounding the property there is a lovely little garden in the front and at the back is a patio area with a good sized pool, (to note one of the cleanest we have been in on our trip around.
South America).

The downstairs bedroom where we stayed is essential its own flat, with a fully equipped kitchen, and ensuite bathroom/shower. The beds were incredibly comfortable with clean linen and towels provided.

The first floor of the property has a large open longe/dining area with big sliding windows opening into a balcony which looks out over the beach and sea great views from dinner.
There are two good size rooms with double beds and air conditioning which is always needed!. Then a kitchen at the bakc, fully equipped for any meal.

On the roof there is a fantastic open space with a bar and bbq brick oven. With 360 uninterrupted view surrounding the property of the beach and mountains, in the evening the sunset and the stars are just amazing !

So overall this property is just what everyone is looking for,
Quiet,private, clean, and homely just a great place to spend some time relaxin and catching a good tan!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thanks a lot Luke - so glad you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaDorse...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The whole booking experience was problem free and as we were a family group travelling from Rio by taxi the instructions emailed in English and Portuguese made the transfer from the airport a lot easier. A great welcome from Philip and Eduardo and we all instantly felt at home. The top floor terrace is wonderful and we enjoyed BBQ's there most evenings and spent hours just enjoying the view. There was enough in the village to keep us occupied, some nice simple beach bars, a great pizza place and well stocked supermarket. We took the local bus over the mountain on a number of occasions to enjoy the beaches and seafood on offer. The views from the house are just amazing, the sea, the beach and the mountains, what more can you want. Eduardo was a delight, so amiable and helpful. All in all a wonderful time was had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and location of the house
Liked least: Beds were not the most comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, this is our dream home that we want to share in the best way we can. Lovely guests who knew what they want and at the same time were really appreciative…...and we will upgrade the mattress in question!! Philip and Eduardo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanColom...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect de-stress location!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this house in March/April and had a really wonderful time. This place is perfect for a relaxing getaway from the stress of city life (i live in london) but also only an hour and a half from Rio for a little shopping and clubbing!
I loved this house from relaxing in the walled garden to barbecues on the terrace - catered for by Eduardo as I wanted a little pampering!
You feel like you're on a ship in the ocean here - the sound of the waves sending me to sleep each night. I can't wait to come back - particularly after June this year when they tell me the new swimming pool will be finished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You can't beat this location
Liked least: I had to go!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dazza185
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
6
people found this review helpful

A beautiful house literally on the beach.
Stunning views in all directions, the sea and beach in front trees and mountains behind
The roof terrace is spectacular - you can lounge in a hammock and get a 360 degree view.
There was abundant wildlife and good fishing.
The house itself is comfortable, quiet and relaxing.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This will certainly be a holiday that I will never forget and I intend to go back as soon as possible!
The price is extremely generous considering the beautiful location of the house and the ease of travelling into Rio. I went into the city a few times during my stay on the air conditioned bus, which costs around £3 and takes an hour or so. This is a fantastic opportunity for those who are keen to spend days in the city and see the wonderful sights.
However if you would like to relax outside the hustle and bustle of Rio then this house is the perfect retreat. The house couldn't be any closer to a wonderful beach where you can relax and generally take things easy.
Another highlight was making use of the BBQ facilities on the roof terrace, with spectacular views in the day and breathtaking stars at night.
I will certainly be returning ASAP!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing