We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Glad I did it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarloaf Mountain

Sugarloaf Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 30.00*
and up
Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Glad I did it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

It was breathtaking to see the city of Rio form sugar loaf. Great views by cable car and at the peak. There were climbers scaling the mountain which was also a sight to see. Highly recommended as a day trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33,825
    8,386
    1,181
    135
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“There is no place in the world like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a unique place in the world. The view is amazing and is 360°.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank brazilsolotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Sugar Loaf has a beautiful view for the city! You shouldn’t miss it.
In the way up, if you go by train (bonde), there is a Brazilian musical group that gets in the train and plays samba, I thought it would be so touristic, but it was perfect, the view and the typical music, shouldn’t be better.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skip the cable car & experience the forest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

There's a hiking trail you can take from the bottom of the mountain to the middle landing. It's a bit vertical but definitely doable for any average person with a good pair of sneakers. If you forgo the cable car ride and opt for the hike, keep your eyes open for the little monkeys called "mico" -- as abundant as squirrels in the US! If you're feeling adventurous, we'd absolutely recommend splurging for the helicopter ride available from the middle landing. They require at minimum 3 people (max 4) per flight however, so you may need to wait for other passengers in order to book your flight. On a Sunday early afternoon we didn't wait more than about 15 minutes before we identified another couple who wanted to take flight with us. If you take the cable car to the top peak of Sugar Loaf, be sure to check out the walking trail that starts behind the gift shop. It's a short loop for anyone who wants the tropical feel without the physicality of the hiking trail. Depending on how long you want to hang out in the area, bring your bathing suit as there's a small beach in the cove at the base of Sugar Loaf. Beautiful views all around!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_and_Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the cable car trip so much we took it twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had been advised to take this trip either early or late in the day to avoid the tour groups. Both times we went up the Sugar Loaf at 5pm, very few people were around then. Great for evening cocktails.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarloaf Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Sugarloaf Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing