We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worked for us.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South American Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South American Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #113 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worked for us.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

While this hotel is not a 5 star, it worked just great for us. Like rudee50 said it is very close to both the Copacabana and Ipanema beaches and other attactions. I liked that. Also what I liked was the roof top pool and lounge area. I went up there every morning to read since I'm an early riser and live with those who like to sleep in. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and the breakfasts were good especially the pastries, fresh fruit and fruit juices. We would have liked to have had a drink at the bar but it was closed much of the time. One thing that was nice was there was always someone at the front desk that spoke English.

Room Tip: we had a room that had 1 king and 1 twin so our room was a little bigger and faced the front, also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    214
    136
    23
    14
See reviews for
106
157
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have to echo what Maria W. said. We recently got back from our stay at the South American and were pretty disappointed with it.

On the positive side, it is convenient to Copacabana beach (5 minute walk) and to Ipanema (10 minute walk) and right near several bus stops and a supermarket. Also, the breakfast was pretty good, with a nice selection of food and fresh juices, though it did end fairly early (10AM).

But these positives were outweighed by the many negatives, which included a very high price for the quality of the hotel (yes, we are aware of how expensive Rio is and still thought is was not a good value at a little over 200 USD per night).

In addition, the room we had (1203) was very small and very noisy as it was adjacent to one of the elevators and you could hear it moving up and down all night long, accentuated by occasional beeping noises. We asked to be moved and the man at the front desk said that there were no other rooms available. I may be wrong, but I got the distinct impression there was space but he just couldn't be bothered to make the effort to move us.

And, as others have said, the hotel is very 'tired' overall. The rugs in the common area are dirty and stained. The elevators look like they are designed to carry freight, not people, plus they aren't air-conditioned, which is incredible considering the heat of Rio. In fact, all the common areas did not have enough air conditioning. This, combined with the extremely dim lighting in the common areas, left us the impression that the owner was simply penny-pinching to save a few dollars, at the expense of the comfort of the guests, which is inexcusable for a supposed 4 star hotel.

Also, to second another reviewer, we had several problems with the card key. It seems the hotel couldn't keep straight what day were checking out, so we had to get the card re-validated a few times. More of a nuisance but clearly not indicative of a 4 star hotel.

Which brings me to my final point--there is NO way this hotel should ever have gotten a 4 star rating and whoever gave it to them should be ashamed. Best case, this place is a 3 star if they did some extensive renovations and in its current state, more like a 2.5 star hotel.

So to summarize, the location is convenient, the hotel is seriously overpriced for what it is and make sure you don't get a room near the elevator shaft!

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms near the elevator shaft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a fantastic cruise, but were so disappointed by the dilapidated state of this hotel. There was no air conditioning in the common parts areas, bar etc which was very uncomfortable. The beds were comfortable and clean, but the whole place was tired and we were told this was 4*. The tiles around the pool on the roof were dirty and some of the chairs were broken. The hotel needs a total refurbishment - 2* at the most. We have never criticised an hotel before but feel people should be warned. We travelled with Planet Cruise who booked all our accommodation, unfortunately for us some of our fellow travellers had very good accommodation in Rio de Janeiro.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very close to both Copacabana and Ipanema. Relatively nice, clean, decent beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is located just behind Arpoador, right on the border between Copacabana and Ipanema. 4 minutes walk to Copacabana beach, and 10 minutes walk to Ipanema. For the location (provided you can get a good deal) the price was astonishingly good value. Rooms were acceptable. Except for the damned key entry card which had to be reprogrammed almost every day and drove me to distraction. Breakfasts very acceptable - typical Brazilian buffet. Staff really helpful, especially the woman who works behind the bar in the evenings - she's a star. The pool on the roof was a bit small - but given the hotel is so close to Copacabana and Ipanema beaches, does it matter? The view from the roof over the favella and up to Corcovado is fabulous, especially at night. Wi-fi connection was very powerful and fast - 4 bars on my phone display at times.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel which overlooks Rua Fransisco Sa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B40PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#59 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#60 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#84 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
#149 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Ipanema
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#88 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#50 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South American Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South American Copacabana Hotel

Property: South American Copacabana Hotel
Address: Rua Francisco Sa 90, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,982 - ₹ 15,861
Hotel Class:3 star — South American Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your South American Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South American Copacabana
South American Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing