We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and close to the beach”
Review of Windsor Leme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Leme Hotel
Ranked #41 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and close to the beach”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 9 days and enjoyed our stay. The staff was attentive and the room we had was clean.

It was at the far end of Copacabana, in Leme. We taxied when we needed to go further than a walk would take us and never had an issue. We will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    391
    120
    36
    20
See reviews for
281
241
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Compared to Copacabana, Leme is quiet. The hotel is in a great location: close to shops, restaurants and the beach. Compared to other hotels in the area, the business traveller amenities were great. Wifi was fast and reliable, breakfast was good (with enough variety) and the hotel has a partnership with a local gym (one block away). Although the rooms were basic, the beds were comfortable. My only issue was the lack of an iron in the room - this forces you to pay to get shirts, etc pressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the Leme Othon Palace Hotel for three nights in August 2011. We all shared one room, my husband, teenage daughter & I, with en-suite bathroom & it was clean, very comfortable and reasonably priced. We had a room with a lovely view of Copacabana beach & Corcovado, both of which are lit-up at night & very beautiful.

The hotel restaurant was too expensive for us but the Hotel reception staff told us about a small supermarket a short walk away where we were able to buy food to eat in our room. Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, cakes, and the usual eggs, bacon, sausages, juices, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, etc. There was plenty of fresh fruit too so we certainly didn’t go hungry & never really needed a midday meal.

The Leme Othon Palace Hotel is in a good location, convenient for sightseeing & trips to local attractions & the city centre. The Hotel reception staff can arrange taxis & trips if you wish, but there's also a tourist office a short walk away in the main street. Buses in Rio are cheap & an easy way to get around. We spent one day walking around the old part of the town, and although some parts of it made me wonder whether we were safe by ourselves, we were never molested or met with any problems.

The second day we made our way to Corcovado, which is a must-see, a stunningly beautiful example of art deco period sculpture. Although there’s along wait for your seat on the funicular railway, there’s a wealth of information and history to read to while away the time. Unfortunately, the day we were there was cold & overcast, but the views nevertheless were amazing & we stayed up there for quite a while.

We came across a couple of good shopping centres in Rio, but not much in the way of scenic old historical buildings. Rio appears to have been built up over the decades with no real thought given to town planning or preservation of old buildings & grounds: new hotels & apartment blocks sit cheek-by-jowel with municipal buildings. We tried to find the old observatory & walked up & down that road twice without finding it! Even the entrance to Corcovado is comparatively unremarkable. As we had my daughter with us, we didn’t get the chance to explore the famed nightlife. I came away wondering why so many people say Rio is beautiful, because yes I thought it was nice, but a long way from beautiful. Maybe next visit I’ll find the Rio I was hoping for.

On our last morning we went to Copacabana beach & had a swim, but be warned: August/September is their winter & the undertow & current were close to being dangerous. I don’t know whether it’s safer in their summer time, but we did not dare to go in beyond knee level the pull was so strong. In that whole stretch of beach, we only saw one other swimmer, even though the weather was warm.

The wavy paving was everything the Disney films of my childhood had promised (check out the short film ‘Aquarella Do Brazil’)!

Checking in & out of the hotel was a bit lengthy, more due to numbers of guests rather than any inefficiency on the part of hotel staff, but our taxi ride back to the airport was easily arranged.
We’d stay at the Leme Othon Palace again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Overall a good stay, however club sandwich from room service gave me food poisoning which resulted in local Dr injecting me in my room to stop vomiting. Only to end up on a I.V. drip in his clinic for 8 hours, total cost R1850 (about $1000 AU ) Not Happy Jan !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawless_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Hotel Leme is in a nice location. Other than that it is average in every way. The rooms were very modest. During a one week stay for business I had to change rooms because of a plumbing problem they needed to work on. After a full day of work the last thing I wanted to do was pack and move. For this I got a complimentary cheese plate and half bottle of wine. Not much for my trouble. I found the staff very nice and competent....willing to help in any way. My room did not have any drawers for clothes. The door on the closet didn't work. Food in the restaurant was very good but expensive. The view of Copacabana beach was wonderful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelzUpGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arena Leme Hotel
#11 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
#66 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Leme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Leme Hotel

Property: Windsor Leme Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 656, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,822 - ₹ 11,248
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Leme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Leme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leme Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Othon Palace Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing