We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location on Ipanema beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #65 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location on Ipanema beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

If you are looking for a nice, clean, comfortable room right at a reasonable price right smack in the middle of Ipanema beach, this would be it. Staff were friendly and helpful - only the front desk and restaurant manager spoke English. Free wifi is available and worked great throughout my stay (if needed, paid wifi gets higher bandwidth). Breakfast spread was simple but adequate; quality of food ordered off the ala-carte menu was much better.
Beautiful stretch of beach right across the road from the hotel; the Garota de Ipanema (of Girl from Ipanema fame; pricey but quality of food was mediocre) is literally just around the corner, and Bar Emporio and other notable watering holes are just a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    536
    145
    41
    27
See reviews for
204
427
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here over a year ago and felt whilst the hotel was in a great location with great rooms, the staff especially at front desk let it down. One receptionist was lovely, the other two I experienced were appalling.

Roll forward a year and I'm living in Rio for three months and my friend stays four nights in the Sol just before carnival! Well somehow the staff are even worse! Reception were increadibly rude to the Japanese couple checking in when I arrived to meet my friend. When I asked for him with his room number I was told to use the phone on the wall - I hadn't saw it nor would I have assumed I could just pick it up! When my friend did cone down and try and take me upstairs the gruff security man went mad and was shouting over to reception. I was told I had to fill in a guest registration card before I could accompany him to his overpriced room. From this point on I did not return to the hotel, we arranged to meet at the beach and save hassle.

When I stayed here I had no problems taking my female friends to my room. We are all Brits and clearly tourists. Despite me turning up in beach wear to collect my make Australian friend I was made to feel like a prostitute by security. Reception where rude from the point of my arrival and I'm just amazed that a year after my stay and similar complaints the situation is worse!

Rooms are great, cleaning staff do a great job and whilst the pool is small it's great in a hot day and has great views. Just sort out the military regime at the front desk- it spoils a trip to lovely welcoming rio.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caledonia_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you can avoid this place, please do.

Firstly, it was so expensive for what you got- a 3 start hotel with no-frills whatsoever.

The service was so incredibly lousy. Would it hurt to offer to help me with my luggage when your lifts are closed for maintenance? Breakfast was dire (in a basement). Don't include it in your rate, just walk around the corner if you must stay here and have breaky at a cafe.

The pool- who cares when you've got Ipanema beach in front of you?

My recommendation is there are other hotels in the area that are better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

The room was nice and clean and had a great view on the ocean. The food at the restaurant was really good and the prices were reasonable. The hotel is perfectly located and near from everything. Yes, the pool on the roof is small but to me it was perfect. The only cons is that except for the people at the front desk none of the employees I met spoke English, but we always found a way to understand each other. Anyways that's part of traveling...Everyone was nice with me and service was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed there for a week with friends. The hotel is excellent. Staff are friendly. We had a deluxe room with an ocean view. There is a small rooftop pool and bar. Breakfast is served from 6-10:30Am daily -- the head of the food and beverage area spent time in the US and speaks perfect English (for those travelers that need it most of the front desk speaks English as well.) Food is good and room service is 24 hours.

The beach is fantastic and Ipanema is a wonderful neighborhood in Rio, though pricey. If you are cost limited, walk three or four blocks off to the beach area to eat, shop, etc.

The Metro is only a few blocks away and gives you quick access to other parts of the city.

Room Tip: If you can, get upgraded to the deluxe room with ocean view. It is very nice. Oh, and get on the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#113 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,344 - ₹ 17,179
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing