We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Rio standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #17 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for Rio standards”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very Good hotel for Rio standards (most are old, musty, overpriced, mediocre service, etc.), but not what one expects from a JW Marriott. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are adequate, A/C is good, they have in-room safes.... but overall everything is a bit on the small side. Windows are weird, just a few rooms have views to the outside, many look to the interior so being on the beach in Copacabana is not what you would expect. One nice "surprise" were some free Ipanema brand flip-flops (the up-and-coming competitor to Havaianas) which I dutifully wear back at home right now. The restaurants were good, I did like the Sushi place although it took a while. Breakfast was fantastic.

Speaking of Copa, almost universally people comment "You should stay in in Ipanema or Leblon" and the locals are even worried for your safety and the convenience of Copa. I've stayed here twice and find the fear a bit misplaced, but there are also cautionary tales. Definitely Copacabana was great in the 1950's, not so much today and there are more "happening" locations in Rio. Also note the Olympics and all the new suburbs/malls are much further to the South in Barra de Tijuca.

I will say the first time this hotel saved me because I had booked a block away at a Pestana that turned out to be crap. Overall good hotel, you can do much worse in Rio, believe me.

Room Tip: Beware, most rooms do not have windows facing outside or to the beach....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricAllred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    641
    213
    74
    47
See reviews for
261
625
150
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent four night here.Check-in was Great and fast.Our room was a bit small but fit our price range.We had a nice continental breakfast each day over-looking the beach that was very good.The hotel is top notch.The location just doesn't get any better. We would return anytime and recommend This hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mena. AR
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a very upscale hotel on Copacabana Beach, right in the heart of Rio, but right on the beach, as well. It is safe, the food is first class, and so is the service. It is a place to "come home to" after a long sweaty day, doing some business, but also enjoying everything that makes Rio such a great city. You can shower, and relax in the air-conditioning in your room, or the hotel bar, while you wait for your Brazilian colleagues to show up (late, of course after all it's Rio) to take you to dinner. Expensive but very worth it!

Room Tip: Get a room high up that faces the beach, for a great view of the whole Rio beach scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

The only good thing about the hotel is the view (and only if you pay for the ocean view rooms) ! I don't understand why people say it's a nice hotel because it really really needs a facelift. The rooms are very small and tired. No wifi in the rooms.

Staff is friendly, food is fine, but for that price go to another hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank T775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had to wait hours to check in to our room, and then we had the maids knocking on our door to see if we had extra towels to give other guests. Apparently they were backed up with laundry. We never felt like any of the staff was attentive. I would not stay here again unless I had to because of business. It is the best option in the Barra area but I was very
disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsterBaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,322 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,155 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,810 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,469 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,391 - ₹ 26,239
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing