We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location for Rio sightseeing with family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ranked #125 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location for Rio sightseeing with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I traveled with my family, wife and child (5 years old), Mercure Botafogo is a suite style hotel with fridge, microwave.
Good room size with a living room (with optional bed) and room, so there´s accommodation for a family. Bathroom is no so large a little bit tight. Good cleanness.
Breakfast is overpriced (about USD 20) for options offered, every day same options and our last day on a Monday there´s no pastries options just 2 cakes.
In my opinion Botafogo is a good location for sightseeing in Rio, because close to several attractions specially if you are traveling with kids, ok for beach is not so close but not impossible to reach with a taxi (there´s a lot of in the region and prices are affordable), if you prefer there´s a bus stop in the corner (Voluntarios da Patria street) or Metro station 4 block walk to beach direction.
Good bars and restaurants options just 10 min. walking.
Service is pretty good, at check in Mr. Paulo Santos was very efficient and provide full information about hotel.
Don´t forget to ask a room with Cristo Redentor view, it´s amazing.
I do recommend this hotel, except if you prefer to stay in Copacabana or shopping in Barra da Tijuca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Cristo Redentor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro A, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review, hope to see you on your next visit to Rio.

Regards,

Alejandro I Avila
General Manager
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    391
    173
    55
    29
See reviews for
243
147
56
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Ok hotel if you are only spending a couple of days, free wi-fi was a bonus, pool area is not nice and very small, the rooms are basic but had everything we needed. The area is ok, about 20 minutes by bus to Ipanema and major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights just before Carnaval and just before a cruise. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. We were very comfortable. The rooms weren't big but we had planty of space. The balcony didn't have much of a view - we mainly looked out on a blank wall - but the rooms were bright. We enjoyed using the pool. We would have liked some utensils in the kitchen but maybe we should have asked for some. The rooms were very new and clean. The staff spoke very limited English but were helpful and pleasant. We liked the not-so-touristy area. Two nice super markets were nearby and the subway was close, too. I had been worried about safety in Rio but we felt safe, had a great time, and want to return!

Room Tip: You could ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel is quite simple, yet it is safe and clean.

We shared a 2 bedrooms appartment with friends during the Carnaval and we found the price to be more reasonable than other places.

The bedrooms are a little small and the bathroom very small but they are comfortable.

I would recommend to go for people who don't intent to spend a lot of time in their hotel room.

Botafogo is a fairly boring neighborhood but it is close from Copacabana and Ipanema (10 min by taxi).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
#70 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#27 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
#42 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Real Hotel
Real Hotel
#247 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#114 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#36 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Property: Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Address: Rua Sorocaba 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,702 - ₹ 11,135
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home with true comfort and hospitality in a great location. You will be welcome at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo. The Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, between Rua Sao Clemente and Rua Voluntarios da Patria, is located in an area with many major national and international businesses, clinics and an important gastronomic hub. The hotel lies under the arms of Christ the Redeemer, within easy reach of the city center and metro. It is close to the Rio Sul and Botafogo Praia shopping centers and Unibanco cinema space. A few minutes from Copacabana beach, the Botanical Gardens, Lagoa and Santos Dumont Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing