We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Michael Serruya was an excellent guide

We had Michael as a guide through Tours by Locals for a whole-day private tour of Rio. He was... read more

Reviewed 31 May 2018
Karen R
,
New York City, New York
Emma Platais is Simply The Best!

My wife, Jean, and I visited Rio de Janeiro via cruise ship in February, 2018. We decided not to... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2018
John H
,
Boca Raton, Florida
Read all 46 reviews
  
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2016

My local friend helped me to find neat littles botecos to experience a truly local happy hour. She was a superb translator for all my needs and gave my some valuable tips for the rest of my stay in town. Greatly thankful

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank rkuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We arrived on Jan. 23rd 2016 for two days in Rio as part of our cruise ship tour. The second day we spent with Beatriz. After being picked-up right at the harbor, we visited the Favela Santa Marta. The walk through Santa Marta was an experience for itself - we can only recommend it! Towards midday, we made our way along Ipanema beach, followed by a nice local lunch. The afternoon was dedicated to visit Corcovado. Going up by train was great! Again, something we can recommend. Beatriz was fabulous in organizing everything upfront, is very knowledgeable and extremely talented in languages. She quickly switched from English to Italian and also to German! (we were 3 guests and spoke all 3 languages). ALL IN ALL: WE CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO SPEND THE DAY WITH BEATRIZ! THANK YOU OUR DEAR LOCAL FRIEND FOR THE EXPERIENCE IN RIO!

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Michael knows Rio inside out; he is always on time and very flexible (changing the order of the visiting spots to align with the weather conditions), an excellent driver, and a great companion (excellent communication skills and very, very friendly). He can put together a visiting program/schedule customized perfectly for the tourist's needs. If you want to have a good (end efficient) time in Rio, get Michael to be your guide (Also, his English is very good; he lived in the States for 10 years or so). Michael can be contacted through Tours by Locals (at: toursbylocals.com)

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank ACVOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Maria toured our family around past week in Rio de Janeiro and our experience with her has was wonderful. Her communications before the trip was absolutely flawless. We exchanged emails/Facebook messages regarding our plans in Rio and she gave us the detailed itinerary and suggestions on where to dine. The highlight of our trip was visiting Tijuca National Park and Barra Beach with Maria. I'm so glad that she took us to non tourist places to show the true beauty of Rio de Janeiro. She knows a lot about Rio's culture and history and will make sure you will enjoy every minute of Rio while you are there. She also does airport pickup so that you don't have to spend a lot of money to get to your hotel from the airport. She speaks very good English and will be very prompt to respond to your needs and plans. Muito obrigado Maria :)

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We contacted "rent a local friend" on the recommendation of a friend and it was great we had a local friend for a few hours, we draw a short route for our tour and it was excellent in all respects highly recommended them

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank dante m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews