We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night dancing and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante

Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante
Ranked #339 of 13,575 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Bar, South American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centro
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late night dancing and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

On my last night in Rio, my friends took me to Rio Scenarium. It's a quirky, hip spot, filled with antiques and lots of people dancing. We all had a great time and danced until nearly 2am on a Tuesday night! The food was interesting, but not fantastic. On the other hand, nothing could measure up to the home cooked meals I enjoyed every day while in Rio, so I'm sure I was a little biased.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank VJTDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    188
    45
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hot Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The place to go on Saturday night in Rio. Good food, but what you really want is the hot atmosphere and top shelf live music (major recording artists)! Come to eat, drink, listen to the music, look at the walls (a former antique store) and watch people. And, of course, you can dance. Went with husband and another couple, a splinter group of African American lawyers and doctors.. The place has two stages and alternatiing acts. Main act comes on around 11:00 p.m. but the music and dancing goes on into the morning. It is contemporary samba. There may be long line outside because its popular with Cariocas and tourists.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in Rio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had only three nights to spend in Rio and as we wanted to maximise them we decided to ask a local person what's the hot spot. The Copacabana Arena Hotel (which is highly not-reccomended) had a lousy and expensive offer of touristic samba show, that we obviously didn't take into account. So we asked a good looking middle-aged man that was jogging on the Copacabana, where we should go and he gave us the best tip of the trip "Rio Scenarium is the best place here". Indeed the bar-restaurant-club is special, an old house designed in a crazy yet calculated way. You will see hunged fridge doors, collections of umbrellas, baby craddles, old paintings and photos, is like an exhibition in a disco that doesn't give you time to get borred. Beautifully dressed people are queuing outside in a long row and they let you in if you have an ID. The atmosphere is efervescent, live Brazilian music in a room, discotheque in another, restaurant upstairs and people smiling everywhere. Don't miss Rio Scenarium!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place is great, nice drinks, nice music, the place is full of antiques, great place to visit in Rio in Lapa

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chechus_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good place to have lunch in the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Good food, good atmosphere and good value. The daily menu has few options but these are quite tasty.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank celoemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing