We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
177
21
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshumming birdsguest househelenabungalowtoucansairporttaxisretreat
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We spent 11 nights at Casa Caminho do Corcovado. We stayed in the Toucan Room.

From the moment Diogo greeted us at the airport, to the farewell from Helena the morning we departed, the warmth and hospitality of this mother/son team supported us throughout our entire stay.

The historic home has much character and charm and is well maintained. The location, at the top of the Cosme Velho neighborhood, offers incredible views and the backyard is quite literally a jungle! Helena often goes up into the terraced yard in the morning with fresh fruit to feed the local marmoset and capuchin monkeys. We also saw toucans in the trees, along with numerous other tropical birds.

Continental breakfast, with eggs on request, is served every morning between 8 to 10. Earlier breakfast was also provided with advance notice. Every morning we were served fresh tropical fruits, fresh breads and cakes, juice, coffee and tea.

A few neighborhood restaurants were recommended by Helena, and we can personally recommend Assis (traditional Brasilian) and Mamma Rosa (Italian). There are also grocery stores and banks nearby. And a major bus stop is just down the hill on Rua Cosme Vehlo, adjacent to the Cristo Redentor tram. Uber also works quite well for getting around Rio. The location is central to Centro (downtown), Maracana Stadium, Santa Teresa, Botafogo (Pao de Acucar), the Lagoa, and the beach districts.

Our room had a large bed, ample windows, a small refrigerator, cable television, plenty of closet space, and a spacious bathroom. There's also a ceiling fan and an air conditioning unit. We were able to use the clothes lines outside to dry our laundry, and Helena even washed a load of clothing for us!

We would highly recommend this beautiful home to any of our friends or family, and would gladly stay here again. They helped make our trip to Rio a very memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderLust_Mike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCaminhoCorcovado, Proprietário at Casa Caminho do Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Mike,
Thank you so much for your kindly words about us and perfect description to our place.
We enjoy all moments you stay with us. Your period on Casa Caminho do Corcovado will be memorable for us as well. We hope see you again someday.
All the best,
Helena & Diogo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed one week in the chalet three weeks ago, absolutely fabulous so private with beautiful surroundings. Helena and Diogo were the perfect hosts could not ask for more. This b and b really deserves all the great reviews it has, we left here to stay 2 nights at the infamous Copacabana Palace which was a great experience and Coldplay were staying there as they were playing at the Maracanã so quite a surreal experience, but we would have preferred to be back in Casa Caminho in our chalet somewhere we will never forget.....absolutely perfect! The Palace might have had Coldplay but Casa Caminho has Jesus every night !

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahephillips50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We spend 3 nights in the lovely bungalow of Helena. Her and her son's Diogo hospitality is friendly, very supportive and flexible. We enjoyed the beautiful surrounding around our lovely bungalow. We experienced a customized and relaxed time. Because we slept so nearby one of the highlights of Rio; the Christador. It was easy to catch an early train to the top. Thanks for a fantastic time in Rio, Helena & Diogo!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Renate020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

After a month of travelling around Brazil I chose this place to stay for my last few days in Rio based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and I'm so pleased with my decision.

It is set in the most beautiful location, with stunning views over Rio and a stones throw away from Christ the Redeemer.

The hosts Helena and Diogo are fantastic and provided me with brilliant tips on where to visit and how to get there.

They breakfast is plentiful and very tasty, especially the fresh fruit and cake.

A lovely place to stay if you are looking for something relaxing and tranquil.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Great place to stay, easy transfer to/from airport and port, and lots of good advice from Diogo and Elena. Clean accommodations, good location, great breakfast, and natural beauty around the hotel. Would recommend for someone who wants a more personal touch to their time in Rio at an affordable price and good location.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews