We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

First Church of Our Lady of the Remedies
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 30.00*
and up
2-Hour Walking Tour of Historic Paraty, Brazil
Ranked #27 of 112 things to do in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2015

This cathedral is of XVIII century,... located close to the channel of Parathy, on the north side, in front of a square. The are some images of saints dated of XVII, XVIII and XIX century. In June they have a big celebration in honor of Corpus Christi. There is a procession with the same name, when all natives are involved, as well tourists. The architecture is very nice. If you are in Parathy this time, can not fail to see

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Cesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

14 - 18 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

I loved loved loved the area and the beautiful and picturesque old town, recently flooded, but this little church was both boring and ordinary.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank CarmichaelVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I really liked this church,its full of history and it is in the hearth of paraty,My and my wife went to the mess in sunday,we found it wonderful

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank 594Carmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is not a church with spectacular works of art or other in-your-face attractions, but it is pleasant to look at and walk around in; the atmosphere is peaceful and the entire experience has a post-colonial flair to it (like much of Paraty).

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Hamburgguy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The story of this church is probably much more interesting than the building itself. According to legends, it was financed by the pirate treasure that was found dug somewhere on the shores. The church contains stuff made by local artists. We were lucky, because the stairs stayed open accidentally, so we had the opportunity to visit the upper floor. Not much to see there but the sight from the windows is cool.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank ehegedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Church of Our Lady of the Remedies also viewed

 

Been to First Church of Our Lady of the Remedies? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing