We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great little hotel in Paraty.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Aconchego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Aconchego
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in Paraty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at this pousada in October 2011 for one night. The single night was due to arrangements to go on to another hotel further down the coast after we arrived from Rio on a Sunday afternoon. We returned to Paraty on the following Thursday and stayed elsewhere - I have to say I wished we'd stayed here on our return to Paraty!

The hotel are very well situated on the edge of the "centro historico" and, once you've got your bearings it is a very short walk to the centre of town.

Our room was big and comfortable, spotlessly clean, and the staff were very helpful and attentive.

Our stay was only a very short one but we will return on our next visit to Paraty in March 2012.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    87
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
63
65
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at this Pousada in November 2010 for three nights. The location was good as it is just within the historical district and the taxi was able to drop us off at the front door. It is a few streets from the main street in Paraty. Some of the front desk staff speak English, and Andrei who works at the front desk, was helpful. The hotel is generally clean, in the rooms and the dining room. Not all of the rooms have air conditioning, and mine was one of those rooms. The standard room is very basic. There is just enough room for a bed and luggage. There was no bathtub in the washroom which makes it difficult for young children.

There is a ceiling fan in the room which needs to be on all night to mitigate the chance of getting insect bites. Even so, my young son did get bitten as he slept. The humidity of Paraty, the plants that are around Pousada Aconchego and the lack of air conditioning likely made the insect situation worse for us. Breakfast was average, with bread, cake and fresh fruit which they keep in a closed see through unit. Unfortunately, fleas can still get into the unit. The breakfast selection is the same every morning.

Although free wi-fi was offered, the range was limited. We could not get wi-fi in our room, and had to go to the public areas of the Pousada, and even then, it was not always available. Overall, there were no significant issues during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padparadscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

It's located close to the historical center and the hotel has its own parking lot. It's very simple and nice, very clean, fresh looking rooms, with air-conditioner, wi-fi internet, and it has even its own restaurant, wich has very exquisite, good quality food (I recommend parmegiana beef, shrimps and squid). The hotel organizes different activities, such as rafting, snorkeling, trails, etc., and even if you're exploring the town by your own you don't need a car. The people are very sympathetic. We already tried lots of hotels in Paraty and this one has the best cost-benefit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Chale Recanto da Praia
#7 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#22 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#3 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 26 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Aconchego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Aconchego

Property: Pousada Aconchego
Address: Domingos G. De Abreu Street, No 01 | Historical Center, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Historic City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Paraty
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,876 - ₹ 16,748
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 35 years of tradition in Paraty, we offer our clients an environment of tranquility and comfort. At 300 meters from the beach in the historic center, near the Matriz church, and has ample parking, a beautiful garden theme, pool, games room, wireless signal in the rooms, satellite TV, laundry service ... The breakfast is carefully assembled with lots of fruits, freshly baked pastries and breads. At lunch and dinner, the client enjoys exclusive access to the Restaurant Aconchego Grill, through the parking lot of the inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Aconchego Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing