We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NEVER STAY HERE”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Ilha Grande is a bautiful place and well worth the trip but do not stay in this dump. I have stayed in other Che Lagartos and had a great time and assumed that this hostel would be up to the same standard, I was very mistaken. The staff were drunk most of the time and had very little interest in helping, they couldnt tell me what time the boat went to the mainland! The room 102 should be avoided at all coats. My bed was besdie the toilry door which slanted towards the bed so there was a constant pool of water beside my bed added to the smell of urine. The mould was a serious issue here also, all your clothes will get damp and obviously the health risks are huge. Also you will share your bed with lots of bed bugs, so get ready to scratch! There are lots of lovely little guesthouses on the island I suggest stay in one of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    205
    112
    71
    59
See reviews for
19
97
122
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I had a great room, the one with the view. Other rooms in the hostel were not so great. The view, the communal space were all great. Great location, but then again anywhere on ilha grande would be. The staff were a bit uninterested, some were friendly enough but the majority of them had no hints and tips, no passion for the island and what there is to do there. This did not stop me from having a great time however, there were many people staying there, I met someone later in my travels who stayed somewhere with no one else there and they did not enjoy ilha because of that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Room was a bit dirty but otherwise very comfortable and with a beautiful view from the window. The staff were pretty friendly and they provide nice food in the evening. The kitchen is rubbish and really needs updating. Breakfast is also pretty good and there is nothing nicer than sititng out on the terrace over breakfast looking out across the beautiful Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Before going to Ilha Grande I read the reviews online.. There are always bad reviews of places and I decided to give it a go. Dont make the same mistake I made!! I made a reservation and paid a deposit so my reservation would be guaranteed. Upon arrival there 'had been a technical problem' so my reservation was nowhere to be found. I wasnt the only one, heard loads of people with the same problem and everytime they gave the same reason. My checkin took me an HOUR and then,the bed I was assigned to was already occupied so during that nights party I had to move. In the end, after my stay, it turned out that my credit card had been charged and I am still trying to get my money back (but it took them 1.5month to reply on my email complaints!)

Internet was broken and nobody fixed it. The staff (the guys) were really friendly but they had no guidance whatsoever! They were doing what they could but the whole place was one big mess! They had no idea about the tours they were offering and I can go on and on and on about it.

If you go to this island, stay at one of the pousada's (cheaper too, the hostel is quite expensive!) and go for the parties to Che Lagarto.

I just want to say that in general I dont write such negative reviews and I am a real positive person but with this hostel I couldnt let it go unnoticed! Believe me!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilha Grande hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

If you want to expend some of your short vacation on a paradise I strong advice you to find any other place in Ilha Grande. This hostel shows as an international class place but it is far far away from this. It' s impossible to find a professional treatment by the staff, including the manager. When they return your e-mails, they give you wrong info. They don't care about you, believe me. And If you are concerned about running out of time.... It's your problem.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NosferatuSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.7 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 16 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.7 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 16 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.2 km away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 16 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 16 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
19.1 km away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#9 of 93 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 km away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#2 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande

Property: Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
Address: Rua Canto da Praia s/n, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price range (per night): ₹ 970 - ₹ 4,913
Hotel Class:2 star — Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diversion, naturaleza y un lindo deck sobre el mar. La combinacion perfecta para conocer una de las maravillas de Rio de Janeiro. Y Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande es la opcion ideal para vivir experiencias maravillosas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing