We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Guapuruvu
Nearby Hotels
Asalem(Ilha Grande)
US$ 181
US$ 109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Vila Pedra Mar(Ilha Grande)
US$ 325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hospedagem Acorde(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pousada Naturalia(Ilha Grande)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sagu Mini Resort(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pousada dos Meros(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Casablanca(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
47
45
17
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
45
17
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over the brazil may holiday and asked for a balcony room as per the tips on TA. The balcony rooms are about 300 yds nearer the beach and this makes a difference as the main building is further up te hill!
Our stay was great, the room was large, comfy and private. The location is great as it is not on the Main streets so very quiet but close enough to be near everything. Breakfast is wonderful, both in the annex where we stayed and the main part.
The best thing about the pousada is the hosts. The sisters really make you feel at home! They have great English and give loads of suggestions for excursions. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sparkly_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Pousada for four nights and everything was very good. We had a problem with Booking and they solutionated it very quickly. I read some comments about its location: I must say it is 5minutes away from the centre and we needed no additional light (as some suggest). The personal was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank patigiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I think anywhere on this island is expensive so this is no different, but we were expecting a bit more from here to be honest. The room was comfortable, but the bathroom was not the cleanest - the loo seat was broken and the door didn't close meaning the always open windows allowed mosquitoes to come right in to the room. Breakfast was really good (scrambled eggs!) and the owners were nice and helpful. Well located, short hill to climb on the way in but it's no problem.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank allyrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here in April and were so happy to find such a relaxing and safe haven after all the commotion in Rio de Janeiro. This pousada is a little outside the center and at night, it is best to carry a flashlight with you as the path is not all illuminated. Once in the pousada, run by two very friendly and helpful sisters, you really feel at ease. A wonderful breakfast is served on the veranda over-looking an inner courtyard full of tropical vegetation. Very nice place. One warning, your clothing WILL NOT DRY due to high humidity unless it is in direct sunlight...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just arrived back in Rio from here today, and I must say...we were sad to leave!

A bit of a walk back from the beach, however this allows you to really feel like you are sleeping in the jungle! Our balcony opened onto lush greenery (we had birds fly into our window twice!) the sisters who run the place are fantastically scatty; we felt massively welcomed (we tried to pay on arrival, she shooed us off telling us to rest and do it when we left!) both were always very chatty whenever we saw them.

The place itself was gorgeous; we had a small living area with fridge and bathroom downstairs and a small room with double bed and balcony upstairs, complete with air con (hurrah! It was a necessity!) however, with the island being prone to blackouts don't rely on the aircon!

Breakfast at the pousada guapuruvu was nice, selection of fresh fruits and juice, coffee and tea and pastries (and scrambled egg of course!) being set in the junkie you really should not be squeamish about bugs! There were ants in the sugar, and flies on the fruit - but hey, who cares, when you get to eat breakfast next to a mini waterfall surrounded by jungle?

The rooms were made up every day and cleaned thoroughly, to a very high standard.

One thing I would recommend to anyone staying anywhere on ilha grande: take a flashlight! The power was out 2 nights out of 3 for us, and as you can imagine it is PITCH BLACK! Our flashlight was invaluable!

Other than that - enjoy! This island, and this guesthouse are truly magical!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BenW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews