We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alvoradas dos Borbas(Vila do Abraao)
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
Bela Sylvia Suites(Vila do Abraao)
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
Aquario Hostel(Vila do Abraao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sagu Mini Resort(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Asalem(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada dos Meros(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Jungle Lodge(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Acqua Root's Hostel(Ilha Grande)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
55
38
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
38
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat heartcharming placesea viewbalconyhostbeachesparadiseislandpousada
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

This cute guesthouse is located directly on the beach. I was staying alone, so was given a small room towards the back of the building. Nevertheless it was comfortable.
Mara e Claude are hospitable and friendly. The guesthouse has a breakfast area overlooking the beach. It's such a lovely way to start your day.
I'm hoping I will get a chance to go to Ilha Grande again and would like to stay at this Pousada.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midsummerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Lovely clean Pousada/B&B right on the beach. Claude is an entertaining French man who with his wife own and run this beautiful place.

Location is excellent, a couple of minutes walk along the beach from the center of town. Breakfast was good, with the best orange/mango/pineapple juice I think Ive ever had....

Our room at the front overlooked the sea and the many boats moored there. We had a balcony with a hammock which my 10 year old thoroughly enjoyed.

We don't speak Portuguese or French, but it did not matter. a few gestures, drawings and google translate sufficed!

Room Tip: The back rooms look lovely with a view over the garden and a partial sea view however I would try to get a front one, you cant beat being so close to the water!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tum_Tum_Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here last year but wanted to definitely express what a great time we'd had. There were 3 of us travelling together so we booked two rooms. I booked over the phone from England and it was all smooth. I'd researched loads of places on Ilha Grande and was so glad I had chosen Mara e Claude. They were super-friendly. Rooms were simple but facing the ocean and in a quietish bit of the beach but close to bars and restaurants. What makes this place is the really helpful and warm approach by Mara and Claude and it makes it feel like a home from home.

Room Tip: Only stayed in an ocean-front room. DEFINITELY worth it
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After initial difficulty to make the reservation (only possible by e-mail, a bit slow) we were extremely happy to stay at this charming pousada run by a couple very young at heart. We had a nice room with view to the ocean and a terrasse, very clean. Very good mattress and sheets. Good breakfast with very good coffee, and fruit juice (but not fruit). If one wants quiet at night, the rooms in the back are probably better to avoid party noise from the town. Claude, the host, gives very good tips about the island. We spent three wonderful days there, we will come back.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view and balcony, back rooms are more quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2013. The owners are very friendly and helpful, despite a minor language barrier (I only speak English fluently, but managed to speak a small amount of French). Rooms here are pretty nice and clean by Brazilian standards. It was high season, and the town of Abroaa was pretty packed, so we were happy to be staying at a nice ocean-front spot.

I would recommend this hotel to others traveling to Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews