We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
55
38
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
38
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great heart charming place sea view balcony host beaches island paradise pousada
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here last year but wanted to definitely express what a great time we'd had. There were 3 of us travelling together so we booked two rooms. I booked over the phone from England and it was all smooth. I'd researched loads of places on Ilha Grande and was so glad I had chosen Mara e Claude. They were super-friendly. Rooms were simple but facing the ocean and in a quietish bit of the beach but close to bars and restaurants. What makes this place is the really helpful and warm approach by Mara and Claude and it makes it feel like a home from home.

Room tip: Only stayed in an ocean-front room. DEFINITELY worth it
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After initial difficulty to make the reservation (only possible by e-mail, a bit slow) we were extremely happy to stay at this charming pousada run by a couple very young at heart. We had a nice room with view to the ocean and a terrasse, very clean. Very good mattress and sheets. Good breakfast with very good coffee, and fruit juice (but not fruit). If one wants quiet at night, the rooms in the back are probably better to avoid party noise from the town. Claude, the host, gives very good tips about the island. We spent three wonderful days there, we will come back.

Room tip: Front rooms have sea view and balcony, back rooms are more quiet.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanoo578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2013. The owners are very friendly and helpful, despite a minor language barrier (I only speak English fluently, but managed to speak a small amount of French). Rooms here are pretty nice and clean by Brazilian standards. It was high season, and the town of Abroaa was pretty packed, so we were happy to be staying at a nice ocean-front spot.

I would recommend this hotel to others traveling to Ilha Grande.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed in 3-4 different poussadas in the island this was by far the best experience. Do not expect any 4 star comforts but you are not in Ihla Grande for those. Breakfast is good and in nice setting by the beach. A place to be considered seriously

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Amazing place, Claude is absolutely charming. The place was well located in front of the beach and next to a nice restaurant. the food in the Poussada was good.

This place is a place to go.

Thanks Claude.

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews