We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed a week at the pousada. We loved the breakfast, the friendly Claudia and her son, the location with the great view and ofcourse the lovely suite/room with a big balcony. I could really recommend this place if your visiting the island.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TheDude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice place with a very diligent and attentive owner. The rooms and the property are kept very, very clean. My room was nice, a little small but comfortable and nice. The hammock on the balcony was the best.

First, let me advise visitors to this pousada to bring the plug converter that converts the standard Brazilian 3 plug system to a Brazilian 2 plug system. Also, try to bring maps of Ilha Grande. I also found flashlights to be very useful.

People have to understand that this is an very environmentally aware pousada and they try to keep their footprint small.

Thus, there is no hot/cold running water from the sink faucet and the shower has a head that heats up the water to give you a warm shower instead of a cold shower.

But, don't get me wrong - for me these were not negatives - I am just advising the guests.

Please understand that this is a every nice pousada, especially for Brazil. It has a beautiful view of the village and the bay. It is about a ten minute walk from the central part of the village - although it is very near one of the most popular all night clubs. The pousada has a beach address, but the rooms are on the hillside about a 2 or 3 minute walk from the beach.

The food at breakfast is very good. There is a big assortment of fruits, usually one type of cheese and some ham or ham-like meat ( I am vegetarian so I did not eat the meat). They have real eggs - many times the pousandas have powdered eggs.

There few amenities, which is why I did not give it a five star rating. For instance, the plug adapters are cheap, the pousada could lend them to the guest. Also, it might try to get some maps.

Also, I have to check the Booking.com bill, the $81 a night did not exactly match the final bill which was about $91 a night.

However, all said, I would definitely stay here again even with the $91 a versus the advertised price of $81 a night. These are just items to watch for.

While a little rustic, this was a very nice pousada.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Vbudinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Our stay at Pousada Tagomago was the perfect getaway. Claudia and son were amazing hosts and they could not have done enough for us which was really appreciated.
Everything about our stay was perfect, the rooms were clean, the view was amazing and the breakfast every morning was delicious. I would definitely stay at Pousada Tagomago if I every found myself back on Ilha Grande.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sacatagonetrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Tagomago for 4 nights and had a great experience. Claudia and Hugo (our hosts) provided us with lots of information about the island, tracks and best beaches to visit. If we needed anything it was promptly provided. The room was clean, bright, comfortable and well stocked with towels, toiletries and drinks in the minibar. We definitely will be coming back!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BennydeGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The roomview is just amazing, the breakfast is nice with plenty of fresh tropical fruits and cakes. The staff, who speaks really good english, helped us a lot in organizing our daily trips and return to Rio. Really highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor have terraces with hammocks; ground level ones have chase long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gzop001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
296 reviews
0.7 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
490 reviews
0.6 km away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
0.1 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
556 reviews
0.5 km away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge

Address: Rua da Praia No 121 | Praia do Canto, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Tagomago)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: ₹ 6,620 - ₹ 7,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful island "Ilha Grande", 140 km / 90 miles south of Rio de Janeiro. The main village, "Abraao", can be reached by bus and ferry in just 4 hours from Rio. Located at the end of the Abraao beach, distant of the commercial establishments to some 500 mts. TAGOMAGO was build in wood, on the slopes overlooking the bay in 2005, and is surrounded by tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing