We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Pousada Barlavento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Barlavento
Ranked #52 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The location of this place is an asset. The rooms are clean and the view from the rooms with view to the sea is spectacular. The personnel at the reception attended in a professional way.
The air conditioning in my room was really making a lot of noice.
The quality of the breakfast compared with other places with similar price is rather poor with little choice. The Wifi worked fine the first day but was very weak the second one for unknown reason.
The place as all the assets but could improve a lot.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Koen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2015

Great location, amazing pool. Rooms are comfortable and clean, undoubtedly, but need some upgrade (a sort of brazilian eighties shore style, outdated). Staff attention was fair, but I saw something I could not accept, even being brazilian and not affected by the purpose: they charged the Argentine guests for the hot water of their "mate" (an infusion of some herbs and hot water they enjoy to drink). Something so simple and easy to offer as an amenity, for people that comes from a distant place to enjoy vacation and SPEND their money right here (by the time I was there, only me and my wife and another couple were locals - mostly were from Argentina). Would never recommend for Argentine nationals - ok for the other nationalities.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Renato F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We enjoyed our stay at this Pousada. The view is lovely and the shuttle bus will take you to the beaches and downtown. The downside was the poor Wifi and we had to change rooms because the bed was very hard. Our second room had a nicer view but the bed wasn't much better. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. They only have beer, water and soft drink (and some spirits) at the bar. It was quite expensive. The restaurant only serves breakfast so you have to go in to town for all other food. The breakfast was reasonable. The pool has a great ocean view but it's only shallow. This wasn't a problem for us. I highly recommend visiting Brava and Ferradura Beaches. Buzios is beautiful!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank theholistictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Setting was beautiful; felt like we were staying in a rain forest. And it was no more than 10 minutes walk from the nearest beach and restaurants; about 15 minutes to city center. Room was good; spacious with large comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good, lots of offerings.

Shuttle apparently does not operate on Wednesdays (driver's "day off" I was informed). Internet in the room didn't work (couldn't even connect). Internet in the lobby was better (at least I could connect), but still EXTREMELY slow and unreliable. Worse yet, the one computer they did have for guests was offline and not usable. Our room was not made up when we returned from the day at the beach. Desk clerk seemed concerned, but I told him I really just needed more towels and let it go Very limited English-speaking staff (but, I'm just sayin'; of course it's just as much my fault for not speaking Portuguese). Thank heaven for Google Translate.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AttorneyChrisCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the hotel its one of the best in Búzios. There is some cool restaurants nearby and it's only 15m walking from "Rua das pedras" . The view of the hotel its beautiful, again, one of the best to see the sunset ! The breakfast is a little poor and it could be much better. The installations are a bit old and the bed very unconfortable to sleep. The pool is ok, not too good but not bad. The only thing i think they should change as soon as possible is the facts that the hotel don't have a kitchen ! You can't order a lunch or a dinner, if you want to eat you have to leave the hotel and seach for some restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: You don't have to choose a room with a view to the ocean. All other rooms have a pretty nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.7 km away
Barla Inn
Barla Inn
#62 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
159 reviews
2.3 km away
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Pousada Vila Pitanga
#25 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
701 reviews
0.5 km away
Pousada Hibiscus Beach
Pousada Hibiscus Beach
#57 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Buzios Centro Hotel
Buzios Centro Hotel
#35 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Pousada Amancay
Pousada Amancay
#49 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
355 reviews
0.9 km away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#43 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Barlavento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Barlavento

Address: Estrada da Usina Velha S/N | Joao Fernandes Armacao dos Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: ₹ 4,352 - ₹ 13,706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Barlavento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Pousada Barlavento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Barlavento Buzios
Pousada Barlavento Hotel Buzios
Pousada Barlavento Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing