We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Combination of Atmosphere and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Saint Germain
Ranked #192 of 359 Armacao dos Buzios B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Combination of Atmosphere and Comfort”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This pousada has a rustic feel with a clean appearance and friendly people. You get a community feel like you are staying at a (rich) friend's house and the amenities are quaint and comfortable. It's a great location for going to the center of town and is tucked away enough to feel like you are in your own space. I recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHW225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    66
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
103
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2012

After spending 4 days in Copacabana for Carnival my crew of buds were definitely looking forward to a relaxing get away in Buzios. We decided that we were done with the hostel scene and wanted something that was a step up without breaking the bank. The other requirement was that we wanted to stay close enough to the action so that our early morning walks home would be painless. With these parameters I hit tripadvisor and found Pousada Saint Germain to be a potential match. I had concerns with booking over the internet and decided to call the Pousada directly to confirm the availability and booking. On my first call I reached a lovely brazilian receptionist, which due to my lack of portuguese, was not able to communicate well with. However, through broken spanish she was able to tell me to call back in 10 minutes and that an english speaker would be able to help me. Upon calling back Paul (the owner and retired American) answered the phone and we were off to the races.

Not only did Paul book the room for us, he immediately started to advise us on our trip to Buzios. He offered to arrange a private transfer from Copa to Buzios, which was more or less the same price as a bus ticket. Once we arrived he spent the time to layout the whole town for us: which beaches to hit, which restaurants were the best, the night scene, even where the closest laundromat was. He is incredibly knowledgeable of the area and culture and is more than willing to talk your ear off. Couldn't have asked for more and really appreciated his guidance.

The Pousada itself is very charming. I am going to say it has great potential, only because the pool was out of service during our stay. Unfortunately there was a water leak that needed to be fixed and it just so happened to be while we were visiting. Oh well, these things happen. But we could definitely picture the pool area to be an incredibly relaxing spot. Look forward to enjoying it the next time. The staff was attentive and the room was cleaned daily. Absolutely no problems with our stay.

Overall, we had a great stay at the Pousada Saint Germain and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "apartment", which is a two bedroom down below the main building. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodesbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadasaintgermain, Owner at Pousada Saint Germain, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Hey Brent,

Thanks for the wonderful review. I would just like to let you know that the leaking pipe issue has been resolved - only a few days after you left. If you look in the photos people have posted you can see what the pool looks like. I guess now you have a reason to come back and hang out by the pool - LOL Sorry it was not functional when you were here, which does take a lot away from the pool deck and bar, but hey, these things happen.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you are looking for a nice pousada in Buzios, Paul and Sully's, St. Germain is it......great value, comfortable beds and rooms with nice balconies. Breakfast around the pool is a perfect way to start any day. If you are new to Buzios, Paul, who is a gringo, will fill you in on all the great beaches and restaurants.....His wife Sully does a wonderful job with the breakfast. She is Carioca. All in all, a really wonderful experience.....and if you want to get a first hand view of a "gringo gone tropo!" then share a cup of coffee with Paul.....great stories!

(Paul/Sully - obrigado por todo....un abraco!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texirican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I can't think of anything more you would want from a Pousada in Buzios. For me the location was excellent - a short pleasant stroll to the centre and yet secluded from the hussle and bussle ensuring a quiet night's sleep.

A list of things I personally appreciated - the bed was comfy (with nets), everything was kept very clean, the rooms were well aired with good ventilation, the shower was very good (pressure and heat), the free WiFi internet speed and coverage was excellent, the room TV was big and modern (not that I ever had time to use it), the breakfast was simple but effective, the outdoor area and pool were very nice - good for kids and family (but again I never hung out much as there were so many other lovely places around Buzios). If you are unlucky with the rain then you certainly could hang out at the Pousada in comfort. Finally and most importantly I found Paul and his wife to be the perfect hosts. They seem to really enjoy what they are doing and this shows in the level of their hospitality. Being American, Paul has the English speaking guests covered and being a gringo himself can give a unique perspective on life in Buzios. I thoroughly enjoyed our coffee fueled morning chats about Buzios, Brazil, politics, life and the universe! Now I just need Ireland to qualify for the World Cup so I can come back and visit again! They also went the extra mile and helped me to organise the airport transfers.

Thanks for a lovely week.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daire_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Excellent "mid-range" pousada - we were very impressed by the layout of the pousada, the swimming pool and all the rooms. We felt very comfortable and had a great time. Location was perfect - 9 minutes walk from Rua das Pedras along the beautiful coastline. Would definitely recommend to others. Excellent pousada, excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
Pousada Byblos
Pousada Byblos
#42 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
305 reviews
City Center
Hotel Doce Mar
Hotel Doce Mar
#59 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
112 reviews
Hotel El Cazar
#67 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Solar Dos Navegantes
#147 of 359 in Armacao dos Buzios
78 reviews
Hotel Pousada Bugaloo
#57 of 229 in Armacao dos Buzios
7 reviews
Barra da Lagoa Hotel
#37 of 359 in Armacao dos Buzios
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Saint Germain

Property: Pousada Saint Germain
Address: Rua Morro Do Humaita, N0 05 Quadra E | Praia da Armacao, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Armacao dos Buzios
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,941 - ₹ 5,046
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Saint Germain is a 12 room pousada located within a ten minute walk to Rua das Pedras and within twenty minutes walking to many of the finest beaches. While we are close to the center, there is an atmosphere of peace and tranquility where you can get away from it all while being close enough to enjoy the nightlife without having to worry about transportation back at the end of the night. We speak fluent Portuguese and English, as we are a Brasilian-American couple. We try to offer the best combination of location, service, value and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Saint Germain Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing