We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sehr empfehlenswert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropico de Capricornio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropico de Capricornio
Ranked #54 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hürth, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sehr empfehlenswert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

hello from cologne!!! thank you for the very good hospitality.we hope we see see you in cologne? we have a very nice time in your pousauda and when we are comming back than everytime in tropico de capricornico.the view to the beaches and over the island was unique.the services was perfect and the rooms are clean and very beautifull! very greetings from all of us and we hope we see you two again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    34
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at Tropico de Capricornio in early Mar 12, and found it one of the highlights of our honeymoon thus far. You know you're not doing too badly when the toughest thing you have to deal with is the decision of which stunning beach to visit that day.

The location is not in the middle of town, instead up one of the highest hills in the middle of Buzios itself. It is a cheap taxi ride to most places or a 10-15 min walk to the main street or beaches, if you can handle the hills. The quiet and the breathtaking view make it totally worthwhile.

We were in the Amores room and it was large, comfortable and - again, I can't say this enough - the view was amazing. Yes, in some areas it was a little dated; I had to fiddle with a bedside table lamp for a while to get it to work, for example. But it was charming, and we were happy to have the aircon at night and a bathroom with a beautiful marble bath and plentiful hot water.

What really made it though was the service. The owner, a warm and welcoming man originally from France, couldn't do enough for us. He provided an endless stream, on request, of local advice, booking assistance, laundry service, and good humour. The breakfasts were also delicious and made with fruit from the superbly kept gardens.

Perhaps previous reviewers have expected The Ritz, but this is not some flashy new five star resort. It is simply a unique property in a gorgeous location, with attentive and personalised service. If that's what you're after, this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenEverywhereChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This was my first trip to Brazil, traveling along with someone who knows the country intimately. The trip started horrendously when we had our passports stolen at the bus station in Rio. We had to cut our trip short but what a beautiful few days. The property's view of Ferradura is stunning and our room (St Tropez) will be always the memory of my first night in Brazil. Waking up, we found an impressive array of fruits and cheeses along with breakfast and found the other guests interesting from France.

The owners were so helpful in assisting us with contacting the local consulates and even took us back to the bus station very early in the morning so that we didnt have to worry about the trip back- we will be back in the not too distant future

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have seen various reviews here and I would like to say that my experience with the owners was wonderful. They did everything and more that is to be expected and I enjoyed the quiet peaceful week we spent there. If your idea is to find a quiet peaceful hotel this is the place. Compared to many of the other hotels in Buzios this one is definitely high on the list for amenities. All I can say is for a romantic getaway and yet to be close enough to go out for the night for a 10 reais cab fare is what I was looking for and that is exactly what the hotel is. This is a place for peace and calm and relaxation. I never expected to waited on hand and foot and have the owners care for my every need, I just wanted peace and quiet and beautiful room to spend as much time as possible in without noise and with comfort. I think it a wonderful little hotel with a great location and I would definitely stay there again. As for the comments I read about the owners I was treated extremely well and even spent new years eve with the owners and some other guests as it was raining and it was so much nicer to just sit in the peaceful hotel and enjoy free champagne and snacks and engage in some good conversation and enjoy the fireworks displays from all over the city. What a spectacular view and show and even with the rain we all had a very relaxing and enjoyable celebration. Thank you very much for a great memory and trip I will always remember.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NONE34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I think calling the Tropico de Capricornio a boutique hotel is slightly misleading. My understanding of boutique hotels is that they are usually high end, luxurious and “designer chic” Make no mistake, this is more akin to a guest house than a boutique hotel. The Tropico villa did not offer the style or service that one expects when booking into a boutique hotel.

On the plus side, there are beautiful, expansive views of Buzios from the villa and, the owners (French-Swiss) freshly baked croissants each morning were very nice. The gardens and pool area are very well maintained and in general, it is a really pretty setting in what appears to be the exclusive and upmarket end of Buzios.

Now for the negatives! The Tropico is approximately a 20 minute walk from the town up a steep hill, which in the searing heat, is not an entirely pleasant walk.

On our arrival, we were not offered any refreshment which was disappointing as this gesture appeared to be offered as standard in all the hotels and guest houses we stayed in on our trip. These are the little touches I would expect to receive at a boutique hotel. The owner did show us around the villa to the more expensive rooms in order to catch our interest in upgrading at the increased rate!

Our room was ok décor wise. It had a fridge which contained soft drinks which were free of charge and a rather sizeable bathroom which was more modern than the room it was adjoined to. It also had a balcony which overlooked the bay area of the town.

We turned the air-conditioning on in our room as it was extremely warm. We left it on while we went out so that the room would be comfortable when we came back. On our return, we discovered that the air-con had indeed been switched off! If leaving the air conditioning on is an issue for the owners, it really is something they should address with their guests.

Buzios itself is very very expensive, and be warned, mosquitoes are everywhere and are particularly vicious! The town is pretty, however it is approximately a 3 hour trek from Rio de Janario and personally I didn’t feel it was worth the effort of making this journey.

The Tropico de Capricornio is over priced for what it is. This is a B&B and not a boutique hotel yet it charges as if it has the ability in terms of style and luxury to cater to the higher end of the market.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgirishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropico27, Owner at Tropico de Capricornio, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Apparently, you had a bad stay in Buzios, we are sorry about that. About the prices, it's a problem for all pousadas and restaurants: the change rate US$ and Euro to Reais are very bad and unfortunately, for you and us, this situation is not ready to change. I do not know if you noticed, Brazil is in the process of rapid development, the cost of living too.
For the air conditioning, as you notice, our pousada is not new and it is its charme. It's not equiped as moderns hotels with electronics locks which allow to do important energy saving when the clients are out. So, to protect our environment, when the customers leave their room, we come to switch off the lights and air conditioning. This concern of protecting nature is currently an important parameter for the classification of the hotels. We wish to improve this service to take part in the fight against the greenhouse effects. The air conditioning need maximum 10 minutes to refresh the room. 10 minutes is nothing, especially in Brazil. Many thanks again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
2.2 km away
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
#31 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.2 km away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#20 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.7 km away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#15 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel El Cazar
Hotel El Cazar
#66 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.7 km away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.2 km away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#14 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropico de Capricornio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropico de Capricornio

Property: Tropico de Capricornio
Address: Rua Alto de Buzios 25, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#26 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,097 - ₹ 12,827
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropico de Capricornio 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico de Capricornio is a lovely boutique hotel situated on the heights of Alto de Búzios, a privileged and protected quarter in the heart of an 8,000 m² tropical park, totally closed off and secure. Nine very comfortable suites offer an unequaled panoramic view over Ferradura beach and Búzios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Tropico de Capricornio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico De Capricornio Buzios
Tropico De Capricornio Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing