We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice, not lux resort but good value....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quite nice, not lux resort but good value....”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I had read the reviews on others who had stayed and was a bit nervous. It is true that it is used by contractors and drilling companies to stage crews and Angra is a port city with a shipyard, thus the above personnel. We were pleasantly surprised on arriving as we found very good, clean accommodations. The buffet for breakfast was well stocked and had a nice variety....pools and grounds were well maintained. Front desk staff was also accommodating.

I would rate it as a very good three star hotel.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texirican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eny G, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Charles

It was a pleasure recieving you in our hotel.
We from BHG team appreciate you're comments from you're stay at Golden Tulip Porto Bali.

It is very important to us , because is through these comments that we can improve our services to best serve you , and make you're stay very pleasant.
We hope to have you with us again soon for a next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    359
    167
    37
    20
See reviews for
305
357
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aigina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed a number of times at the Porto Bali when working in Angra, generally staying 2-3 nights. I would certainly never spend my own money here.

Front of house was OK, quite friendly. The rooms are a fair size, and fairly comfortable and (a rare good point in Brazil) the mini-bar is very reasonably priced. The hotel is close to town, and probably the best accommodation near the town centre. After that, the positives start to get scarce.

The tiled way outside the rooms means you will be woken every time a wheel bag goes past. The view from any room not looking to the pool is industrial. There is no beach, and the pool is a nice shape but all rather shallow and not good for much but soaking.

The worst problem is the food... the buffets are the same every day, and the food, like most Brazilian buffet food, is cooked way too early. Most things are cooked in sauce, and this congeals or dries. Drinks in the bar are expensive... when you can get them... and there is no bar immediately close by. (About 7 mins by taxi to the port/pier area) Another negative is that there is a shipyard quite close by and this hotel accommodates quite a few oil-rig crews who are fitting out their vessels... not always the folks you want to share the dining room with on holiday.

As an accommodation hotel I would give this 3-4 stars; however, as a resort hotel at the price advertised... you've got to be joking!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capnblatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eny G, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Capblatch

It was a pleasure recieving you in our hotel.
We from BHG team appreciate you're comments from you're stay at Golden Tulip Porto Bali.

It is very important to us , because is through these comments that we can improve our services to best serve you , and make you're stay very pleasant.
We hope to have you with us again soon for a next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

would recomand to my friends, friendly service.
shoping center is within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franco_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eny G, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Franco

It was a pleasure recieving you in our hotel.
We from BHG team appreciate you're comments from you're stay at Golden Tulip Porto Bali.

It is very important to us , because is through these comments that we can improve our services to best serve you , and make you're stay very pleasant.
We hope to have you with us again soon for a next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
316 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The Balinese influence in this hotel shows in the design, layout, pools and artwork. There is a substantial "wow" factor when you first walk around the swimming pools between the two apartment buildings. Very impressive. Front desk staff will match their english to your portuguese so you can understand each other. Inward facing rooms offer fine views of the pools and the bay beyond, and even the smaller rooms are adequate for your stay. If you arrive by car en route to Ilha Grande, it is possible to leave your car here gratis for a few days, and it will be secure as the hotel and grounds are gated. The buffet cafe de manha is adequate and the same restaurant offers dinner in the evening. It seems foreign oil patch roughnecks working at nearby Mangariteba stay here for extended periods, so be wary of noisy conversations in the bar at night. Plenty of diverse entertainment, restaurants and shopping are only a short cab ride away at the Angra dos Reis waterfront.

Room Tip: Ask for any room facing the swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eny G, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear

It was a pleasure recieving you in our hotel.
We from BHG team appreciate you're comments from you're stay at Golden Tulip Porto Bali.

It is very important to us , because is through these comments that we can improve our services to best serve you , and make you're stay very pleasant.
We hope to have you with us again soon for a next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Nice hotel pleasant staff, good food. Self catering style apartments but can eat in the restaurant as well. Nice pool and wonderful views across the bay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tally1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eny G, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Tally

It was a pleasure recieving you in our hotel.
We from BHG team appreciate you're comments from you're stay at Golden Tulip Porto Bali.

It is very important to us , because is through these comments that we can improve our services to best serve you , and make you're stay very pleasant.
We hope to have you with us again soon for a next stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra Dos Reis
7.3 km away
Promenade Angra dos Reis
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#2 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
1,391 reviews
10.4 km away
Portogalo Suite Hotel
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#12 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
534 reviews
11.6 km away
Samba Angra dos Reis
Samba Angra dos Reis
#6 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hotel Porto Real
Hotel Porto Real
#3 of 5 in Mangaratiba
842 reviews
5.9 km away
Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
#3 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
2,978 reviews
14.6 km away
Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel
Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel
#2 of 63 in Angra Dos Reis
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis

Property: Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Address: Estrada do Marinas 1111 | Praia do Jardim, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23907-000, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Porto Bali)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis > Praia do Jardim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,008 - ₹ 11,951
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angra dos Reis is a paradisiacal destination with more than 365 islands, waterfalls and countless beaches. Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis Hotel is strategically located near the entrance of the city, within walking distance from Pirata's shopping mall, next to the city Boat Marina. For golf lovers, the hotel is 27km away from a golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Porto Bali Hotel Angra Dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra Dos Reis Rio De Janeiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing