We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good food, lovely jacuzzi room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay, good food, lovely jacuzzi room”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We booked a top floor jacuzzi room. LOVED IT! We had a corner room which had a balcony that looked out over the ocean and around the corner on the balcony was a jacuzzi bath. It was amazing soaking in the jacuzzi, listening to the waves and watching the sun go down over Porto de Galinhas.

We got lots of exercise walking up and down the stairs (no lifts) which we didn't mind but this might be an issue for people with mobility difficulties or lots of luggage (although the porter was lovely and carried some of ours).

Room and bathroom were of a good standard. Had to pay extra for the room safe which should have been included for the price we paid! Internet access on the hotel PC was ridiculously expensive (we did not have a laptop) so we went to the next door hotel for the internet (very cheap).

Our room package included the evening buffet meal and breakfast which was perfect for us as a family - saved us having to go out at night. Good variety and standard of food. There is a little shop about 5 mins walk down the road which sold nice ice creams and little snacks at a reasonable price.

Lots of games and things to do for kids (table tennis, table football, pool table). Our child was the only English speaking child there but was made to feel welcome and enjoyed the kids club. Pool was fantastic. Lots of areas to rest/sleep.

You cannot swim in the sea as the currents are too strong. We walked on the beach and into Porto one day (30 min walk) and felt safe. Ask about the tides. You can also get a buggy or taxi to town if you don't want to walk (10 Reals).

All the reception staff very helpful and those that could speak some English were especially attentive. We were very very impressed with the staff.

Snorkeling not great and a shame about the amount of people that are allowed to walk all over the coral reefs.

Room Tip: If you book a jacuzzi room, ask for a top floor room. Other jacuzzi rooms were very overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TresMusketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    819
    154
    40
    21
See reviews for
1,041
833
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is my second time at BW Solar Porto de Galinhas, and I just love this hotel. Amazing location (20 minute walk to the city by the beach), excepcional service and staff! The beach in front of the hotel is calm and not crowded. Every time I come back to Porto de Galinhas I'll come back to Solar! Very nice atmosphere for families with kids!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is located on the beach front, but in a bad área of beach. Cannot swim or enjoy water because of riptides, also a long walk to city center.

Rooms clean and service great. Nice pool for family stay and food is good. Beachfront area is very nice with couches and umbrellas.

Taxi to city center is no problem, between 7-10 dollars each way.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Pros:
- located on the seafront, great views, beautiful beach and nice pool;
- great pavilion beach beds, very cosy and overlooking the ocean;
- 35 minutes beach walk to the Porto de Galinhas or short and easy 5 minutes baggy drive 9 (the price was 10 BRL one way);
- bathing in the pool during sunset offers you splendid views and atmosphere.

Cons:
- hotel is always full, mostly locals stay here. As there are a lot of "not so nice" rooms, be aware during your booking process.
- no coral reef barrier in front of the hotel beach and the waves are always big. It's possible to bathe but not to swim there;
- room rates are high, but it's due to location and popularity of the place.

Room Tip: If you are going to choose deluxe jacuzzi room make sure that it is not a 1st or 2nd floor - otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyagywonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I can't give a full review since we only stayed about three hours which was enough time for us to check in, eat and then find another hotel. Despite making reservations for two "partial waterview" rooms seven months in adavance, we were given two rooms which offered excellent views and sounds of the dining rooms. The situation was incredibly depressing. The reservation agent insisted we had waterviews; the only water I could see was in the drinking glasses on diner's tables. Since dining stopped at 10 PM and we are early to bed people, I immediately thought of getting an awful night's sleep. Other than staying at a flea bag motel in Burbank, I have never been more disappointed in a hotel. Especially given the high marks others have given to the Best Western. Of course, the place was full so we couldn't be moved until the next night. I spent an hour in their miserable internet closet, searching for alterntative hotels. Since I couldn't translate the Portuguese, it was tough, but we made a list of other places to stay and hired a taxi to take us around. Despite lacking some of the fancier amenities of the Best Western, the Maruparia Hotel offered us good rooms and an excellent atmosphere for our family for three days. In the end, things turned out much better than if we stayed at the Best Western, even if we stayed in quiet, partial waterview, non-dining room view rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
15 Thank FoxCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,130 reviews
1.5 km away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,891 reviews
0.4 km away
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
#13 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,044 reviews
2.8 km away
Pontal De Ocapora
Pontal De Ocapora
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,548 reviews
1.1 km away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#14 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas

Property: Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Address: Rodovia PE-09 - Km 07, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN Solar Porto de Galinhas)
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,940 - ₹ 21,464
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas is a beachside hotel situated in one of the most famous and beautiful tourist destinations in Brazil, Porto De Galinhas beach, Pernambuco. We offer accommodation and services of the highest quality for those who want an unforgettable vacation amongst a true paradise of beaches. We provide the following services for your comfort and pleasureRestaurant (regional and international cuisine)- Café bar- Beachside service- Room service (24 hours)- Swimming pool- Pool bar- Swimming lanes and hydromassage- Beachside kiosks- Games room- Safes at reception- Cable TV with 10 channels (SKY)- Hairdryers in every room- Ice cream parlour- WI FI zone (cableless internet access)- Playground- Children’s recreation area- Mini kid’s games competitions- Beach massages- Laundry services- Kid´s Club- Baby Stroller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Solar Porto De Galinhas Hotel Ipojuca
Best Western Porto De Galinhas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing