We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveller rating
1,175
533
104
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,175
533
104
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free caipirinhas the bus rooftop terrace happy half hour games room tourist office tour operator clean bathroom pool table air con watch the sunset nice breakfast big supermarket south america nice stay jacuzzi wifi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

I was travelling with a partner. But I would recommand to any kind of traveller. A lower price is always welcome, but I think this is the best you can get for this money.There is free drinking water. Sometimes free caipirinhas. Excellent staff-service.Cleaning every day, new towels.Great breakfast. Elevator in the building. Ping pong table and pool table. Rooftop hang out with swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Good location. Nice food around (from 5 reais shoarma till unlimited buffet) I have nothing to complain about. Will come back to this place.

Room tip: Maybe offering two key-cards if it isn't already an option
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GiuLiuSRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_FO, Gerente at Che Lagarto Hostel & Suites Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2018

Hello Giulius! We are very happy to know that you had a good experience with us! In fact we have a very attentive staff that is always improving themselves to give our guests the best tips and advices! And here in the hostel everything is done and planned with much affection for the comfort of our guest! Thank you so much for this comment. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards from Team Che! Jaqueline Barbosa – Manager at Clh Suites Foz do Iguaçu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The Hotel is nice, simple but comfortable, with fairly large rooms.
The breakfast (not included in price) is good and there are many plants of options to choose.
The best thing here is that the hotel is managed by some young guys who are really kind and that can speak all fluent english (something not for granted in Brazil).
BE AWARE OF THE TOURS!
Within the hotel there is a Tour Operator offering daily trips to both Falls sides (the Brazilian and Argentina one) but they are not completely transparent.
First, you can easily arrange Tours yourselves, taking Public buses and saving some money (mainly the one on the Brazilian side, which is very easy to plan, and also Uber is an option, because they effectively just offer you the transportation to the Park entrance).
However, if you want to do the tours with them, mainly the one in Argentina, pay attention to the money change. I'm, telling you this 'cause they tell you that they will drive you to a Money Change place before entering Argentina because they do no accept Reais and there is no place to withdraw money...COMPLITELY UN-TRUE!
First, at the Argentina Park entrance there is a Cash Machine where you can withdraw money. Then, you can pay the boat tour (which definitely should be made on this side) with credit cards, as also your lunch and snacks. Moreover, if you want to change money, there are some money change in Foz do Iguazu which are more advantageous. Indeed, I think they might have an agreement with the change agency where they drive you to, since the change here is 0,17 Reais for 1 Peso. While there are Money change in the city, for example the one 300mt from the Hotel inside the Super Market, which offers 1 Peso for only 0,12 Reais.
Therefore, whatever the tour you decide to have, pay attention to other offers and solutions.
Still, the Hotel is a good money-quality compromise, and is not to far from the most central part of the city.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollob89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_FO, Gerente at Che Lagarto Hostel & Suites Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2018

Hello! We are very happy to know that you had a good experience with us! Here in the hostel everything is done and planned with much affection for the comfort of our guest! Thank you so much for this comment. Regarding the agency, it is in the hostel for the guest convenience. Of course one can do all the tours by himself, but the agency offers na easier and more comfortable transportation. Anyways, it´s up to the guest, and in the end it is indeed cheaper to go by yourself, but also very tiresome. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards from Team Che! Jaqueline Barbosa – Manager at Clh Suites Foz do Iguaçu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Really lovely staff helped organise my birthday meal at a local restaurant and also helped us to book accommodation in Bonito! Lovely big rooms, great breakfasts and great free caipirinhas in the evenings!! Thank you, we will certainly recommend you to other people!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_FO, Gerente geral at Che Lagarto Hostel & Suites Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello Emily! We are very happy to know that you had a good experience with us! In fact we have a very attentive staff that is always improving themselves to give our guests the best tips and advices! And here in the hostel everything is done and planned with much affection for the comfort of our guest! Thank you so much for this comment. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards from Team Che! Jaqueline Barbosa – Manager at Clh Suites Foz do Iguaçu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed three nights at this hostel.

It is not entirely clear to me why they call it a hostel; on booking it’s called clh “suites”. I can garantuee however that there are no suites whatsover, more like basic hotel rooms. I stayed in a basic double room. With basic I mean: not really well finished, damaged furniture, and not a very clean bathroom. Therefore, in my opinion, the price paid was a little bit too much. During summer time however the price may be ok given that the room comes with an ac. The breakfast of R$12 was sufficient but nothing fancy at all.

In terms of staff: reception spoke English good and was very complete (eg conforming the booking and my preferences). Location wise the hostel/hotel is excellent given that the public bus station is a 5 minutes walk (for bus 120 to Brazil side of falls). I also liked the bar and the available computers, kitchen and game room. If you however expect a backpacker hostel where you can around the fire, this really is not the place. The primary colors are white and the common room does not have an inviting feel and atmosphere to it. It are the other guests that make it worthwhile to stay there.

In terms of the travel agency; note that the hotel and the agency are working very closely together, to the extent where the tourism agency is using the booking account of the hostel for communication. Regarding this agency: clear English. If you want a custom itenary I am sure he can arrange it. I however did not like the experience: he tried to sell me about everything that was available in the region. Also, the airport pickup was expensive (R$60), given that without traffic an Uber would be R$20-22.
Furthermore, the trip to the Argentinian side I took was less about the transportation and more about selling other stuff like boat rides or trying to convince you that you should exchange money at the exchange office the tour stops. This is not necessary; you only need arp 35 for the tax - the arp 600 for the park can be paid by credit card at the park. Just FYI; it’s normal procedure that the driver collects all passports and clears you at the Argentinian and Brazil customs. I usually do not like to part with my passport but if felt safe.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Arbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_FO, Gerente geral at Che Lagarto Hostel & Suites Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello Arbox, how are you? Thank you for having the time to give us the feedback of your stay with us. This helps us in our continuous improvement. Regarding the term “suites”, here in brazil (portuguese speaking country) it means that the room has a private bathroom inside. Nothing else. Indeed we have some damages in the structure and we are in process of renovations. Regarding breakfast for R$12 we cannot really include very fancy options, if we did, the price would be way higher than R$12. Regarding the location of the Hostel it is indeed very good, easy to do all the tours by yourself, with public bus or even Uber. The agency offers all kinds of services, including tickets for the atractions and tours inside the parks, it is up to the guest to check if he wants comfort or good prices, but yes, if you do all by yourself is a lot cheaper. Regarding the price for Uber from and to the airport, i wouldn’t trust that information. There were many cases of heavy traffic that the same distance was costing R$75 or even R$95. Anyways, thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon. Best Regards, Jaqueline Barbosa – Gerente Che Lagarto Foz do Iguaçu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Che Lagarto was very good for a hostel. The staff are very helpful and speak very good English. Having the tour guide in the building made booking trips super easy. The room was clean and spacious. I loved the shower particularly. Our only real let down was that there is a nightclub next por which our room overlooked. So sleep was difficult and we were woken constantly throughout the night.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank staceygarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_FO, Gerente at Che Lagarto Hostel & Suites Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hello Stacey! We are very happy to know that you had a good experience with us! In fact we have a very attentive staff that is always improving themselves to give our guests the best tips and advices! And here in the hostel everything is done and planned with much affection for the comfort of our guest! Thank you so much for this comment. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards from Team Che! Jaqueline Barbosa – Manager at Clh Suites Foz do Iguaçu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews