We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,975)
Filter reviews
2,975 results
Traveller rating
1,683
896
257
93
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,683
896
257
93
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf resort main building main pool is kids club close to the airport beautiful resort tennis courts buffet restaurant rooms are large visiting the falls both sides loved this hotel iguassu falls bird park mini bar park entrance pools
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 2,975 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The hotel lobby was very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms could use a little remodeling. But in general very good. The breakfast buffet was great. They even have sparkling wine at the entrance of the buffet. They have wifi everywhere...which was great.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel whilst refurbishment was going on so some of the amenities that I was hoping to use such as the tennis courts were not available. We were not notified about this before or during our stay. The noise of the workmen spoiled relaxing by the poolside. The staff were a mixed bag- some were super helpful whereas others seemed indifferent and didn't seem to know what was going on. We had half board. The breakfast was OK but there was only an egg station on one of the two mornings we were there. The evening buffet was not particularly good in my opinion as some of the food that should have been warm was cold. The room was a good size and beds were super comfortable. We had family rooms with two double beds in. The swimming pool was quite large and the food served next to the pool was preferable to the evening dinner buffet. The service was ridiculously slow one day and super efficient the following day. The grounds were beautiful and location was great for visiting the falls. It is unfortunate our visit coincided with the refurbishment.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Susan_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

It is a nice hotel. The swimming pool is big as well the all hotel. But the bathroom was not as clean as it should be for that price. I think that you can find a better place for the price. Anyway the good is good even if the breakfast could be bigger.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 311j_r_miep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The Wish Golf Resort looked delightful with its manicured spacious grounds and gardens and its white multi-unit bungalows - but we were soon to uncover this clever deception.

While the grounds staff may have been industrious and competent, the same could not be said for the Front-of-the House contingent who had all passed Basil Fawlty, the manager’s, stringent test for engagement at this modern day Fawlty Towers (English TV series with John Cleese.).

Basil obviously rated beauty over brains and was adept at engaging the former and avoiding the latter.

This Resort had recessed 2 Pin plugs which were incompatible with many types of plug adaptors. The hotel had adaptors to overcome this, but mine was signed for as room 301 not the 401 I was in. The limited supply of these was soon exhausted, fortunately being in a co-operative travel group, we were able to ensure that camera batteries were recharged for the photographic feast awaiting us at the falls.

The smorgasbord was ample, but those who tried the fish dishes didn’t always find them tasting fresh - with consequences after consumption which required adequate access to toilets.

Night 2 found us required to find our own dinner, but miles from anywhere, this meant the suss smorgasbord OR the Resort’s Japanese or Italian restaurants. The Italian was supposed to open at 7.00 pm but was apparently operating in a later time zone. Manyana time, but without the same sense of urgency.

No one had remembered to turn on the restaurant air-conditioning and this had brought the West facing establishment to baking temperature. The first of our group retired to re-challenge the smorgasbord on account of the room temperature.

The menu was very limited commencing with a range of foccacias, and who wouldn’t want a sandwich after having same for lunch. As for the few more traditional dishes, Lasagne and Gnocchi were unavailable and this response continued as other alternatives on the would-be menu were also out of stock. More departures to the smorgasbord.

Maitre de actually became concerned at these desertions, and showed more attention to remaining guests who were reluctant to risk another adventure with the smorgasbord or the Japanese alternative. This did not mean that the kitchen had picked up on his concern, and 1 ½ hours later their 1st courses settled on the table cloths.

Meanwhile at the smorgasbord, fish avoided, the meal went well and given the self-serve nature of such repastes, courses were prompt and delicious. This didn’t require undue engagement of the actual serving staff.

Now any nincompoop knows that sale of product is assisted by promotion, Internet sites - e.g. CNN/BBC World News attest this fact. BUT here at Wish Golf Resort they presumably don’t actually want to sell drinks. After three (3) well-spaced requests, the stunning female Maitre De, Ms Demure, managed to locate the Drinks Menu and deliver it to our table of 9 - a few useful patrons if you genuinely want to sell lots of product.

We’d already made some 1st basic orders just to get something to drink. The delay meant that many sales were missed as diners had completed their meals and refocused on retiring to their rooms.

Those taking advantage of the options of the belated drinks menu waited 30 minutes for the delivery of a beer - over 50 minutes for a Pina Colada, which was strong on Colada but missed out on the Pin - as in there wasn’t any Pineapple Juice in this Pina.

The Manager of this hotel and the Maitre De’s of these two restaurants need to be placed carefully in Pandora’s box, the box sealed, and then sent over the Igauzu Falls and left to drift down the Parana and onto the Atlantic Ocean where their professionalism may be fully appreciated in Davey Jones’ Locker. If the Executives managing this enterprise are incapable of performing this, then the Board of Directors need to send the whole lot on this trip.

Air-conditioning seemed to take a long time to kick in in our suite until we discovered the shower recess had a huge window which had been left open to the outside temperature. That same summer temperature had the pool surprisingly, warm so the refreshing plunge was a little less reinvigorating than it would normally be. No drink service was provided at the large gracefully appointed pool. Wish don’t actually want to sell add-ons. No “will you be having fries with that Sir” here. Let's minimise the sales and save on the washing-up.

In spite of a series of requests to reception, where the promised repair person never materialised, one of our couples had to use their walking sticks to secure the door to their suite since it would not close. Others returning from the fabulous falls found their rooms still un-serviced at 6.00 pm in the evening. Manyanna.

In our suite the bathroom ambience was completed by one of those now forgotten retractable clothes lines which, in our bathroom, hadn’t been retracted for ions - hence, in the warm moist tropical climes, it was caked with mould and was a deep shade ot\f black rather than the usual white. The safe and coat-hangers worked – clearly many of the staff didn’t.

Imagine what the numerous visitors to the Olympics will make of this debacle posing as a hotel, and what they will make of Brazil. Basil Fawlty at least TRIED - these drones are much to lazy to make Basil’s effort.

Wish Gold Resort - Impressive Icing BUT NO CAKE.

Room tip: Go anywhere else
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

First class facility very close to the falls. The resort has a golf course but most guests are there to view the falls. Very nice pool and excellent buffet for both breakfast and dinner. Resort has a Japanese and Italian restaurant for those who don't care for buffets. Staff is extremely helpful. Rooms are clean but cramped. Overall a great place to stay to visit the falls on the Brazilian side.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BluffDwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews